## H.M. FENTRESS MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EDITORIAL SUMMER INTERNS

## Winners:

2006 –	Winner: Runner-up:	
2005 –	Winner: Jordar Runner-up:	<b>Robertson</b> , <i>The Dallas Morning News</i> , University of California at Berkeley <b>Arena Welch</b> , <i>Bryan-College Station Eagle</i> , Texas A&M University
2004 –	Winner: Nancy Runner-up:	Martinez, Houston Chronicle, Texas A&M University Meena Thiruvengadam, San Antonio Express-News, University of TX-San Antonio
2003 –	Winner: Claire Runner-up:	Matheson, Houston Chronicle, Boston University  Jessica Belasco, San Antonio Express-News, Columbia University
2002 –	Winner: Rachel Runner-up:	Patton, San Antonio Express-News, Southwest Texas State University Steven Dove, Houston Chronicle, Baylor University
2001 –	Winner: Cynthi Runner-up:	ia Cieluch, San Antonio Express-News, Southwest Texas State University Rachel Patton, The Victoria Advocate, Southwest Texas State University
2000 –	Winner: Kathry Runner-up:	yn A. Wolfe, Corpus Christi Caller-Times, University of Texas-Austin Dave Levinthal, The Dallas Morning News, Syracuse University
1999 –	Winner: Tina H Runner-up:	<b>Iesman</b> , <i>The Dallas Morning News</i> , Boston University <b>Lisa Davis</b> , <i>Houston Chronicle</i> , University of Texas-Austin
1998 –	Winner: <b>Karin</b> Runner-up:	<b>Jegalian</b> , <i>The Dallas Morning News</i> , University of California-Santa Cruz <b>Amy Strahan</b> , <i>Corpus Christi Caller-Times</i> , University of Texas-Austin
1997 –	Winner: Amy S Runner-up:	Strahan, Corpus Christi Caller-Times, University of Texas-Austin Chris Miller, The Dallas Morning News, Iowa State University
1996 –	Co-winner:	Vanessa Richardson, <i>The Nacogdoches Daily Sentinel</i> , University of Houston Chad C. Binette, <i>Houston Chronicle</i> , College of the Holy Cross
1995 –	Winner: Linda Runner-up:	Friedlieb, Houston Chronicle, Stanford University Joseph Duarte, Houston Chronicle, University of Texas-Austin
1994 –	Winner: Dan H Runner-up:	<b>Teath</b> , <i>The Houston Post</i> , University of Texas-Austin <b>Alicia Ann Philley</b> , <i>Amarillo Globe-News</i> , Southern Methodist University

1993 – Winner: **Jennifer Wing**, *Houston Chronicle*, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Victor Venegas, El Paso Herald-Post, University of Texas-El Paso

Runner-up:

