## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, L. D. "Buddy" Sipes Jr. is being inducted into the
2 Petroleum Hall of Fame on May 2, 2019; and
3 WHEREAS, The Petroleum Hall of Fame, established in 1967 by
4 the Permian Basin Petroleum Museum in Midland, recognizes
5 individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the

7 through their achievements, service, or strength of character; and 8 WHEREAS, A native of Big Spring, Mr. Sipes graduated with

honors from Texas Tech University in 1957 with a bachelor's degree

development of the petroleum industry or who have inspired others

10 in petroleum engineering; he worked for Core Laboratories in

11 Dallas, Midland, and Paris, France, and went on to purchase a

12 petroleum consulting firm that he and his business partners renamed

13 Sipes, Williamson & Associates; in 1980, he formed Chisos

14 Operating, an independent oil and gas firm, and he later founded

15 Diversified Remediation, an environmental cleanup company based in

16 Houston; and

6

9

WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan has earned a well-deserved 17 reputation as an expert in his field, particularly in the areas of 18 reservoirs and evaluating reserves; he has been instrumental in the 19 20 establishment of globally recognized definitions and standards for reservoir engineering that have been utilized by the Texas Water 21 Development Board and the U.S. Department of Energy in planning 22 23 efforts and policy decisions; the coauthor of several published 24 papers, he has contributed data and calculations that have been

H.C.R. No. 157

- 1 referenced in numerous publications; and
- WHEREAS, Through his hard work and commitment to innovation,
- 3 Buddy Sipes has distinguished himself as a successful and
- 4 influential figure in an industry that stands at the heart of the
- 5 Texas economy, and it is truly fitting that he should receive this
- 6 prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 8 hereby congratulate L. D. "Buddy" Sipes Jr. on his induction into
- 9 the Petroleum Hall of Fame and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 10 the future; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for Mr. Sipes as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 13 House of Representatives and Senate.

Craddick

Bonnen of Brazoria Allen Allison Anchia Anderson Ashby Bailes Beckley Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Galveston Bowers Buckley Bucy Burns Burrows Button Cain Calanni Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Coleman Collier Cortez Craddick Cyrier Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel

Dominguez Dutton

Farrar

Fierro

Flynn

Frank

Frullo

Goldman

Goodwin

Gervin-Hawkins

Geren

González of Dallas González of El Paso

Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harris Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Israel E. Johnson of Dallas Reynolds
J. Johnson of Dallas Rodriguez Johnson of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Leach Leman Longoria Lopez Lozano Lucio III

Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Middleton Miller Minjarez Moody Morales Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez

Noble Oliverson Ortega Pacheco Paddie Parker Patterson Paul Perez Phelan Price Ramos Raney Raymond Romero, Jr. Rose

Rosenthal Sanford Schaefer Shaheen Sheffield Sherman, Sr. Shine Smith Smithee

Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Talarico Thierry

Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris

Tinderholt

Toth

Turner of Dallas Turner of Tarrant

VanDeaver

Vo Walle White Wilson Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas Zwiener

H.C.R. No. 157

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 157 was adopted by the House on April 16, 2019, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 157 was adopted by the Senate on April 17, 2019, by a viva-voce vote.  $\bigcap$ 

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED:

Dato

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

9:30pm O'CLOCK

Secretary of State