2005 Texas Institute of Letters Call for Entries

For works published in 2005* Entry deadline JANUARY 9, 2006

Rules and Judges

Entries are to be sent directly to each judge for the competition entered. **Do not send entries to the TIL address.** Write "For TIL Award" on the outside of the submission. A writer may have only one work entered in a category; no work may be submitted in more than one category; different works by the same author may be submitted in different categories. All works entered must have been first published during 2005. Clear photographic reproductions of the publication are acceptable for articles but not books. Each entry should be accompanied by a statement of the entrant's eligibility: birth in Texas or two years consecutive residence in the state at some time. A work whose subject matter substantially concerns Texas is also eligible. Those competing for the translation award should send the chair of the committee a copy of the original, published booklength text unless the published translation submitted is presented in a bilingual format.

Each entry should include the entrant's address, e-mail address, and phone number. Winners and finalists will be notified in late February or early March 2005, and the winners will be announced at the Spring banquet. Banquet announcements and newspaper articles cover the winners; no other notifications will be sent. The TIL reserves the right to withhold an award if the committee and the president consider that appropriate.

For additional copies of the list see the TIL web site at: http://www.wtamu.edu/til/

Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Nonfiction (\$5000)

Mark Busby, Chair Southwest Regional Humanities Center Center for the Study of the Southwest Texas State University San Marcos, TX 78666 (must write "For TIL Award" on package)

Carol Hatfield 3404 Northwood Circle Austin, TX 78703-1070

Clay Smith Texas Book Festival 610 Brazos, Ste. 200 Austin, TX 78701 (512) 472-3808 (must write "For TIL Award" on package)

Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry (\$1000)

Isabel Nathaniel, Chair 18040 Midway Rd., #215 Dallas, TX 75287

Daniel Rifenburgh 1921 W. 15th St. Houston, TX 77008

William Wenthe 2828 24th St. Lubbock, TX 79410

Fred Whitehead Award for Best Design of a Trade Book (\$750)

David Lindsey, Chair 1102 Kennan Road Austin, TX 78746

Jean Rather 45 East 80th Street New York, NY 10021

Charles J. Lohrmann 3710 Bridle Path Austin, TX 78703

<u>Jesse Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction (\$6000) and Steven Turner Award for Best Work of First Fiction (\$1000)</u>

C.W. Smith, Chair Dept of English PO Box 0435 SMU Dallas, TX 75275

Greg Garrett Department of English Baylor University Waco, TX 76798-7404

Sandra Scofield 107 Bentley Park Loop

Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story (\$750)

Lisa Sandlin, Chair 819 Lincoln St. Wayne, NE 68787

Bret Anthony Johnston 2772 Belmont Ave San Bernardino, CA 92407

Tracy Daugherty 118 NW 21st St. Corvallis OR 97330

Friends of the Austin Public Library Award for Best Children's Book (\$500) and Best Young Adult Book (\$500)

Jane Roberts Wood, Chair 567 North Argyle Road Argyle, TX 76226

Bryan Woolley 18040 Midway Rd. #215 Dallas, TX 75287

Karen Hoover PO Box 843081 Richmond VA 23219

Friends of the Dallas Public Library Award for Book Making the Most Significant Contribution to Knowledge (\$1000)

Darwin Payne, Chair 9021 Gunnison Dr. Dallas, TX 75231

Robin Doughty Dept. of Geography University of Texas at Austin Austin, Texas 78712

Kenneth L. Untiedt Dept. of English Stephen F. Austin State University P.O. Box 13007, SFA Station Nacogdoches,TX 75962-3007

Stanley Walker Award for Best Work of Newspaper Journalism Appearing in Newspaper or Sunday Supplement (\$1000)

Gary M. Lavergne, Chair P.O. Box 7052 Austin, Texas 78713-7052

Carol Moczygemba 600 Texas Ave. Austin, Texas 78705

Anita Bunkley 3554 Ashfield Drive Houston, Texas 77082

John Bloom Humor Award for the Funniest Texas Book (\$1000)

Marsh Terry, Chair SMU English Dept PO Box 750435 Dallas Tx 75275

Katy Vine Texas Monthly P O Box 1569 Austin Tx 78767-1569

Mike Nichols 6313 Purington Avenue Fort Worth Tx 76112-5551

O. Henry Award for Best Work of Magazine Journalism (\$1000)

Tom Dodge, Chair 302 Stiles Drive Midlothian, TX 76065

Hugh Aynesworth 3828 Townsend Drive Dallas, TX 75229

Steve Blow The Dallas Morning News Box 655237 Dallas, TX 75265

Socurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book (\$1000)

Bryce Milligan, Chair 627 E. Guenther San Antonio, TX 78210

Elizabeth Miller 5418 Meadow Crest Dallas, TX 75229

Philip Boehm 7141 Stanford Ave. St. Louis, MO 63130