- 1992 <u>Winner</u>: **Laura E. Keeton**, *Houston Chronicle*, Duke University

  <u>Runner-up</u>: **Alfred R. Charles**, *The Dallas Morning News*, Texas Christian University
- 1991 <u>Winner</u>: **Jonathon Samuels**, *The Dallas Morning News*, Harvard College <u>Runner-up</u>: **Jason Reid**, *The Dallas Morning News*, University of Southern California
- 1990 <u>Winner</u>: **Timm Doolen**, *Tyler Times- Courier-Telegraph*, Texas A&M University <u>Runner-up</u>: **Jamie Stewart**, *Lubbock Avalanche-Journal*, Texas Tech University
- 1989 <u>Winner</u>: **Melissa Morrison**, *The Dallas Morning News*, University of Texas-Dallas <u>Runner-up</u>: **Adriane L. Wilson**, *Dallas Times Herald*, University of North Texas
- 1988 <u>Winner</u>: **Janet Lopez Perez**, *San Antonio Light*, University of Texas-El Paso Runner-up: **Randy Alan Kennedy**, *San Angelo Standard-Times*, Angelo State University
- 1987 Winner: **Reggie Rivers**, *Austin American-Statesman*, Southwest Texas State University Runner-up: **Kristin Jacobsen**, *The Houston Post*, University of Houston
- 1986 <u>Winner</u>: **Dianna Hutts**, *The Houston Post*, University of Houston Runner-up: **Tim Roche**, *The Odessa American*,
- 1985 <u>Winner</u>: **Patricia Gabbett**, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, New Mexico State University Runner-up: **Stephanie Goodman**, Corsicana Daily Sun, Baylor University
- 1984 <u>Winner</u>: **Tela Goodwin**, *Corpus Christi Caller*, University of Texas-Austin <u>Runner-up</u>: **Lynn Lunsford**, *Fort Worth Star-Telegram*, University of Texas-Austin
- 1983 <u>Winner</u>: **David Lindsey**, *Corpus Christi Caller*, University of Texas-Austin Runner-up: **Cyndi Mitchell**, *The Dallas Morning News*, Vanderbilt University
- 1982 <u>Winner</u>: **R. Daniel Cavazos**, *Corpus Christi Times*, North Texas State University <u>Runner-up</u>: **A.J. Plunkett**, *Corpus Christi Caller*, Texas Christian University
- 1981 <u>Winner</u>: **W. Gardner Selby**, *Corpus Christi Caller-Times*, University of Texas <u>Runner-up</u>: **Karen Potter**, *Fort Worth Star-Telegram*, Southern Methodist University
- 1980 Winner: Cyndy Slovak, *Waco Tribune-Herald*, University of Texas

  Runner-up: Rhonda Watters, *Corpus Christi Caller-Times*, Texas A&M University
- 1979 Winner: **Debbie Mitchell**, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Southern Methodist University Runner-up: **Steve Anton**, Corpus Christi Caller-Times, University of Texas
- 1978 <u>Winner</u>: **Kim Tyson**, *Austin American-Statesman*, Texas A&M University Runner-up: **Linda Hbrach**, *El Paso Times*, University of Indiana
- 1977 <u>Winner</u>: **Mark Richardson**, *Corpus Christi Caller-Times*, University of Texas-Austin Runner-up: **Karen Hastings**, *Fort Worth Star-Telegram*, University of Texas-Austin
- 1976 Winner: Mark Browning, Corpus Christi Caller-Times, University of Texas-Austin

Runner-up: Bill Wicker, Texarkana Gazette, University of Texas-Austin

(name shortened to H.M. Fentress Award and sponsor changed from Newspapers, Inc. to Cox Enterprises)

- 1975 <u>Winner</u>: **Jim Lowe**, *Fort Worth Star-Telegram*, University of Texas-Austin <u>Runner-up</u>: **Mark Meyer**, *Waco Tribune-Herald*, University of Texas-Austin
- 1974 <u>Winner</u>: **Cheryl Coggins**, *Fort Worth Press*, North Texas State University Runner-up: **Michael Sandel**, *Houston Chronicle*, Brandeis University

(name changed to H.M. Fentress-W.R. Beaumier Memorial Award and prizes money increased from \$100 to \$250 for winner and from \$50 to \$100 for runner-up)

## W.R. BEAUMIER MEMORIAL AWARD FOR EDITORIAL SUMMER INTERNS

## Winners:

- 1973 Winner: **David Powell**, *The Houston Post*, University of Texas Runner-Up: **Tom Siegfried**, *Fort Worth Press*, Texas Christian University
- 1972 <u>Winner</u>: **Debbie Stewart**, *Fort Worth Star-Telegram*, Baylor University Runner-Up: **Cliff Avery**, *Corpus Christi Caller-Times*, University of Texas-Austin
- 1971 Winner: **Bob McCullough**, *Port Arthur News*, University of Missouri
- 1970 <u>Winner</u>: **Don Rodman**, *Corpus Christi Caller-Times*, University of Texas-Austin <u>Runner-Up</u>: **Cody Curry**, *The Dallas Morning News*, North Texas State University