[Letter from John C. Brewer to Emma Davis, September 20, 1878] Page: 3 of 5 (Transcription)

I sold my ponie the other day and received ($60.00) for her, which I paid Pa on my school debt.

I don't know where I will work next year yet. I asked Pa to set me free and let me work for myself next year, but he wouldn't do it. He wants Dock and myself to run the farm next year, but I don't know whether we will or not. I hate to leave home worse than anybody, but I fear there is no other chance, unless we make arrangements to work the farm. I shall not leave if I can make any suitable arrangements.

Emma, I went to see the young lady I spoke to you about having

Upcoming Pages

Here’s what’s next.

upcoming item: 4 4 of 5
upcoming item: 5 5 of 5

Show all pages in this letter.

This letter can be searched. Note: Results may vary based on the legibility of text within the document.

Tools / Downloads

Get a copy of this page .

Citing and Sharing

Basic information for referencing this web page. We also provide extended guidance on usage rights, references, copying or embedding.

Reference the current page of this Letter.

Brewer, John C. [Letter from John C. Brewer to Emma Davis, September 20, 1878], letter, September 20, 1878; (texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth128723/m1/3/transcription/: accessed December 13, 2017), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, texashistory.unt.edu; crediting Private Collection of Melvin E. Brewer.