The First Well Was Dug Here in 1877

Description

This photograph illustrates a cartoon. "1880" is written in ink at bottom of the photograph, evidently in correction of the cartoon. Lynch arrived in what would later be Mineral Wells in 1877. His first well, dug to forty-one feet in 1878, was dry. The second well, drilled deeper, was in 1880. Please see also "Opening of the First Season at Mineral Wells" and "Mr. Lynch on His Way to Discover Mineral Wells." The cartoon appears to have been taken by A. F. Weaver from a jocular booklet titled "Inside Story About the Waters" which is in the holdings of the ...

Creation Information

Creator: Unknown. Creation Date: Unknown.

Context

This artwork is part of the collection entitled: A. F. Weaver Collection and was provided by Boyce Ditto Public Library to The Portal to Texas History, a digital repository hosted by the UNT Libraries. It has been viewed 63 times . More information about this work can be viewed below.

Who

People and organizations associated with either the creation of this artwork or its content.

Creator

  • We've been unable to identify the creator(s) of this work.

Rights Holders

For guidance see Citations, Rights, Re-Use.

  • Unknown

Audiences

Check out our Resources for Educators Site! We've identified this artwork as a primary source within our collections. Researchers, educators, and students may find this work useful in their work.

Provided By

Boyce Ditto Public Library

The Boyce Ditto Public Library materials include local history from the A. F. Weaver Collection featuring resort souvenir guides and photos of Mineral Wells from its founding to the present. There is extensive coverage of the Hexagon House, the Baker Hotel, Camp/Fort Wolters and the many mineral wells that made the city a major resort in the first half of the 20th Century.

Contact Us

What

Descriptive information to help identify this artwork. Follow the links below to find similar items on the Portal.

Description

This photograph illustrates a cartoon. "1880" is written in ink at bottom of the photograph, evidently in correction of the cartoon. Lynch arrived in what would later be Mineral Wells in 1877. His first well, dug to forty-one feet in 1878, was dry. The second well, drilled deeper, was in 1880. Please see also "Opening of the First Season at Mineral Wells" and "Mr. Lynch on His Way to Discover Mineral Wells."
The cartoon appears to have been taken by A. F. Weaver from a jocular booklet titled "Inside Story About the Waters" which is in the holdings of the Palo Pinto County Album (q.v.). The booklet was written in the nineteenth-century burlesque tradition, and Weaver makes no comment on the cartoon or the booklet.

Subjects

Keywords

University of North Texas Libraries Browse Structure

Language

Item Type

Identifier

Unique identifying numbers for this work in the Portal or other systems.

Collections

This work is part of the following collection of related materials.

A. F. Weaver Collection

This colorful panorama covers the founding of Mineral Wells through its mercurial growth as a resort center and army town up to the present. A. F. Weaver was a photographer and local historian, and the collection includes photographs that he took as well as photographs he copied from local families and established research sources.

What responsibilities do I have when using this artwork?

When

Dates and time periods associated with this artwork.

Creation Date

  • Unknown

Covered Time Period

Coverage Date

Added to The Portal to Texas History

  • Nov. 27, 2006, 9:41 p.m.

Description Last Updated

  • July 23, 2012, 11:08 a.m.

Usage Statistics

When was this work last used?

Yesterday: 0
Past 30 days: 0
Total Uses: 63

Where

Geographical information about where this artwork originated or about its content.

Map Information

  • map marker Automatically generated Place Name coordinates.
  • Repositioning map may be required for optimal printing.

Mapped Locations

Interact With This Artwork

Here are some suggestions for what to do next.

Enlarge

Citations, Rights, Re-Use

The First Well Was Dug Here in 1877, artwork, Date Unknown; (texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth20226/: accessed August 24, 2016), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, texashistory.unt.edu; crediting Boyce Ditto Public Library.