Media Contact: Morgan Lyons or Robin Stringfellow

June 10, 1998

DART Board Member Honored by Council of Governments

Richardson's Ray Noah honored for commitment to regionalism

Former Richardson Mayor and current DART Board Member Ray Noah is the William J. Pitstick Regional Excellence Award winner for 1998.

Noah was selected by officials of the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) for his record as Mayor of Richardson for 15 years, his work as a Judge in several North Texas cities and his important contributions as a charter member of DART's Board of Directors. Noah also served four years on the NCTCOG board of directors, including terms as vice president and president. The award was presented during a luncheon in Arlington on June 5.

"Ray embodies the spirit of the award and we're pleased to have been able to nominate him for it," DART President/Executive Director Roger Snoble said. "He's invested 25 years in regional mobility, beginning with membership on DART's predecessor, the Lone Star Regional Transportation Authority. Ray has helped us galvanize community support for regional mobility and has provided valuable leadership to our board. Those qualities have made a difference for DART and its customers."

The Pitstick award was established by the NCTCOG's Executive Board in 1993 to recognize an individual for a demonstrated commitment to regionalism. Previous honorees include former Richardson City Manager Bob Hughey, Dallas County Commissioner Chris Semos and Tarrant County Judge Tom Vandergriff.

-- 30 --