## PRESS RELEASE

**Contact: Fran Vick** 

## PLEASE HOLD FOR RELEASE SUNDAY, MAY 1, 2005

Austin, Texas—The Texas Institute of Letters presented 14 awards for a total of \$22,000 and introduced 12 new members at its 69<sup>th</sup> annual meeting held Saturday, April 30, at the Stephen F. Austin Hotel in Austin.

The Lon Tinkle Award (\$1,500) given by James Early and Marshall Terry for excellence sustained throughout a career went to T. R. Fehrenbach, who was born in San Benito, Texas, in 1925 to a pioneer South Texas family. He attended schools in Texas and California and graduated from Princeton University in 1947. Serving in World War II and Korea, Fehrenbach saw combat as platoon leader, company commander, and battalion staff officer with the 2d Infantry Division, retiring as a lieutenant colonel. Best known for his writing, since 1961 he has published 18 nonfiction books, including This Kind of War, a military history of the Korean War used by US ground forces for officer instruction; Lone Star, a widely read history of Texas and basis for the PBS miniseries; Fire and Blood, a history of Mexico; Comanches, The Destruction of a People; and Texas: A Salute from Above, a photographic essay of the state. He served as senior author-consultant for Prentice-Hall's new Texas history text, approved by the Texas Board of Education in 2002. He has contributed fiction and articles to a wide range of periodicals including Atlantic Monthly, New Republic, Texas Monthly, London Sunday Times, Paris L'Express, Zurich Woche, among others. He is a Sunday editorial columnist for the San Antonio Express-News. In 1986, the Texas Historical Commission named their book contest in honor of T.R. Fehrenbach. He lives in San Antonio with his wife, Lillian.

Carr P. Collins Award for Best Book of Nonfiction (\$5000): Huck's Raft by Steven Mintz, Harvard University Press. Finalists were: Indomitable Sarah: Life of Judge Sarah T. Hughes by Darwin Payne, SMU Press; Texas Post Office Murals by Philip Parisi, Texas A&M University Press; Harder Than Hardscrabble by Thad Sitton, University of Texas Press.

Jesse Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction (\$6000): Anything You Say Can and Will Be Held Against You by Laurie Lynn Drummond, HarperCollins Publishers. Finalists were: Wanted by Kim Wozencraft, St. Martin's Press; Corpus Christi by Bret Anthony Johnston, Random House; In the River Province by Lisa Sandlin, SMU Press.

**Steven Turner Award for Best Work of First Fiction (\$1000)** was *Corpus Christi* by Bret Anthony Johnston, Random House.

Natalie Ornish Best Book of Poetry Award (\$1000): Not Till We Are Lost by William Wenthe, LSU Press. Finalists were: Hospital Poems by Jim Ferris, Main Street Rag Press; Black Butterflies by Kurt Heinzelman, Mulberry Press; Hearsay by Lee Robinson, Fordham University Press.

The Award for Book Making the Most Significant Contribution to Knowledge (\$1000):

Changing National Identities at the Frontier: Texas and New Mexico, 1800-1850 by Andres Resendez, Cambridge University Press. Finalists were: New Orleans and the Texas Revolution by Edward L. Miller, Texas A&M University Press; The Texas Rangers and the Mexican Revolution by Charles H. Harris III and Louis R. Sadler, University of New Mexico Press

**Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Book of Translation (\$1000):** *Death in Danzig* translated by Philip Boehm, Harcourt Brace. Finalist was: *The Space of Light* translated by Elizabeth Miller, Broken Jaw Press;

Joe Bob Briggs Humor Award for the Funniest Texas Book (\$1000): Balaam Gimble's Gumption by Mike Nichols, John M. Hardy Publishing. Finalists were: Ars Poetica: A Postmodern Fable by Clay Reynolds, Texas Review Press; Slouching Toward Zion and More Lies by Robert Flynn, University of North Texas Press; The Prisoner of Vandam Street by Kinky Friedman, Simon & Schuster.

**Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story Award (\$750):** "Bouki and the Cocaine" by Ben Fountain, published in *Zoetrope*. Finalists were: "The Skull Gatherer" by Rick Bass, published in *Zoetrope*; "What You're Walking Around Without" by Bruce Machart, published in *One Story*.

Stanley Walker Award for Best Work of Newspaper Journalism Appearing in Newspaper or Sunday Supplement (\$1000): "The Search for Edde Peabody" by Zanto Peabody, *Houston Chronicle*; Finalist was: "Thrilled to Death" by Josh Harkinson, *Houston Press*.

Fred Whitehead Award for Best Design of a Trade Book (\$750): DJ Stout and Julie Zavatsky for Maps of the Imagination, Trinity University Press. Finalists were: Art Guide Texas, University of Texas Press; Is This Forever, or What?, Greenwillow Books.

**O'Henry Award for Best Work of Magazine Journalism (\$1000):** "The Kingdom of Silence" by Lawrence Wright, *New Yorker*. Finalists were: "The Good Doctor" by Jan Reid, *Texas Monthly*; "The Shot Not Heard Round the World" by John Spong, *Texas Monthly*.

Friends of the Austin Public Library Award for Best Children's Book (\$500) and Best Young Adult's Book (\$500): Jack and the Beanstalk by Diane Stanley, HarperCollins Publishers, and *Cecilia's Year* by Susan Abraham and Denise Gonzales Cinco Puntos Press. Finalists: How Many Kisses Do You Want Tonight? by Varsha Bajaj, Little, Brown & Co.; Family Reunion by Mary Quattlebaum, Eerdman's Books.

New members inducted into membership in the Institute are: Hugh Aynesworth, Stephen Michaud, John Blair, Mary Margaret Farabee, Gregg Garrett, Palmer Hall, Kurt Heinzelman, James Hynes, Steven Kellman, Gary Lavergne, Darwin Payne, David Searcy.