H.C.R. No. 202

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot express the heartache felt at the loss 2 of U.S. Army Specialist Omar Soltero of San Antonio, who died while 3 bravely serving his country on January 31, 2011, at the age of 28; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, Assigned to the 2nd Battalion, 4th Infantry 6 Regiment, 4th Brigade Combat Team, 10th Mountain Division, Fort 7 Polk, Louisiana, Specialist Soltero lost his life in Wardak 8 Province, Afghanistan; and

9 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to this 10 nation's servicemen and servicewomen, who make immeasurable 11 sacrifices for their country and who risk their very lives in its 12 behalf; and

WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed forces, Omar Soltero inspired others with his fortitude, tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas 19 hereby pay tribute to the life of Specialist Omar Soltero and extend 20 sincere sympathy to all those who mourn his passing; and, be it 21 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of

1

H.C.R. No. 202

Menendez

1 U.S. Army Specialist Omar Soltero.

.

H.C.R. No. 202

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman ີຟີາງ Zedler Zerwas

ravid Sewhurst

President of the Senate

H.C.R. No. 202 aus Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 202 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 23, 201

ane Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 202 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the Senate on May 23, 2013.

Secretaryof the Senate



Date ICK PERY Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE __O'CLOCK <u>Iupm</u> JUN 1 4 2013 La Secretary of State