HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The life of a distinguished legal scholar and 1 2 educator drew to a close with the passing of Angus McSwain, dean emeritus of Baylor Law School, who passed away on May 29, 2011; and 3 4 WHEREAS, Born in 1923, Mr. McSwain graduated from Stephen F. 5 Austin High School in Bryan; he enrolled at Texas A&M University but interrupted his studies to serve in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 6 during World War II; following the war, he completed his civil 8 engineering degree at A&M in 1947 and graduated cum laude two years later with his bachelor of laws degree from Baylor, where he was 9 10 first in his class; he went on to receive a master of laws degree 11 from the University of Michigan; and 12 WHEREAS, Mr. McSwain became a professor at Baylor Law School in 1949; he was appointed dean in 1965 and guided the institution 13 14 for the next 19 years; during his tenure, he maintained the high academic standards that are the hallmark of Baylor Law School and 15 16 helped to bring in a number of outstanding faculty members; and WHEREAS, After returning to teaching in 1984, Dean McSwain 17 became the Governor Bill and Vara Faye Daniel Chair of Property Law, 18 and he received the Master Teacher designation, Baylor's highest 19 20 teaching honor, in 1990; his official retirement came four years later, but this remarkable professor continued to conduct classes 21 until 2008, when he marked his 59th year with the law school; and 22 WHEREAS, A highly respected figure in the Texas legal 23 community, he served as both secretary and chair of the Family Law 24

H.C.R. No. 180

- 1 Section of the Texas Bar Association and was the author of numerous
- 2 articles for the Texas Bar Journal as well as textbooks and
- 3 casebooks; in all of his endeavors, he enjoyed the love and support
- 4 of his wife, Betty Ann, who preceded him in death, and his son,
- 5 Andy, who followed in his father's footsteps as a Baylor Law
- 6 graduate; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Angus McSwain influenced generations of Baylor Law
- 8 School students with his unwavering commitment to excellence, and
- 9 his legacy will continue to resonate for years to come; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 12 hereby pay tribute to the life of Dean Emeritus Angus McSwain and
- 13 extend deepest condolences to the members of his family: to his son,
- 14 Andy McSwain, and his wife, Chris; to his grandson, Stewart
- 15 McSwain; and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 18 Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of
- 19 Dean Angus McSwain.

Hughes Eiland Lewis Kleinschmidt

H.C.R. No. 180

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Straus Aliseda Gonzalez Munoz, Jr. Allen Gooden Murphy Guillen Alonzo Naishtat Gutierrez Alvarado Nash Anchia Hamilton Oliveira Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Aycock Harless Parker Beck Harper-Brown **Patrick** Berman Hartnett Paxton Bohac Hernandez Luna Pena Perry Bonnen Hilderbran Branch Hochberg Phillips Brown Hopson **Pickett** Burkett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Burnam Howard of Travis Price Huberty Quintanilla **Button** Hughes Raymond Cain Reynolds Callegari Hunter Carter Isaac Riddle Castro Jackson Ritter Johnson Rodriguez Chisum Christian Keffer Schwertner King of Parker Coleman Scott King of Taylor Cook Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Darby Kuempel Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Landtroop J. Davis of Harris Larson Smithee S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons Deshotel Lavender Strama Driver Legler Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Dukes Lewis Dutton Lozano Thompson Eiland Lucio III Torres Eissler Lyne Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Veasey Farias Mallory Caraway Villarreal Farrar Margo Fletcher Marquez ۷o Martinez Walle Flynn Martinez Fischer Weber Frullo McClendon White Gallego Woolley Garza Menendez Geren Miles Workman Miller of Comal Zedler Giddings

Zerwas

Miller of Erath

Gonzales of Hidalgo

H.C.R. No. 180

roarid Kewhurst

President of the Senate

I certify that H.C.R. No. 180 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 30, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 180 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the Senate on May 30, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

ADDROVED.

17 JUN'11

Date

RICK Peeey

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

Jany1_____O'CLOCK

Secretary of State