## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, Words cannot express the heartache felt at the loss
- 2 of U.S. Army Sergeant Tanner S. Higgins of Yantis, who died while
- 3 bravely serving his country on April 14, 2012, at the age of 23; and
- WHEREAS, Assigned to the 1st Battalion, 75th Ranger Regiment,
- 5 Hunter Army Airfield, Georgia, Sergeant Higgins lost his life in
- 6 Logar, Afghanistan; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to this
- 8 nation's servicemen and servicewomen, who make immeasurable
- 9 sacrifices for their country and who risk their very lives in its
- 10 behalf; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed
- 12 forces, Tanner S. Higgins inspired others with his fortitude,
- 13 tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives
- 14 of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic
- 15 Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 17 hereby pay tribute to the life of Sergeant Tanner S. Higgins and
- 18 extend sincere sympathy to all those who mourn his passing; and, be
- 19 it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 22 Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of
- 23 U.S. Army Sergeant Tanner S. Higgins.

Menendez

## H.C.R. No. 145

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo	M. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison	
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren Giddings	Munoz, Jr. Murphy	ฟีน
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler Zerwas
Gonzales	Nevarez	CEI MO2

varid Newhurst

President of the Senate

H.C.R. No. 145

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 145 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 16, 2013.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 145 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the Senate on May 21, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: 25 MAY 13

Date

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

\_\_\_\_\_\_O'CLOCK

MAY 2 5 2013

Secretary of State