R. B. Cousins, Pres., W.T.S.N.C., Canyon, Texas

Description

Photograph of the West Texas State Normal College Administration Building with a portrait of college president R. B. Cousins superimposed on the upper right. The image shows the front and one side of the building and the surrounding grounds, which include numerous small trees, a road and pathway enclosed by a rail fence. On the reversed is a printed message signed "Britain and Wife," promoting their photographic studio in Canyon, Texas.

Physical Description

1 photograph : b&w ; 10 x 15 cm.

Creation Information

Photo Car Studio 1917.

Context

This photograph is part of the collection entitled: Education in the Texas Panhandle, 1880-1930 and was provided by the Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum to The Portal to Texas History, a digital repository hosted by the UNT Libraries. It has been viewed 96 times. More information about this photograph can be viewed below.

Who

People and organizations associated with either the creation of this photograph or its content.

Photographer

Named Person

Person who is significant in some way to the content of this photograph. Additional names may appear in Subjects below.

Audiences

Check out our Resources for Educators Site! We've identified this photograph as a primary source within our collections. Researchers, educators, and students may find this photograph useful in their work.

Provided By

Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum

The Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum opened in 1933 to showcase the artifacts, art, and archives that document the history and culture of the Texas Panhandle and surrounding plains regions. The Museum is located at the West Texas A&M University campus in Canyon.

Contact Us

What

Descriptive information to help identify this photograph. Follow the links below to find similar items on the Portal.

Description

Photograph of the West Texas State Normal College Administration Building with a portrait of college president R. B. Cousins superimposed on the upper right. The image shows the front and one side of the building and the surrounding grounds, which include numerous small trees, a road and pathway enclosed by a rail fence. On the reversed is a printed message signed "Britain and Wife," promoting their photographic studio in Canyon, Texas.

Physical Description

1 photograph : b&w ; 10 x 15 cm.

Language

Item Type

Identifier

Unique identifying numbers for this photograph in the Portal or other systems.

Collections

This photograph is part of the following collection of related materials.

Education in the Texas Panhandle, 1880-1930

Photographs of educators, students, school buildings and activities show the growth of educational endeavors, from one-room schools to colleges, within the Texas Panhandle.

What responsibilities do I have when using this photograph?

When

Dates and time periods associated with this photograph.

Creation Date

  • 1917

Added to The Portal to Texas History

  • April 9, 2014, 2:59 p.m.

Description Last Updated

  • Aug. 19, 2019, 9:40 a.m.

Usage Statistics

When was this photograph last used?

Yesterday: 0
Past 30 days: 2
Total Uses: 96

Where

Geographical information about where this photograph originated or about its content.

Map Information

  • map marker Place Name coordinates. (May be approximate.)
  • Repositioning map may be required for optimal printing.

Help Map this Photograph

Tell us if you know the precise location of this item. In the lower-left corner of map below, select either the pin () or the box (). Drop a pin or drag to create a new rectangle. Zoom and Pan the map as needed.

Mapped Locations

Interact With This Photograph

Here are some suggestions for what to do next.

Start Viewing

International Image Interoperability Framework

IIF Logo

We support the IIIF Presentation API

Photo Car Studio. R. B. Cousins, Pres., W.T.S.N.C., Canyon, Texas, photograph, 1917; (https://texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth403039/: accessed May 17, 2024), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, https://texashistory.unt.edu; crediting Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum.

Back to Top of Screen