Dear Portal friends: Do you enjoy having history at your fingertips? We’ve appreciated your support over the years, and need your help to keep history alive. Here’s the deal: we’ve received a Challenge Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Now it’s time to keep our word and raise matching funds for the Cathy Nelson Hartman Portal to Texas History Endowment. If even half the people who use the Portal this month give $5, we’d meet our $1.5 million goal immediately! All donations are tax-deductible and support Texas history: yesterday, today, and tomorrow.

Not Now

The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 19, July 1915 - April, 1916

Affairs of the Association

Professor Walter L. Fleming, of Louisiana State University,
gives considerable attention to work originating in the University
of Texas.
Moritz Tiling, author of the History of the German Element
in Texas from 1820-1850, reviewed in THE QUARTERLY, XVII,
212, died at his home in Houston, February 18, 1916.
James D. Walthall, former Attorney General of Texas, and
several other prominent Texans, perished in the fire that de-
stroyed the San Antonio Country Club March 26, 1916.
Colonel George Wythe Baylor, a noted Indian fighter and Texas
Ranger of earlier days, and a member of Terry's Texas Rangers
during the Civil War, died at San Antonio March 27. The San
Antonio Express of March 28 contains a sketch of his career.
The annual business meeting of the Texas State Historical
Association was held at the University of Texas March 2, 1916.
Eleven active members and two honorary members were added
to the Association. For the ensuing year the following officers
were elected: President, Mrs. Ad6le B. Looscan (Houston);
Vice-Presidents, Col. George W. Brackenridge (San Antonio),
Hlon. R.. C. Crane (Sweetwater), Miss Katie Daffan (Austin),
Mrs. Cornelia Branch Stone (Galveston); Secretary-Treasurer,
Professor Chas. W. Ramsdell. Mr. E. W. Winkler was elected to
the Executive Council from the Fellows for the term ending
March, 19919, and Miss Julia Pease was elected froin among the
members for the term ending 1921. Mrs. Looscan, Eugene C.
Barker, Herbert E. Bolton, E. W. Winkler and Z. T. Fulmore
were elected to the Publication Committee. The Association
adopted resolutions endorsing the plans for the celebration of the
bi-centennial of the founding of San Antonio, and pledged its
support to the undertaking. It also adopted resolutions thank-
ing Hon. R. C. Crane, of Sweetwater, for his efficient service in


Texas State Historical Association. The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 19, July 1915 - April, 1916. Austin, Texas. The Portal to Texas History. Accessed May 5, 2016.

Beta Preview