The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 66, July 1962 - April, 1963 Page: 137

Affairs of the Association

By vote of the executive council the annual dues were in-
creased to $7.50. The Quarterly as always will be sent free to all
members. Comparable increases were voted, raising life member-
ship to $150, sustaining membership to $375, and patrons to $750.
The 1962 book auction was named in honor of Frank Caldwell,
a life member of the Association and a Texana collector extra-
ordinary, who died on January 28, 1962. The Caldwell Collection
of Texana, which has been compared with those of Vandale and
Streeter, is now in the possession of the University of Texas
Library where it adds immensely to an already outstanding Texas
On the basis of his extensive services to the Association and
to Texas history, it was quite fitting that the 1962 book auction
should have been named in honor of Frank Caldwell. The auc-
tion proved to be quite successful, with receipts totaling $1,1oo.
To the contributors and the many persons who worked on the
auction, the Association extends sincere appreciation. Without
their co-operation and support the auction could not have been.
The following list of contributors is believed to be complete, but
a few inadvertent omissions may have occurred. Please notify the
office if any contributor's name has been omitted in order that
acknowledgment may be made.
The following persons contributed to the book auction:

Loyd LeBlanc, Jr.
Thomas W. Streeter
Texas Memorial Museum
Walter E. Long
George Prothro Smiley
Joseph L. Clark
A. Garland Adair
James M. Day
Mrs. E. E. Sheffield
W. M. Morrison
Ralph Yarborough
Banner Printing Co.
Anton J. Frank
St. John C. Garwood
C. K. Chamberlain
Mrs. Harriett Leary
R. C. Lawler
Escal F. Duke
Glenn O. Wilson
Northwestern State College
of Louisiana
C. L. Sonnichsen

George P. Isbell
The Naylor Company
Price Daniel
Clara Mae Leutwyler
Frances Donecker
Mrs. Thomas F. Bush
Lyndon Johnson
Frank H. Dugan
D. E. Kilgore
Bessie May Weibling
Rena M. Green
Mrs. Claude Elliott
George F. Haugh
Joe B. Frantz
Mrs. Dave Finkelstein
James M. Cotten
J. W. Petty, Jr.
Pat Ireland Nixon
Paul Adams
Helen H. Rugeley
Lloyd Hustvedt
E. L. Connally


Upcoming Pages

Here’s what’s next.

upcoming item: 152 152 of 684
upcoming item: 153 153 of 684
upcoming item: 154 154 of 684
upcoming item: 155 155 of 684

Show all pages in this issue.

This issue can be searched. Note: Results may vary based on the legibility of text within the document.

Tools / Downloads

Get a copy of this page .

Citing and Sharing

Basic information for referencing this web page. We also provide extended guidance on usage rights, references, copying or embedding.

Reference the current page of this Periodical.

Texas State Historical Association. The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 66, July 1962 - April, 1963, periodical, 1963; Austin, Texas. ( accessed March 24, 2018), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History,; crediting Texas State Historical Association.