The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 98, July 1994 - April, 1995 Page: 629
the band through the development of its marching style, its distinctive music,
and its precision maneuvers. Toler, who became director in 1989, is still direct-
ing. Band members experience a unique life-style. They live together and eat to-
gether as a military unit; they wear uniforms every day, even to class. Women
have been members of the band only since 1985.
The book is well documented. Of special value and interest to Texas Aggies is
a complete listing of former band leadership and the band's seven thousand-
plus present and former members. Librarians and researchers will regret the
lack of an index.
Every Texas Aggie should have a copy of this book. It will stir the soul! Band
directors and band members everywhere will see how discipline, loyalty, tradi-
tion, and creativity interacted to build the Fightin' Texas Aggie Band. Students
of the campus culture will find the book useful in confirming their understand-
ings of some of the roots of student behavior and campus traditions, especially
in Texas. Even this reviewer, who truly bleeds orange, enjoyed it and silently ap-
plauds: "Gig 'em, Aggiesl"
University of Texas at Austin, Retired MARGARET C. BERRY
North of the River: A Brief History of North Fort Worth. By J'Nell Pate. (Fort Worth:
Texas Christian University Press, 1994. Pp. xv+2o3. Preface, notes, bibliog-
raphy, index. ISBN o-87565-133-X. $12.95, paper.)
To many, the north side of Fort Worth is Billy Bob's Texas and other tourist
attractions in the Fort Worth Stockyards National Historic District. J'Nell Pate fo-
cuses on the area in a "brief history" that records not only events that shaped
Fort Worth's north side, but the essence of its people, whose work ethic and en-
terprise shaped the city's "cowtown" image.
The earliest recorded settlers arrived in 1848 to farm land on the Trinity River
bottoms. Five years later, the U.S. Army abandoned Fort Worth, the outpost es-
tablished in 1848 across the river.
After the Civil War, six million cattle driven through Fort Worth to northern
markets bedded down in what is now Trail Drivers Park on the north side. The
arrival of the Texas and Pacific railroad in 1876 led to the opening of the Fort
Worth Union Stock Yards on the north side. To attract business, ranchers
brought their best cattle and tied them to Stock Yard trees in March 1896. It was
the beginning of the Fort Worth Stock Show.
The North Side Coliseum opened in 1908 and the first cutting-horse contest
held under electric lights took place there that year. Former President
Theodore Roosevelt spoke to five thousand people in the Coliseum in 1911; the
first indoor rodeo was held there in 1918; and emerging star Elvis Presley played
there in 1956.
But the north side had trouble holding on to what it had. The Stock Show
moved to Will Rogers Coliseum on the west side in 1944-a move north siders
Here’s what’s next.
Show all pages in this issue.
This issue can be searched. Note: Results may vary based on the legibility of text within the document.
Citing and Sharing
Basic information for referencing this web page. We also provide extended guidance on usage rights, references, copying or embedding.
Reference the current page of this Periodical.
Texas State Historical Association. The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 98, July 1994 - April, 1995, periodical, 1995; Austin, Texas. (texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth101216/m1/699/ocr/: accessed January 20, 2017), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, texashistory.unt.edu; crediting Texas State Historical Association.