Texas Institute of Letters Press Release (Contact Darwin Payne, 214-503-0738. For MS Word e-mail attachment of this release contact dpayne@smu.edu)

PLEASE HOLD FOR RELEASE FOR SUNDAY, APRIL 15, 2007

DALLAS—The Texas Institute of Letters presented 13 awards totaling \$22,700 for outstanding literary accomplishments at its Saturday, April 14, annual awards banquet held at the Park Cities Hilton Hotel.

Fifteen new members were introduced at the meeting.

Cormac McCarthy won the Jesse Jones Award for Best Work of Fiction in 2006 for his novel, *The Road*, published by Knopf. The prize brings a cash award of \$6,000.

Lawrence Wright's book on the origins of terrorism, *The Looming Tower:* Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11, also published by Knopf, took top honors in the Carr P. Collins Award for non-fiction with a prize of \$5,000.

Recognized as the Lon Tinkle Award winner, given for excellence sustained throughout a career, was William D. Wittliff, cited as accomplished publisher, writer, photographer, director, producer and screenwriter. Witliff, a former president of the Texas Institute of Letters, received a cash prize of \$1,500.

Other winners follow:

TIL Award for Most Significant Scholarly Book, \$2,500, to Jerry Thompson, Civil War to the Bloody End: The Life and Times of Major General Samuel P. Heintzelman, published by Texas A&M Press.

Helen C. Smith Memorial Award for Best Book of Poetry, \$1,200, to Christopher Bakken for *Goat Funeral*, published by Sheep-Meadow.

Steven Turner Award for Best Work of First Fiction, \$1,000, to Dominic Smith for *The Mercury Visions of Louis Daguerre*, published by Atria.

Soeurette Diehl Fraser Award for Best Translation of a Book, \$1,000, to Marian Schwartz, for her translation from Russian of Ruben Gallego's *White on Black*, published by Harcourt.

O. Henry Award for Best Work of Magazine Journalism, \$1,000, to John Spong for "The Good Book and the Bad Book," published in *Texas Monthly*, September 2006.

Stanley Walker Award for Best Work of Newspaper Journalism Appearing in Newspaper or Sunday Supplement, \$1,000, to Tony Freemantle for "The Gulf Coast Revisited," *Houston Chronicle*.

Kay Cattarulla Award for Best Short Story, \$750, to Mark Wisniewski for "Prisoners of War," published in *Glimmer Train*.

Friends of the Austin Public Library Award for Best Children's Book, \$500, to Tim Tingle for Crossing Bok Chitto: A Choctaw Tale of Friendship and Freedom, Cinco Puntos Press.

Friends of the Austin Public Library Award for Best Young Adult Book, \$500, to Heather Hepler for *Scrambled Eggs at Midnight*, published by Dutton.

Fred Whitehead Award for Best Design of a Trade Book, \$750, to Mary Ann Jacob for *Timeless Texas*, Texas A&M Press.

New members introduced at the meeting were Kent Biffle, Rockwall; Ty Cashion, Huntsville; Deborah Crombie, McKinney; Charles Dameron, Brownsville; A.W. (Bill) Gray, Dallas; Stephen Graham Jones, Lubbock; Richard G. Lowe, Denton; R. Lee Maril, Greenville, S.C., Karen Olsson, Austin; Ron Rozelle, Lake Jackson; Bill Sloan, Dallas; Willard Spiegelman, Dallas; Claude Stanush, San Antonio; Andrés Tijerina, Austin; and Betty Wiesepape, Richardson.

Special tributes were paid to two TIL members, Allen Maxwell and Audrey Slate.

Maxwell, 91, of Dallas was cited for his long service to Texas letters and for 61 years of continuous TIL membership. His career includes service as director of the SMU Press, editor of *Southwest Review*, vice president of TIL, and book editor of *The Dallas Morning News*.

Slate was cited for 33 years of "extraordinary service" as director of the Dobie-Paisano Fellowship Program.

The Texas Institute of Letters was founded in Dallas in 1936 during the Texas Centennial to stimulate interest in Texas letters, to recognize distinctive achievement in the field, and to promote fellowship among those interested in the literary and cultural development of the state. Its current president is Fran Vick of Dallas.