The Laws of Texas, 1931-1933 [Volume 28] Page: 57 of 2,111
The following text was automatically extracted from the image on this page using optical character recognition software:
FORTY-SECOND LEGISLATURE--FIRST CALLED SESSION. 49
means of regulated carriers and those producers disposing of
their oil and/,or gas by means of unregulated carriers.
The Commission shall at no time have authority to make any
rule or regulation, or to in any wise determine or hold that any
mode, manner, or process of refining crude oil constitutes waste.
Nothing in this Act shall require the owner of any gas and/or
oil well to curtail the production thereof unless the same is being
operated in such manner as to constitute waste as herein
defined or contributing to waste as herein defined.
SEC. 2. Article 6008 of the Revised Civil Statutes of 1925 is
hereby amended so that it shall hereafter read as follows:
Article 6008. Any party or person in possession as owner,
lessee, agent, trustee, receiver, or manager, or any person, copartnership,
or corporation in possession of any well producing
natural gas only, in order to prevent said gas from wasting by
escape, shall, within ten (10) days after encountering such gas,
confine said gas in said well until said gas shall be utilized for
light or fuel; provided, however, the Commission may permit
the use of such gas for the purpose of being introduced into an
oil or gas bearing stratum in order to maintain or increase the
rock pressure, or otherwise increase the ultimate recovery of oil
or gas from such stratum and for any other purpose which,
under circumstances surrounding each particular case, might be
found by the Commission, after hearing, to be practical and
conducive to the public welfare. Any person violating the provisions
of this Article shall be liable to a penalty of One Thousand
Dollars ($1,000.00) for each offense to be recovered with
the costs of suit in a civil action in the name of the State of
Texas, in Travis County, and each day any such violation continues
shall be a separate offense, and for which the party in
violation shall be held liable for the penalty herein prescribed.
SEC. 3. Article 6036, of the Revised Civil Statutes of 1925,
as amended by Section 4 of Chapter 313, General Laws, Regular
Session of the Forty-first Legislature, is hereby amended so as
to hereafter read as follows:
Article 6036. In addition to any penalty that may be imposed
by the Commission for contempt for the violation of its orders,
any person, firm, corporation, joint stock associations, or any
officer, agent, or employee, thereof, violating any of the provisions
of this Act or Title 102 of the Revised Civil Statutes of
1925, or of any of the rules, regulations or orders of said commission
made in pursuance thereof, shall be subject to a penalty
of not more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) for each
and every day of such violation, to be recovered in any court of
competent jurisdiction in the county in which the violation
occurs, such suit by direction of the Commission to be instituted
and conducted in the name of the State of Texas, by the
Attorney General of the State of Texas, or by the County or
District Attorney of the county in which the violation occurs.
SEC. 4. Whenever it shall appear that any party engaged in
Here’s what’s next.
This book can be searched. Note: Results may vary based on the legibility of text within the document.
Tools / Downloads
Get a copy of this page or view the extracted text.
Citing and Sharing
Basic information for referencing this web page. We also provide extended guidance on usage rights, references, copying or embedding.
Reference the current page of this Book.
Gammel, Hans Peter Mareus Neilsen. The Laws of Texas, 1931-1933 [Volume 28], book, 1933; Austin, Texas. (texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth17293/m1/57/: accessed September 21, 2017), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, texashistory.unt.edu; .