# New Award Committee Conference Call Friday, November 9 – 10:00 a.m.

- > The purpose of the new award is to act as an incentive to build attendance at the annual TDNA convention (by being kept a secret until the actual presentation at the convention as are the Taggart and Mayborn awards).
- > One example suggested for this award was "publisher of the year," awarded in various circulation categories, perhaps recognizing those who have demonstrated journalistic courage (such as taking an unpopular stand on a legislative issue).

## **Existing TDNA annual contests:**

### Pat Taggart Award for Texas Newspaper Leader of the Year

- for publisher or newspaper executive providing outstanding service to his or her newspaper, the newspaper business and the community
- winner receives <u>plaque</u>

# Frank Mayborn Award for Community Leadership

- for publisher or newspaper executive whose exemplary leadership in the community and contribution to society impacts the newspaper business
- winner receives <u>plaque</u> winner chooses a Texas college or university to receive a \$3,000 <u>scholarship</u> for an outstanding journalism senior school officials select the scholarship recipient (scholarship funded by Mayborn Award Endowment Fund)

#### John Murphy Award for Excellence in Copy Editing

- for copy editors
- winner receives <u>plaque</u> and <u>\$1,000</u> (funded by TDNA budget category)
- for papers with circulation over or under 100,000 in alternate years

## Fred Hartman Excellence in Sportswriting Award

- for sportswriters and sports editors
- winner receives <u>plaque</u> and <u>\$1,000</u> (funded by Hartman Newspapers)
- for papers with circulation over or under 100,000 in alternate years

#### **Bright Idea Awards**

- for promotion of any department or the entire newspaper
- <u>plaques</u> for winners in each of four circulation categories: under 10,000; 10,000 to 35,000; 35,000 to 100,000; over 100,000

#### H.M. Fentress Award

- for student reporting and feature writing summer interns who are from a four-year college or university
- 1<sup>st</sup> place receives <u>plaque and \$250</u>, runner-up receives <u>plaque and \$100</u> (funded by Cox Newspapers, through Waco Tribune-Herald)