## FRANK W. MAYBORN AWARD FOR COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP

The Mayborn Award for Community Leadership is awarded annually by the Texas Daily Newspaper Association to a publisher or newspaper executive who contributed most significantly to society during the past year.

Mrs. Sue Mayborn, Publisher of the *Temple Daily Telegram* and *Killeen Daily Herald*, established the award in 1992 to honor the commendable leadership and service demonstrated by her late husband Mr. Frank W. Mayborn during his many years of community involvement throughout his career as a newspaper executive.

Frank W. Mayborn was first and foremost a newspaperman and a communications executive who pioneered in the radio and television industries. However, he held another pursuit on par with his profession--that of community leadership and service. The Mayborn Award was established to honor other newspaper men and women who have a firm commitment to community service and who are devoting the same zeal to that cause as Mayborn did during his long career.

One of the areas in which Mayborn was most active was in service to education. It is fitting that the recipient of the Mayborn Award not only will be recognized publicly by his peers, but also by a scholarship in his/her honor which will be presented to a senior journalism student at a Texas college or university.

Each year the newspaper executive chosen to receive the Mayborn Award names a Texas college or university of his or her choice to receive a scholarship award, which in 2002 was increased from \$1,500 to \$3,000. School officials then select an outstanding journalism senior to receive the scholarship award.

## Winners:

- 1992 Richard L. Connor, President and Publisher, Fort Worth Star-Telegram
  - \$1,500 Texas Christian University (student **Angela Wright**)
- 1993 Roger S. Kintzel, Publisher, Austin American-Statesman
  - \$1,500 University of Texas at Austin (student **Alexandre DeMarban**)
- 1994 Garet von Netzer, Publisher, Amarillo Globe-News
  - \$750 Amarillo College (student **Amy Stovall**)
  - \$750 West Texas A&M University (students **Brad Nickell** and **Lisa Moss**)
- 1995 Veronica Salazar, VP of Community Relations, San Antonio Express-News
  - \$1,500 University of Texas at San Antonio (student **J. Renee Cox**)
- 1996 Robert W. Decherd, Chairman of the Board, President and CEO, A.H. Belo Corp.
  - \$1,500 Paul Quinn College (student **Tonya Chambers**)
- 1997 **David C. Sharp**, Publisher, *Lubbock Avalanche-Journal* 
  - \$1,500 Texas Tech University (student **Emily Jones**)
- 1998 Rollie D. Hyde, Publisher, Plainview Daily Herald
  - \$1,500 <u>Texas Tech University</u> (student **Amber Irlbeck**)
- 1999 Frank Puckett, President and Publisher, Abilene Reporter-News
  - \$1,500 Hardin-Simmons University (student **Melissa Robinson**)
- 2000 Susan Bischoff, Assistant Managing Editor, Houston Chronicle
  - \$1,500 <u>University of North Texas</u> (student **Sarah M. Broom**)
- 2001 Charles R. Moser, Editor and Publisher, The Brenham Banner-Press
  - \$1,500 Sam Houston State University (student **Deisy Verdinez**)

- 2002 Greg Shrader, Editor and Publisher, Kerrville Daily Times
  - \$3,000 <u>University of Texas at Austin</u> (student **Leah Dudowicz**)
- 2003 Bill Cornwell, Editor and Publisher, The Brazosport Facts
  - \$3,000 <u>University of Texas at Austin</u> (students **Erin Gage** and **Nicolas Martinez**)
- 2004 **Jack Sweeney**, Publisher and President, *Houston Chronicle* 
  - \$3,000 <u>University of Houston</u> (student **Matt Dulin**)
- 2005 **Donnis Baggett**, Publisher and Editor, *Bryan-College Station Eagle* 
  - \$3,000 Stephen F. Austin State University (student Lindsey Gail Standley)