Texas Institute of Letters Announces Finalists for Works Published in 2007

Finalists for the Texas Institute of Letters' 2007 literary awards have been announced by Fran Vick, president of the organization.

Prizes totaling \$19,200 will be awarded at TIL's annual meeting, April 18, 2008, at the Hilton Park Cities Hotel in Dallas.

Last year's top TIL fiction and non-fiction winners, Cormac McCarthy and Lawrence Wright, went on to win Pulitzer Prizes—McCarthy for *The Road* and Wright for *The Looming Tower*.

Several individuals in this year's competition are finalists in more than one category. Julie Savasky was a co-designer for all three of the finalists for the Fred Whitehead competition for best design of a book. Her partner in two of the projects was DJ Stout, and William Wittliff was her co-designer for the third.

Two other multiple nominees are Rick Bass, a finalist in both the O. Henry Award for Best Work of Magazine Journalism and the Kay Cattarulla award for Best Short Story, and John J. McLaughlin, whose novel, *Run in the Fam'ly*, is a finalist in both the Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Book of Fiction and the Steven Turner Award for Best Work of First Fiction.

The Lon Tinkle Award for excellent sustained throughout a career will be given to Southern Methodist University historian David Weber, prize-winning author of works about the American Southwest and Mexico.

The Texas Institute of Letters was founded in 1936 to recognize literary achievement and to promote interest in Texas literature.

The awards banquet is open for guests. For details see the Texas Institute of Letters website: texasinstituteofletters.org/.

Finalists in all categories are as follows:

Jesse H. Jones Award for Best Book of Fiction (\$5,000): Gerald Duff, *Fire Ants* (New South Books); Russell Hardin, *Dmitir Esterhaats* (Wings Press); and John J. McLaughlin, *Run in the Fam'ly* (University of Tennessee Press).

Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Non-fiction (\$5,000): Paul F. Boller, Presidential Diversions: Presidents at Play from George Washington to George W. Bush (Harcourt); William Roger Holman, The Orphans' Nine Commandments (Texas Christian University Press); and Robert Krueger and Kathleen Tobin Krueger, From Bloodshed to Hope in Burundi (University of Texas Press).

TIL Award for Most Significant Scholarly Book (\$2,500): Steve Bickerstaff, Lines in the Sand: Congressional Redistricting in Texas and the Downfall of Tom DeLay (University of Texas Press); Stuart Reid, The Secret War for Texas (Texas A&M University Press); and Jerry Thompson, Cortina: Defending the Mexican Name in Texas (Texas A&M University Press).

Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry (\$1,200): Robert Bonazzi, *Maestro of Solitude* (Wings Press); Jacqueline Kolosov, *Vago* (?), and Cate Marvin, *Fragment of the Head of a Queen* (Sarabande Books).

Steven Turner Award for Best Work of First Fiction (\$1,000): Elizabeth Bruce, *And Silent Left the Place* (Washington Writers' Publishing House), and John J. McLaughlin, *Run in the Fam'ly* (University of Tennessee Press).

O. Henry Award for Best Work of Magazine Journalism (\$1,000): Jessica Apple, "Happy Anniversary," *Financial Times*; Rick Bass, "The Lives of the Browns," *Southern Review*; and Cynthia Leal Massey, "Is UT Holding Our Heritage Hostage?" *Scene in SA Monthly*.

Stanley Walker Award for Best Work of Newspaper Journalism Appearing in Newspaper or Sunday Supplement (\$1,000):

Todd Bensman, "Breaching America," *San Antonio Express-News*; Ralph Blumenthal, In East Texas, Residents Take On a Lake-Eating Monster," *New York Times*; and Ron Rozelle, series of personal columns in *Brazosport Facts*.

Fred Whitehead Award for Best Design of a Trade Book (\$750):

Julie Savasky and DJ Stout, Reflections of a Man: The Photographs of Stanley Marcus, (Cairn Press); Julie Savasky and DJ Stout, Longhorn Football: An Illustrated History (University of Texas Press); and William Wittliff and Julie Savasky, A Book of Photographs from Lonesome Dove (University of Texas Press).

Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story (\$750): Kerry Nefille Bakken, "Careless," Arts & Letters Journal of Contemporary Culture, Spring 2007; Rick Bass, "The Elephant," Tin House, Summer 20007; and Bret Anthony Johnston, "Republican," Ploughares, Fall 2007.

Friends of the Austin Public Library Award for Best Children's Book (\$500): Weezie Kerr Mackey, *Throwing Like a Girl* (Marshall Cavendish)Arturo O. Martinez, *Pedrito's World* (Texas Tech University Press); and Roxie Munro, *Rodeo* (Bright Sky).

Friends of the Austin Public Library Award for Best Young Adult Book (\$500): Naomi Shihab Nye, I'll Ask You Three Times, Are You OK?, Tales of Driving and Being Driven (Greenwillow Books, imprint of Harper/Collins Publishers); and Brian Yanksy, Wonders of the World (Flux, Llewellyn Worldwide, Ltd.).

No award will be given this year in the John Bloom Humor Award for the Funniest Texas Book. The Soeurette Biehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book will be given in 2009 for books published in 2007 and 2008.