## **Texas Institute of Letters**

## PRESS RELEASE

## Please Hold for Release Sunday April 2, 2006

Austin, Texas—The Texas Institute of Letters presented 13 awards for a total of \$21,000 and introduced seven new members at its annual meeting held Saturday, April 1, at the Marriott at the Capitol in Austin.

The Lon Tinkle Award (\$1,500) given by Mrs. James Early and Marshall Terry for excellence sustained throughout a career went to James Hoggard, Perkins-Prothro Distinguished Professor of English at Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls and Poet Laureate of Texas in 2000. He acquired his bachelor's of arts degree at Southern Methodist University and his masters of arts degree at the University of Kansas. The winner of numerous awards, including an NEA Creative Writing Fellowship and the Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Literary Translation, he has published seventeen books, including seven collections of poems, as well as two collections of stories, a novel, and a volume of nonfiction. His work has appeared in *Harvard Review*, *Massachusetts Review*, *Ohio Review*, *Southwest Review*, *Partisan Review*, *Translation Quarterly*, and numerous other journals and anthologies. Hoggard was first elected to the Texas Institute of Letters Council eighteen years ago in 1988. The next two years he served as Secretary-Treasurer. Then he served a four-year stint as President from 1994 until 1998. He currently serves as the volunteer Treasurer of the organization. Former Texas Institute of Letters President, Carolyn Osborne, calls him "our institutional memory, the person who remembers how TIL worked in the past. He is our continuity man. . . . And we depend on him for this."

**JESSE JONES AWARD FOR BEST WORK OF FICTION (\$6000)**, Stephen Graham Jones. *Bleed Into Me: a Book of Stories*. University of Nebraska Press.

THE STEVEN TURNER AWARD FOR BEST WORK OF FIRST FICTION (\$1000), Karen Olsson. *Waterloo*. Farrar, Strauss, and Giroux.

CARR P. COLLINS AWARD FOR BEST BOOK OF NONFICTION (\$5000), Nate Blakeslee. *Tulia*. Public Affairs Press.

AWARD FOR THE BOOK MAKING THE MOST SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTION TO KNOWLEDGE (\$1000), Thad Sitton and James H. Conrad. Freedom Colonies: Independent Black Texans in the Time of Jim Crow. University of Texas Press.

HELEN C. SMITH MEMORIAL AWARD FOR BEST BOOK OF POETRY (\$1000), John Bricuth. As Long As It's Big: A Narrative Poem. The Johns Hopkins University Press.

FRED WHITEHEAD AWARD FOR BEST DESIGN OF A TRADE BOOK (\$750) Designer: D.J. Stout and Julie Savasky, Photographs by John Dyer; introduction by Joe Nick Patoski; preface & captions by Juan Tejeda. *Conjunto*. University of Texas Press.

## JOHN BLOOM HUMOR AWARD FOR FUNNIEST TEXAS BOOK (\$1000)

No Award will be given for books published in 2005.

STANLEY WALKER AWARD FOR BEST WORK OF NEWSPAPER JOURNALISM APPEARING IN A NEWSPAPER OR SUNDAY SUPPLEMENT (\$1000), Edward Hegstrom, Tony Freemantle, and Elena Vega. "One Nation: Two Worlds." *Houston Chronicle*.

FRIENDS OF THE AUSTIN PUBLIC LIBRARY AWARD FOR BEST CHILDREN'S BOOK (\$500) AND BEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK (\$500), Young Adult Book: Pamela Porter. *The Crazy Man.* Groundwood Books, House of Anansi Press. Children's Book: Kelly Bennett. *Not Norman: A Goldfish Story.* Candlewick Press.

**KAY CATARULLA AWARD FOR BEST SHORT STORY (\$750)**, Rick Bass. "The Lives of Rocks." *Zoetrope*.

**O. HENRY AWARD FOR BEST WORK OF MAGAZINE JOURNALISM (\$1000)**, Pamela Colloff. "Unholy Act." *Texas Monthly*.

**SOEURETTE DIEHL FRASER AWARD FOR BEST TRANSLATION OF A BOOK** (\$1000), Harvey Yunis, translator. Author: Demosthenes. *Demosthenes: Speeches 18 and 19*. University of Texas Press.

New Members inducted into Membership are: Ricardo Ainslie, Ben Fountain, Kimberly Willis Holt, David Liss, Jan Seale, W. K. "Kip" Stratton, D. J. Stout.