HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Margana Wood of Houston was crowned Miss Texas at
- 2 the Eisemann Center in Richardson on July 1, 2017; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Competing as Miss Travis County, Margana Wood
- 4 captured the state title with her exceptional performances in the
- 5 interview, swimsuit, talent, evening gown, and on-stage question
- 6 portions of the contest; prior to this triumph, she won local
- 7 competitions held by the Miss America Organization and the Miss
- 8 Houston/Miss Harris County/Sugarland Organization; and
- 9 WHEREAS, During her reign as Miss Texas, Ms. Wood will work
- 10 with such notable groups as the Special Olympics, the Laura Bush
- 11 Foundation for America's Libraries, Susan G. Komen, the Little
- 12 Words Project, and the Children's Miracle Network; in concert with
- 13 the Texas Cares for Children character education program, she will
- 14 also help to promote the values of inclusion and respect, which are
- 15 integral to her anti-bullying platform, "You Belong"; and
- WHEREAS, An alumna of The University of Texas at Austin,
- 17 Ms. Wood holds a bachelor's degree in corporate communications; she
- 18 plans to continue her education at the graduate level using the
- 19 scholarship she received from the Miss Texas pageant; and
- WHEREAS, Margana Wood has demonstrated a desire to excel in
- 21 all her endeavors, and her talent and perseverance in the pursuit of
- 22 her goals are sure to serve her well in the years ahead; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the 85th Legislature of the State of Texas,

H.C.R. No. 26

- 1 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Margana Wood on being
- 2 crowned Miss Texas 2017 and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 3 the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Wood as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives and Senate.

Shine

H.C.R. No. 26

Straus	Goldman	Oliverson
Allen	Gonzales of Williamson	Ortega
Alonzo	González of El Paso	Paddie
Alvarado	Gooden	Parker
Anchia	Guerra	Paul
Anderson of Dallas	Guillen	Perez
Anderson of McLennan	Gutierrez	Phelan
Arévalo	Hefner	Phillips
Ashby	Hernandez	Pickett
Bailes	Herrero	Price
Bell	Hinojosa	Raney
Bernal	Holland	Raymond
Biedermann	Howard	Reynolds
Blanco	Huberty	Rinaldi
Bohac	Hunter	Roberts
Bonnen of Brazoria	Isaac	Rodriguez of Bexar
Bonnen of Galveston	Israel	Rodriguez of Travis
Burkett	Johnson of Dallas	Romero, Jr.
Burns	Johnson of Harris	Rose
Burrows	Kacal	Sanford
Button	Keough	Schaefer
Cain	King of Hemphill	Schofield
Canales	King of Parker	Schubert
Capriglione	King of Uvalde	Shaheen
Clardy	Klick	Sheffield
Coleman	Koop	Shine
Collier	Krause	Simmons
Cook	Kuempel	Smithee
Cortez	Lambert	Springer
Cosper	Landgraf	Stephenson
Craddick	Lang	Stickland
Cyrier	Larson	Stucky
Dale	Laubenberg	Swanson
Darby	Leach	Thierry
Davis of Dallas	Longoria	Thompson of Brazoria
Davis of Harris	Lozano	Thompson of Harris
Dean	Lucio III	Tinderholt
Deshotel	Martinez	Turner
Dukes	Metcalf	Uresti
Dutton	Meyer	VanDeaver
Elkins	Miller	Villalba
Faircloth	Minjarez	Vo
Fallon	Moody	Walle
Farrar	Morrison	White
Flynn	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

President of the Senate

H.C.R. No. 26 Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 26 was adopted by the House on August 9, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 26 was adopted by the Senate on August 10, 2017, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _

8-15-2017 Date Delgalbar

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

4 PM 0'CLOCK