## Kinky Friedman Wins the John Bloom Humor Award from the Texas Institute of Letters

March 30, 2003 --

Austin, Texas - The Texas Institute of Letters presented 14 awards and introduced 11 new members at its 67th annual meeting held Saturday, March 29, at the Hotel Galvez in Galveston.

The Lon Tinkle Award (\$1,500) given by James Early and Marshall Terry for excellence sustained throughout a career went to Shelby Hearon, who received a B.A. from the University of Texas and lived for many years in Central Texas. Her first novel, Armadillo in the Grass, was published by Knopf in 1967. Since then, she has written numerous novels, including The Second Dune (1973), Hannah's House (1975), A Prince of a Fellow (1978), Painted Dresses (1981), 500 Scorpions (1986), Owning Jolene (1989), Hug Dancing (1991), Life Estates (1994), and Footprints (1996). Her most recent novel is Ella in Bloom. She now lives in Vermont with her husband William Halpern.

New members of the Institute are as follows:

Betty Adcock of Raleigh, NC
Jerry Craven of Amarillo
Kate Lehrer of Washington, DC
Bryce Milligan of San Antonio
Celia Morris of Washington, DC
Tim O'Brien of Austin
Joe Nick Patoski of Wimberley
Rick Riordan of San Antonio
Frederick Turner of Dallas
Robert Utley of Georgetown
Laura Wilson of Dallas

Jesse H. Jones Award (\$6,000) for Fiction

WINNER: Rick Bass, Hermit's Story (Houghton Mifflin)

FINALISTS: Sandra Cisneros, Caramelo (Knopf); Lisa Schamess, Borrowed Light (SMU Press)

Steven Turner Award (\$1,000) for Best First Work of Fiction

WINNER: Lisa Schamess, Borrowed Light (SMU Press)

FINALISTS: Angie Day, *The Way to Somewhere* (Simon & Schuster); Timothy Westmoreland, *Good As Any: Stories* (Harcourt)

Carr P. Collins Award (\$5,000) for Best Book of Nonfiction

WINNER: Ray Gonzalez, *The Underground Heart: A Return to a Hidden Landscape* (University of Arizona Press)

FINALISTS: Jeff Guinn, Our Land Before We Die: the Proud Story of the Seminole Negro (Penguin/Putnam); John Taliaferro, Great White Fathers; the Story of the Obsessive Quest to Create Mt. Rushmore (Public Affairs Press)

Friends of the Dallas Public Library Award (\$1,000) for Book Making the Most Significant Contribution to Knowledge

WINNER: Michael Gagarin, Antiphon the Athenian: Oratory, Law, and Justice in the Age of the Sophists (University of Texas Press)

FINALISTS: Graham Davis, Land! Irish Pioneers in Mexican and Revolutionary Texas (Texas A&M University Press); T. Walter Herbert, Sexual Violence and American Manhood (Harvard University Press)

Best Book of Poetry Award (\$5000)

WINNER: Reginald Gibbons, *It's Time* (LSU Press)

FINALISTS: Ray Gonzalez, *The Hawk Temple at Terra Grande* (BOA Editions); Del Marie Rogers, *She'll Never Want More Than This* (Firewheel Press)

Natalie Ornish Poetry Award for Best First Book of Poetry (\$1,000) in Memory of A. C. Greene and John Edward Weems

WINNER: Dan Rifenburgh, Advent (Waywiser Press)

FINALISTS: Robert Lunday, *Mad Flights* (The Ashland Poetry Press); Victoria Edwards Tester, *Miracles of Sainted Earth* (University of New Mexico Press)

Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award (\$1,000) for Best Book of Translation No award for 2003.

Brazos Bookstore (Houston) Award (\$750) for Best Short Story, Given in Memory of Bill Shearer WINNER: Ben Fountain III, "Near-Extinct Birds of the Central Cordillera," Zoetrope FINALISTS: Scott Blackwood, "Indians" The Boston Review; Bret Anthony Johnston, "Corpus," Black Warrior Review

O. Henry Award (\$1,000) for Best Work of Magazine Journalism, Given by Frank and Sue McBee of Austin

WINNER: Lawrence Wright, "The Man Behind Bin Laden" from the New Yorker

FINALISTS: Michael Hall, "Death Isn't Fair" from *Texas Monthly;* Skip Hollandsworth, "The Day Treva Thornberry Disappeared" from *Texas Monthly* 

Stanley Walker Award (\$1,000) for Best Work of Journalism Appearing in a Newspaper or Sunday Supplement, Given by Frank and Sue McBee of Austin

WINNER: Mark Lisheron and Bill Bishop, "Cities of Ideas," Austin American-Statesman

FINALISTS: David Hafetz, "Chasing Hope," *Austin American-Statesman*; Daniel J. Vargas, "Legacy of Love and Pain," *Houston Chronicle* 

Friends of the Austin Public Library Award (\$500) for Best Children's Book; (\$500) for Best Young Adults' Book

WINNER: Kathi Appelt, Where, Where Is Swamp Bear? (HarperCollins Juvenile Books)

FINALISTS: Frances Hill, *Bug Cemetery*, (Henry Holt & Company, Inc); Pat Mora, *Maria Paints the Hills* (Museum of New Mexico Press)

Friends of the Austin Public Library Award (\$500) for Best Young Adults' Book

WINNER: Carolee Dean, *Comfort* (Houghton Mifflin Co)

FINALISTS: Joan Lowery Nixon, *The Making of a Writer* (Delacorte Press); Cynthia Leitich Smith, *Indian Shoes* (HarperCollins Children's Books)

John Bloom Humor Award (\$1,000) The Joe Bob Briggs Prize for the Goldang Funniest Texas Book WINNER: Kinky Friedman, *Meanwhile Back at the Ranch* (Simon & Schuster)

FINALISTS: Ruth Pennebaker, *A Texas Family Time Capsule* (Republic of Texas Press); Clay Reynolds, *The Tentmaker* (Berkley Books)

The Fred Whitehead Award (\$750) for the Best Design of a Trade Book

WINNER: Juan Rulfo, *Pedro Paramo*, photographs by Josephine Sacabo, book and jacket design by D. J. Stout and Julie Savasky / Pentagram, Austin. (University of Texas Press)

FINALIST: Dennis Blagg, *Big Bend Landscapes*, intro. by Ron Tyler, design manager Mary Ann Jacob (Texas A&M Press)

## CONTACT:

Paula Marks
St. Edward's University
512-448-8702
paulam@admin.stedwards.edu