Palace Theater rebuilt 1937

Description

The Palace Theater was opened in 1937 after a previous theater was destroyed by fire. The theater was opened and operated by Mrs. Mable Phipps, widow of F. M. Phipps, and G. R. Layton, son of the late G. S. Layton.

Physical Description

1 photograph : b&w ; 8 x 10 in.

Creation Information

Creator: Unknown. Creation Date: Unknown.

Context

This photograph is part of the collection entitled: Rescuing Texas History, 2007 and was provided by Childress County Heritage Museum to The Portal to Texas History, a digital repository hosted by the UNT Libraries. It has been viewed 162 times . More information about this photograph can be viewed below.

Who

People and organizations associated with either the creation of this photograph or its content.

Creator

  • We've been unable to identify the creator(s) of this photograph.

Audiences

Check out our Resources for Educators Site! We've identified this photograph as a primary source within our collections. Researchers, educators, and students may find this photograph useful in their work.

Provided By

Childress County Heritage Museum

Since 1983, the Museum has recorded the history and preserved historical artifacts of the county, named after co-author of the Texas Declaration of Independence George C. Childress. The building that houses the Museum is of Spanish Colonial style and received Texas Historical Landmark designation in 1991.

Contact Us

What

Descriptive information to help identify this photograph. Follow the links below to find similar items on the Portal.

Description

The Palace Theater was opened in 1937 after a previous theater was destroyed by fire. The theater was opened and operated by Mrs. Mable Phipps, widow of F. M. Phipps, and G. R. Layton, son of the late G. S. Layton.

Physical Description

1 photograph : b&w ; 8 x 10 in.

Notes

The Palace built in 1926 was heavily damaged by fire in 1934. It was remodeled and reopened in two months. 18 months later it was completely destroyed by fire. Members of the extended Phipps and Layton families operated the Palace until 1988. Other theaters owned and operated by the Phipps and Layton families from 1911 to 1988 included the Monogram, the Gem, the Car-Vu (drive-in theater), and a theater at Childress Army Air Field during WWII.

Subjects

Keywords

University of North Texas Libraries Browse Structure

Item Type

Identifier

Unique identifying numbers for this photograph in the Portal or other systems.

Collections

This photograph is part of the following collection of related materials.

Rescuing Texas History, 2007

The 2007 edition of Rescuing Texas History brings together photographs, postcards, letters, and more to give a glimpse into the rich history of the state.

What responsibilities do I have when using this photograph?

When

Dates and time periods associated with this photograph.

Creation Date

  • Unknown

Covered Time Period

Start & End Dates

  • 1937~ - 1988~

Added to The The Portal to Texas History

  • Feb. 18, 2008, 9:39 p.m.

Description Last Updated

  • March 1, 2017, 3:14 p.m.

Usage Statistics

When was this photograph last used?

Yesterday: 0
Past 30 days: 1
Total Uses: 162

Where

Geographical information about where this photograph originated or about its content.

Map Information

  • map marker Automatically generated Place Name coordinates.
  • Repositioning map may be required for optimal printing.

Mapped Locations

Interact With This Photograph

Here are some suggestions for what to do next.

Enlarge

Citations, Rights, Re-Use

Palace Theater rebuilt 1937, photograph, Date Unknown; (texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth34606/: accessed August 19, 2017), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, texashistory.unt.edu; crediting Childress County Heritage Museum.