Explore by Collections
Published in Cameron County, Texas, the Daily Cosmopolitan began distribution to the Brownsville population in 1879. The Daily Cosmopolitan was issued every night of the week except Sunday. Editor W.P. Guirey was fluent in Spanish and therefore specialized in reporting on Matamoros residents and topics, along with nearby border town news.
The first issue of The Amarillo Daily Panhandle was published in 1906 by Peter E. Bosen. It ran every evening except Sunday. As the official newspaper of Amarillo and Potter County, the Panhandle printed local political, school board, church, and social news in addition to state and national news. The Panhandle was unusual for the period because it lacked advertising on the front page.
Self-proclaimed as “the South’s Oldest and Largest Negro Newspaper,” the Dallas Express traces its roots to 1892, when William E. King began publishing the Dallas Bee. Renamed the Dallas Express in 1893, the paper served as an advocate for blacks in Dallas and throughout the South for over 70 years.
The Dallas Museum of Art presents the Dallas Museum of Art Exhibition Records Collection which contains published catalogs for exhibitions held by the museum between 1903 and 1983. The catalogs, which vary in length, contain a checklist of objects included in the exhibition, and may include essays and images. The collection also contains related unpublished materials including checklists, invitations, press releases, and other ephemera for exhibitions held by the museum between 1903 and 1990s.
The Sixth Floor Museum’s Dallas Times Herald Collection contains original negatives of approximately 700 black-and-white news images taken by the newspaper’s photographers over the assassination weekend and beyond. Included in the collection are many unique and crucial images, and though only a few of these historic scenes were published by the Times Herald in 1963, they provide a powerful visual record of President Kennedy's last hours in Fort Worth and Dallas, including the motorcade, assassination aftermath, and investigations. The images also provide compelling evidence of the grief and chaos that ensued in the days following the tragedy.
The Trail, 1913 - 1952, was the yearbook for Daniel Baker College in Brownwood, Texas. The yearbooks feature school songs, yells, student writings and artwork, and photos of faculty, students, student groups, and athletic events. Some early photographs of Brownwood, Texas buildings and homes are also notable. The first yearbook was published in 1913, and was called "The Trail". In 1929, a paperbound volume was issued with the title "The Hill Billie," and was published from 1929-1931. The Trail began publication again in 1933.
The Dublin Progress was a weekly newspaper for Dublin, TX in southwest Erath County. The paper was established by James S. Daley in 1889, the same year the town was incorporated. In 1916 the Progress was consolidated with the Dublin Telephone to become the Dublin Progress and Telephone. After the papers were merged James S. Daley continued as the editor and publisher.
Starting as a short column in the Breckenridge Weekly Democrat around 1930, The Dynamo soon offered a full page edition within the Weekly Democrat. The Dynamo was published by the Breckenridge junior and senior high school journalism students and covered PTA news, club news, listed the honor roll, reported on sports events, etc. Encouraging catchphrases were given to the students such as "Study harder: Get your name on the Honor ROLL" or "Back Buckaroo Basketball." This is one of five newspapers provided by the Breckenridge Public Library. Others include: The Breckenridge [Daily] American, The Breckenridge Weekly Democrat, the Stephens County Sun and the Stephens County Times.
From Plowshares to Diplomas: Digitizing Early Denton History draws on materials from the University of North Texas Libraries, the Denton Public Library, the Courthouse-on-the-Square Museum, and Texas Woman's University. Materials will include historic photographs, books, maps, city directories, and records from numerous Denton women's clubs. Work on this project began in March of 2006, and will continue through 2007. Funding for this project is provided by the Forrest C. Lattner Foundation.