The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 84, July 1980 - April, 1981 Page: 28
The following text was automatically extracted from the image on this page using optical character recognition software:
Southwestern Historical Quarterly
Geographically, the Rio Grande unified the region and sustained life
for more than 10,000ooo people. Commercially, the El Paso area tied to-
gether Santa Fe and Chihuahua along the Camino Real-a north-
But in 1848 the river became an international boundary. Within a
short time five settlements were established along the left bank, joining
the three Mexican settlements which the shifting river placed on the
Texas side. No longer was the river the unifier it had been, and an
east-west traffic axis soon supplanted the former one.
At a future date, a settlement called Franklin, established on Coons's
property, became El Paso, Texas, and El Paso del Norte became Ciudad
Juirez, named in 1888 for the great Mexican patriot, Benito Juarez3
San Lorenzo and Senecu in time were absorbed as Juirez built east-
ward. Today more than a million people live in this border area, and
El Paso, Texas, is 55 percent Mexican. The unique relationship which
exists between the two cities demands a high degree of understanding
and cooperation if the border is to remain a corridor, rather than an
area of international conflict as it was in the 1840s.
G6aChivez, Historia de Ciudad Judrez, 295.
Here’s what’s next.
This issue can be searched. Note: Results may vary based on the legibility of text within the document.
Citing and Sharing
Basic information for referencing this web page. We also provide extended guidance on usage rights, references, copying or embedding.
Reference the current page of this Periodical.
Texas State Historical Association. The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, Volume 84, July 1980 - April, 1981, periodical, 1980/1981; Austin, Texas. (texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth101225/m1/48/: accessed May 27, 2017), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, texashistory.unt.edu; crediting Texas State Historical Association.