PRESS RELEASE

Contact: Fran Vick

The Texas Institute of Letters announces the finalists for \$22,000 in awards to be presented at their 69th annual meeting to be held Saturday, April 30 at the Stephen F. Austin Hotel in Austin.

FINALISTS FOR TIL 2004 BOOK AWARDS

Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Nonfiction (\$5000): Huck's Raft by Steven Mintz, Harvard University Press; Indomitable Sarah: Life of Judge Sarah T. Hughes by Darwin Payne, SMU Press; Texas Post Office Murals by Philip Parisi, Texas A&M University Press; Harder Than Hardscrabble by Thad Sitton, University of Texas Press

Jesse Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction (\$6000) and Steven Turner Award for Best Work of First Fiction (\$1000): Anything You Say Can and Will Be Held Against You by Laurie Lynn Drummond, HarperCollins Publishers; Wanted by Kim Wozencraft, St. Martin's Press; Corpus Christi by Bret Anthony Johnston, Random House; In the River Province by Lisa Sandlin, SMU Press

Natalie Ornish Best Book of Poetry Award (\$1000): *Hospital Poems* by Jim Ferris, Main Street Rag Press; *Black Butterflies* by Kurt Heinzelman, Mulberry Press; *Hearsay* by Lee Robinson, Fordham University Press; *Not Till We Are Lost* by William Wenthe, LSU Press

Friends of the Dallas Public Library Award for Book Making the Most Significant Contribution to Knowledge (\$1000): New Orleans and the Texas Revolution by Edward L. Miller, Texas A&M University Press; Changing National Identities at the Frontier: Texas and New Mexico, 1800-1850 by Andres Resendez, Cambridge University Press; The Texas Rangers and the Mexican Revolution by Charles H. Harris III and Louis R. Sadler, University of New Mexico Press

Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Book of Translation (\$1000): *The Space of Light* translated by Elizabeth Miller, Broken Jaw Press; *Death in Danzig* translated by Philip Boehm, Harcourt Brace

John Bloom Humor Award for the Funniest Texas Book (\$1000): Ars Poetica: A Postmodern Fable by Clay Reynolds, Texas Review Press; Slouching Toward Zion and More Lies by Robert Flynn, University of North Texas Press; The Prisoner of Vandam Street by Kinky Friedman, Simon & Schuster; Balaam Gimble's Gumption by Mike Nichols, John M. Hardy Publishing

Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story Award (\$750): "The Skull Gatherer" by Rick Bass, published in Zoetrope; "What You're Walking Around Without" by Bruce Machart, published in One Story; "Bouki and the Cocaine" by Ben Fountain, published in Zoetrope

Stanley Walker Award for Best Work of Newspaper Journalism Appearing in Newspaper or Sunday Supplement (\$1000): "The Search for Edde Peabody" by Zanto Peabody, Houston Chronicle; "Thrilled to Death" by Josh Harkinson, Houston Press

Fred Whitehead Award for Best Design of a Trade Book (\$750): Art Guide Texas, University of Texas Press; Maps of the Imagination, Trinity University Press; Is This Forever, or What, Greenwillow Books

O'Henry Award for Best Work of Magazine Journalism (\$1000): "The Kingdom of Silence" by Lawrence Wright, *New Yorker*; "The Good Doctor" by Jan Reid, *Texas Monthly*; "The Shot Not Heard Round the World" by John Spong, *Texas Monthly*

Friends of the Austin Public Library Award for Best Children's Book (\$500) and Best Young Adult's Book (\$500): How Many Kisses Do You Want Tonight? by Varsha Bajaj, Little Brown & Co.; Jack and the Beanstalk by Diane Stanley, HarperCollins Publishers; Family Reunion by Mary Quattlebaum, Eerdman's Books; Cecilia's Year by Susan Abraham and Denise Gonzales, Cinco Puntos Press

The Lon Tinkle Award (\$1,500) given by James Early and Marshall Terry for excellence sustained throughout a career will go to T. R. Fehrenbach best known for his history: Lone Star.

New members to be inducted into membership in the Institute are: Hugh Aynesworth, Stephen Michaud, John Blair, Mary Margaret Farabee, Gregg Garrett, Palmer Hall, Kurt Heinzelman, James Hynes, Steven Kellman, Gary Lavergne, Darwin Payne, David Searcy.