## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Regents School of Austin football team reached
- 2 the pinnacle of success by winning the Texas Association of Private
- 3 and Parochial Schools Division III state football championship for
- 4 2010; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In the title game held December 4, 2010, at Temple
- 6 Wildcat Stadium, the Knights put on an unstoppable display of
- 7 offensive firepower to defeat Bullard Brook Hill 38-7; with this
- 8 victory, Regents became the first school in the history of TAPPS to
- 9 garner five state football titles in one decade, having previously
- 10 won titles in six-man football in 2001, 2002, and 2003 and in 11-man
- 11 football in 2006; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Head coach Beck Brydon guided the Knights to an
- 13 overall record of 14 wins and 1 loss over the course of the 2010
- 14 season, and the squad outscored opponents 725 to 256; Coach
- 15 Brydon's efforts were supported by a strong coaching staff that
- 16 includes Clay Carter, Sam Thompson, Scott Franklin, Mike Lapaglia,
- 17 Landon Durham, Guy Grace, and Steve Chapman; and
- WHEREAS, To bring home the state title, the Regents team
- 19 relied on outstanding performances from each member of the roster:
- 20 Salim Hajjar, Dawson Gamble, Joseph Benigno, Ben Grunau, Ben Adams,
- 21 John Bauman, Andrew Meynig, Walker Netherton, Carson Rice, Hunter
- 22 Hogan, Jason Chapman, Matthew Baughman, Caleb Smith, Luke Moore,
- 23 Cole Gilmore, Nick Pawelka, Matthew Deskins, Douglas Meynig, Rodney
- 24 Keller, Turner Whatley, Gentry Snow, Joseph Edling, Jim Grace, Matt

- 1 Gore, Connor Kelly, Justin Lambert, Robert Feller, Brandon Larner,
- 2 Brian Hine, Stafford Sadler, Caleb Kyle, Chase Strickland, Will
- 3 Bowers, Carson Klubnik, and JD McBee; and
- 4 WHEREAS, These hardworking young athletes maintained a firm
- 5 focus on their goals, undeterred by any obstacles that stood in
- 6 their way; through their diligence, resolve, and commitment to
- 7 excellence, they have furthered the Knights' exceptional tradition
- 8 of achievement on the gridiron, and their accomplishments are a
- 9 source of pride to their families and fellow students; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 12 hereby congratulate the Regents School of Austin football team on
- 13 winning the 2010 TAPPS Division III state championship and extend
- 14 to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for
- 15 continued success; and, be it further
- 16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 18 House of Representatives and Senate.

Workman

Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Munoz, Jr. Aliseda Gonzalez Allen Gooden Murphy Guillen Naishtat Alonzo Alvarado Gutierrez Nash Oliveira Anchia Hamilton Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Parker Aycock Harless Beck Harper-Brown Patrick Berman Hartnett Paxton Bohac Hernandez Luna Pena Bonnen Hilderbran Perry Phillips Branch Hochberg Brown Hopson **Pickett** Burkett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Howard of Travis Burnam Price **Button** Huberty Quintanilla Cain Hughes Raymond Callegari Hunter Reynolds Carter Isaac Riddle Castro Jackson Ritter Chisum Johnson Rodriquez Christian Keffer Schwertner King of Parker Scott Coleman Cook King of Taylor Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Darby Kuempel Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas Landtroop Smith of Tarrant J. Davis of Harris Smithee Larson S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons Deshotel Lavender Strama Taylor of Collin Driver Legler Dukes Lewis Taylor of Galveston Thompson Dutton Lozano Eiland Lucio III Torres Eissler Lyne Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Veasey **Farias** Mallory Caraway Villarreal Farrar Margo Marquez Fletcher Vo Flynn Martinez Walle Martinez Fischer Frullo Weber Gallego McClendon White Garza Menendez Woolley Geren Workman Miles Giddings Miller of Comal Zedler Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas

ravial Demhurs

President of the Senate

I certify that H.C.R. No. 62 was adopted by the House on March

Speaker of the House

3, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 62 was adopted by the Senate on March 24, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_

7 APR. 11

Date

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

APR 07 2017

Secretary of State