Dear Portal friends: Do you enjoy having history at your fingertips? We’ve appreciated your support over the years, and need your help to keep history alive. Here’s the deal: we’ve received a Challenge Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Now it’s time to keep our word and raise matching funds for the Cathy Nelson Hartman Portal to Texas History Endowment. If even half the people who use the Portal this month give $5, we’d meet our $1.5 million goal immediately! All donations are tax-deductible and support Texas history: yesterday, today, and tomorrow.

Not Now

The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 66, July 1962 - April, 1963

Southwestern Historical Quarterly

to be presented to the Junior Historians as awards. A special note
of appreciation is due the members of Chapter No. 155, Bel-
laire High School, Mrs. Nettie Barnes, sponsor, for providing
table decorations for the luncheon.
Following the meeting, the delegates participated in the annual
historic tour of Austin, visiting the State Cemetery, the French
Legation, the State Library and Archives Building, and other
sites of particular significance in the city. Guides for the tour
were again provided by Chapter No. 123, Stephen F. Austin High
School, Austin, and again the increasing efficiency of the group
in this area inspired widespread expressions of admiration and
gratitude from those who took part in the tour.
At the business meeting of the Association on Friday afternoon,
the following officers were elected for the year 1962-1963:
President: Fred Cotten;
Vice-Presidents: George P. Isbell, J. P. Bryan, Joseph Schmitz,
and Seymour V. Connor;
Corresponding Secretary and Treasurer: Mrs. Coral Horton
Fred Cotten, who was elected to the presidency, is a Weather-
ford businessman, an enthusiastic historian of Parker County, and
a prominent collector of Texana. Cotten, who has served as a
member of the executive council since 1949, became a vice-pres-
ident in 1953-
Re-elected vice-presidents were George P. Isbell, San Antonio
businessman and Texana collector; and J. P. Bryan, prominent
Freeport lawyer and businessman, and a member of the Board
of Regents of the University of Texas. Newly elected vice-presi-
dents were Brother Joseph Schmitz, fellow of the Association and
professor of history at St. Mary's University in San Antonio; and
Seymour V. Connor, professor of history and director of the
Southwest Collection at Texas Technological College in Lubbock.
Mrs. Coral Horton Tullis was re-elected corresponding secre-
tary and treasurer to continue her devoted service with the Asso-
ciation which has extended over a period of three decades.
Newly elected fellows' representatives on the executive council
were Dorman H. Winfrey, Ernest Wallace, and Rupert N. Rich-
ardson. Cooper K. Ragan replaced Richardson as a members'
representative on the executive council.


Texas State Historical Association. The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 66, July 1962 - April, 1963. Austin, Texas. The Portal to Texas History. Accessed May 4, 2016.

Beta Preview