Inventory of the county archives of Texas : De Witt County, no. 62 Page: 89

$* Y~~~~~~~~~
89 Constitutional
Provisions and Laws Specifically
Applicable to De Witt County
District court of 22d judicial district directed to meet in county on
last Mondays in September, January, and May of each year, and permitted
to continue in session there 3 weeks. T.A., Aug. 10, 1870, ibid., VI,
F. E. Grothaus, a resident of De Witt County, named as a director and incorporator
of the Indianola, San Antonio and El Paso Railroad Company.
T.A., Apr. 3, 1871, ibid., VI, 1212.
Cuero Bridge Company, with J. C. French, J. M. Brownson, R. J. Jones,
directors, incorporated with powers to construct a substantial bridge of
wood or iron across the Guadalupe River near confluence of Sandies Creek
in the county, to open the approaches, and to demand certain enumerated
tolls. T.A., Apr. 12, 1871, ibid., VI, 1276.
Gymnastic Association of Yorktown incorporated, with incorporators, C, H.
Heissig, Jacob Guggenheim, C. Dahlman, L. Riedesel, Hermann Kurst, H.
Menn, Ch. Stephen, Jack Friar, T. H. Chote, Herman Eckhardt; for "gymnastic
purposes., and for the encouragement of bodily exercise and for other
purposes." T.A., Apr. 27, 1871, ibid., VI, 1366.
Casino Society of Yorktown not permitted to pursue any occupation for
.which a license tax required, except lectures, artistic exhibitions, and
dramatic performances given in Casino house in Yorktown. T.A., May 3,
1871, ibid., VI, 1407.
Town of Yorktown incorporated; boundaries established; organization provided
for; powers and duties of officials defined. T.A., May 22, 1871,
ibid., VI, 1586.
Yorktown Fire Comapny No. 1, a steam fire company numbering 20 members,
incorporated in town of Yorktown, with Julius Meyer, A. Burow, B. Burow,
.J Reuser, R. Gohmert, incorporators; active members exempted from jury
r-^ ~ duty except in capital cases; life of corporation limited to 39 years.
T.A., Oct. 16, 1871, ibid., VII, 140.
Casino Society of Yorktown incorporated, with incorporators, Louis Lenz,
F. Bauer, Robert Eckhardt, M. Reidel, F. Lettler, Berthold Gohmert, R.
Gohmert, and associates; "for promotion of education and sciences, as
well as social intercourse and amusement." T.A., Nov. 25, 1871, ibid.,
VII, 213.
County placed in 17th judicial district; district court thereof directed
to meet in county on 1st Mondays in April, August, and December of each
year, and permitted to continue in session there until business disposed
of. T.A., Nov. 25, 1871, ibid., VII, 34.
Town of Cuero incorporated; boundaries established; powers and duties of
officers--mayor, recorder, marshal, and five aldermen--defined; first
election set for 1st Monday in June 1873. T.A., Apr. 23, 1873, ibid.,
VII, 996.

Upcoming Pages

Here’s what’s next.

upcoming item: 98 98 of 131
upcoming item: 99 99 of 131
upcoming item: 100 100 of 131
upcoming item: 101 101 of 131

Show all pages in this book.

This book can be searched. Note: Results may vary based on the legibility of text within the document.

Tools / Downloads

Get a copy of this page .

Citing and Sharing

Basic information for referencing this web page. We also provide extended guidance on usage rights, references, copying or embedding.

Reference the current page of this Book.

Historical Records Survey. Texas. Inventory of the county archives of Texas : De Witt County, no. 62, book, January 1940; San Antonio, Tex.. ( accessed September 23, 2018), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History,; .

International Image Interoperability Framework (This Page)