A thumb-nail history of the city of Houston, Texas, from its founding in 1836 to the year 1912

judge since its organization, Judge N. G. Kittrell.
The Harris county court was created by the Legislature
in 1867. John Brasher was elected county
judge and served until 1869. His successor was
Judge M. N. Brewster, who was put in office by
the Republican reconstructionists Judge Brewster
was ousted by the Democrats in 1867 and
Judge C. Anson Jones was elected and served until
his death, which occurred in 1882. Judge E. P.
Hamblen was elected in 1882 and served until 1884.
Judge W. C. Andrews was elected in 1884 and
served until 1892. Judge Andrews was a candidate
for re-election in 1892, but died just before the
election. On the death of Judge Andrews Judge
John G. Tod was placed on the ticket and was
elected. In '1896, Judge W. N. Shaw was elected
and remained in office for two years, being succeeded
by Judge E. H. Vasmer in 1898. Judge
Vasmer held office for four years and was followed
by Judge Blake Dupree in 1902. Judge Dupree
held office for two terms and was succeeded by
Judge A. E. Amerman, the present incumbent.
The Corporation court for Houston was created
by act of the Legislature in 1899. Before the creation
of this court the city had a somewhat similar
court, the presiding judge being sometimes the
mayor, sometimes a recorder and at others a justice
of the peace. The method was so unsatisfactory
that the present court was created to avoid
all confusion. The first election to provide a judge
for the new court was held soon after the creation

Young, Samuel Oliver. A thumb-nail history of the city of Houston, Texas, from its founding in 1836 to the year 1912. Houston, Texas. The Portal to Texas History. http://texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth24649/. Accessed May 24, 2016.

Beta Preview