Mr. Lynch On His Way to Discover Mineral Wells

Description

This picture is a photograph of a cartoon. See also "Opening of the First Season at Mineral Wells" and "The First Well Was Dug Here in 1877." Please note the centipede, illustrated along with other forms of wildlife. Also, please note the Indians, who appear to be friendly. A.F. Weaver took this cartoon from a jocular booklet titled "Inside Story About the Waters" (q.v.) that is in the Palo Pinto County Album collection (q.v.) It is written in the nineteenth-century burlesque style, and need not be taken seriously.

Physical Description

[1] p. : ill.

Creation Information

Creator: Unknown. Creation Date: Unknown.

Context

This artwork is part of the collection entitled: A. F. Weaver Collection and was provided by Boyce Ditto Public Library to The Portal to Texas History, a digital repository hosted by the UNT Libraries. It has been viewed 42 times . More information about this work can be viewed below.

Who

People and organizations associated with either the creation of this artwork or its content.

Creator

  • We've been unable to identify the creator(s) of this work.

Rights Holders

For guidance see Citations, Rights, Re-Use.

  • Unknown

Audiences

Check out our Resources for Educators Site! We've identified this artwork as a primary source within our collections. Researchers, educators, and students may find this work useful in their work.

Provided By

Boyce Ditto Public Library

The Boyce Ditto Public Library materials include local history from the A. F. Weaver Collection featuring resort souvenir guides and photos of Mineral Wells from its founding to the present. There is extensive coverage of the Hexagon House, the Baker Hotel, Camp/Fort Wolters and the many mineral wells that made the city a major resort in the first half of the 20th Century.

Contact Us

What

Descriptive information to help identify this artwork. Follow the links below to find similar items on the Portal.

Description

This picture is a photograph of a cartoon. See also "Opening of the First Season at Mineral Wells" and "The First Well Was Dug Here in 1877." Please note the centipede, illustrated along with other forms of wildlife. Also, please note the Indians, who appear to be friendly.
A.F. Weaver took this cartoon from a jocular booklet titled "Inside Story About the Waters" (q.v.) that is in the Palo Pinto County Album collection (q.v.) It is written in the nineteenth-century burlesque style, and need not be taken seriously.

Physical Description

[1] p. : ill.

Subjects

Keywords

University of North Texas Libraries Browse Structure

Language

Item Type

Identifier

Unique identifying numbers for this work in the Portal or other systems.

Collections

This work is part of the following collection of related materials.

A. F. Weaver Collection

This colorful panorama covers the founding of Mineral Wells through its mercurial growth as a resort center and army town up to the present. A. F. Weaver was a photographer and local historian, and the collection includes photographs that he took as well as photographs he copied from local families and established research sources.

What responsibilities do I have when using this artwork?

When

Dates and time periods associated with this artwork.

Creation Date

  • Unknown

None Date

  • October 16, 2006

Covered Time Period

Added to The Portal to Texas History

  • Nov. 27, 2006, 9:41 p.m.

Description Last Updated

  • March 26, 2012, 9:56 a.m.

Usage Statistics

When was this work last used?

Yesterday: 0
Past 30 days: 0
Total Uses: 42

Where

Geographical information about where this artwork originated or about its content.

Map Information

  • map marker Automatically generated Place Name coordinates.
  • Repositioning map may be required for optimal printing.

Mapped Locations

Interact With This Artwork

Here are some suggestions for what to do next.

Enlarge

Citations, Rights, Re-Use

Mr. Lynch On His Way to Discover Mineral Wells, artwork, Date Unknown; (texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth20225/: accessed August 26, 2016), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, texashistory.unt.edu; crediting Boyce Ditto Public Library.