### A HISTORY OF THE

# College of Business

(1945 - 2015)

#### **1942**

The emphasis on business education increased and a Department of Business Education at North Texas Teacher's College (now the University of North Texas) was created.

#### **1944 - 45**

O.J. Curry was recruited to begin development of a School of Business Administration.

#### 1946

North Texas Teacher's College was reorganized into a university format. O.J. Curry was named Dean of the newly established School of Business. Business classes were taught in two classrooms in the manual arts building.

#### **1949**

By fall 1949, a student could earn a Bachelor of Business Administration degree with a major in Accounting, Banking and Finance, Business Teaching, General Business, Hotel and Restaurant Administration, Insurance Management, Merchandising, Personnel Administration or Secretarial Science. A Master's degree in Business Administration was also added.

#### **1950**

Classes were moved

to the Old Laboratory (Demonstration) School building which would soon be called the School of **Business Administration** Building. Dean Curry sent a note to the faculty explaining how the move would be implemented: "At ten o'clock on Wednesday morning we are going to move from the manual arts building to the laboratory building, if you please. So the way we are going to do it everybody who has a class simply walk in your classroom, say to your students 'We are moving this room to room so-and-so in the building right across the way. Just follow me. Pick up your chair and follow me."

#### **1958**

The school had again outgrown its location.
University enrollment totaled almost 7,000 students and about 2,500 were business students.
The design and construction of a new School of Business Building began.

#### **1960**

The Business Building was completed at a cost of \$1,369,607. In fall 1960, the first classes were held in the new Business Building. The student desks in the building were built in the university's own woodshop.

#### **1961**

The College was first accredited by the American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB).

#### **1962**

The School initiated its first members into the honor society of Beta Gamma Sigma, an honor bestowed only on students in schools of business accredited by the AACSB. The first North Texas academic computer was an IBM 1620 computer. It was installed in room 154 of the School and had a grand total of 20k bytes of memory.

#### **1966**

The M.B.A. degree was accredited by AACSB.

#### **1969**

This was the last year as dean for Curry. He saw the first Ph.D. students graduate this year, the result of his work begun a quarter of a century before. The enrollment of the School

#### **1970**

Dr. Clifford Hutton was appointed Dean.

#### **1972**

The School of Business was now referred to as the College of Business Administration and Barry G. King is named Acting Dean.

#### **1973**

Dr. Marvin Berkely joined the College as Dean after completing a distinguished career at Texas Instruments.

#### **1980**

A Computer Center dedicated to the College of Business Administration was established.

#### **1983**

Microcomputers were made available to students: Radio Shack TRS-80 models and TI Personal Computers. The computers provided the first "word processing" available to all offices and departments in the College.

#### **1984**

Horace Brock, Professor of Accounting, was named Interim Dean. Dr. Jay A. Smith, Jr. was appointed Dean.

#### **1987**

The Accounting programs received separate accreditation from the AACSB.

#### **1990**

UNT celebrated its 100th anniversary. A history of the College of Business was written and edited by a Centennial History Committee, chaired by Benny R. Copeland, Professor of Accounting. Smith resigned as Dean. He joined the Department of Marketing. Associate Dean Henry Hays was named Interim Dean.

#### **199**

The History of the College was published on the dedication of Curry Hall November 29, 1991. Dr. J. Clay Singleton was appointed Dean.

#### **1995**

Singleton resigned and Associate Dean Henry Hays was named Interim Dean.

#### 1996

Interim Dean Hays was named Dean of the College. Dean Hays was the first College of Business graduate to serve as Dean.

#### **1998**

November 5, 1998, the College received notice of reaccreditation by AACSB. The report praised the College's extensive computer and technological support; the number and quality of centers and institutes; administration; and the collegiality of students and faculty.

#### **1999**

Dr. Jared Hazleton was named Dean of the College

#### 2002

A gift from Colonel Guy Cloud created a student-managed investment fund which endowed the Student Investment Group (SIG) in the College.

#### 2004

Dean Hazleton resigned as Dean and returned to the faculty as a Professor of Finance. Associate Dean Mary S. Thibodeaux was named

#### **2005**

Interim Dean.

Dr. Kathleen B. Cooper was appointed Dean.

#### **2006**

Funding was secured from the Texas Legislature to contruct a new Business Leadership Building

#### **2007**

Dr. Cooper resigned as Dean. Dr. O. Finley Graves, former chair of the Department of Accounting at UNT and current Executive Associate Dean of the College, was named Interim Dean.

#### **2008**

Graves was appointed Dean. The SIG began actively trading securities.

#### **2009**

January 19: the College received a 10 year extension of its maintenance of accreditation from AACSB. Kendall Hall is demolished to make way for the new Business Leadership Building.

The name was changed from the College of Business

## The name was changed from the College of Business Administration to the College of Business.

#### **2010**

January 1: constuction officially began on the BLB.

#### **2011**

August: (one week before fall classes began) faculty and staff moved into the innovative 180,000 square foot LEED Certified BLB. Everything was in place when the fall semester began. The BLB was a symbol of 21st century UNT and its commitment to provide a modern educational experience to its student body.

#### **2015**

Dr. O. Finley Graves was appointed Provost at UNT for a term of two years; Dr. Marilyn Wiley, CFA, Professor of Finance and Executive Associate Dean, was named Dean for a term of three years.

2006 - 2011
College of Business "Building Team," led by Dean Graves, guided the design of the new BLB, with the goal of producing a student-centered building that was architecturraly iconic and combined the best technology with functionality.



At ten o'clock on Wednesday morning we are going to move from the manual arts building to the laboratory building, if you please. So the way we are going to do it everybody who has a class simply walk in your classroom, say to your students "We are moving this room to room so-and-so in the building right across the way. Just follow me. Pick up your chair and follow me."



















1940s Business classes were held in two classrooms in the Manual Arts Building.

1950s

School of Business moved to the old Demonstration School Building.















1960 - 2010

In 1960, the College occupied a new Business Building where the College would be housed for the next 50 years.



In 2011, the College moved into the state-of-the-art Business Leadership Building.



### A HISTORY OF THE College of Business

(1945 - 2015)

Honoring our history. Envisioning our future.

