HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texans today have a renewed belief that the
- 2 government closest to the people is the best government; and
- 3 WHEREAS, No other level of government is more accountable and
- 4 responsive on a daily basis to "We the People" than Texas cities;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, Texas cities provide critical services such as
- 7 police and fire protection, as well as the collection and disposal
- 8 of garbage, ensuring that citizens have safe cities in which to live
- 9 and work; and
- WHEREAS, Texas cities are the first, and often only, engine
- 11 of economic development in the state, attracting businesses and
- 12 providing infrastructure for those businesses to be successful; and
- WHEREAS, Texas cities constantly strive to keep driving
- 14 conditions safe and work tirelessly to maintain city streets,
- 15 street lights, and sidewalks; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Texas cities provide safe, clean, and reliable
- 17 drinking water, as well as investments in drinking water and
- 18 wastewater infrastructure to protect public health and ensure that
- 19 there is an adequate water supply to support the state's growing
- 20 population, businesses, and industries; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Texas cities also provide parks and libraries that
- 22 improve the quality of life for individuals and the overall
- 23 community; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The services that cities are called on to provide by

H.C.R. No. 33

- 1 the citizens of Texas reflect the will of local taxpayers and allow
- 2 people to live and work in close proximity; and
- WHEREAS, Those who are elected and serve at the local level do
- 4 so largely on a voluntary basis and are best suited to determine
- 5 what their individual communities look like; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 7 hereby recognize this day as Municipal Government Day at the State
- 8 Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for an
- 9 informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Larson

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Alonzo Gooden Otto Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Anderson Gutierrez Patrick Ashby Harless Perez Aycock Harper-Brown Perry Bell Phillips Hernandez Luna Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Burkett Ratliff Hughes Burnam Hunter Raymond Button Isaac Reynolds Callegari Johnson Riddle Canales **Kacal** Ritter Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis King of Parker Clardy Rose Coleman King of Taylor Sanford Collier King of Zavala Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Craddick Sheffield of Coryell Kolkhorst Creighton Krause Simmons Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Larson Smith Darby Smithee Laubenberg Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Stickland Lewis Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Taylor Lozano Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris Elkins Martinez Toth Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin Farias McClendon Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Farney Menendez Farrar Miles Villalba Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Flynn Vo Frank Moody Walle Frullo White Morrison Munoz, Jr. Geren Workman Giddings Murphy Wu Zedler Goldman Naishtat Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas

round Sunhurst

President of the Senate

H.C.R. No. 33

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 33 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the How

I certify that H.C.R. No. 33 was adopted by the Senate on February 6, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

21 Feb 13
Date

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE
O'CLOCK

FEB 21 2013

Secretary of State