H.C.R. No. 192

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot express the heartache felt at the loss 2 of U.S. Army Sergeant John E. Hansen of Austin, who died while 3 bravely serving his country on July 26, 2012, at the age of 41; and

WHEREAS, Assigned to the 2nd Battalion, 17th Field Artillery
Regiment, 2nd Stryker Brigade Combat Team, 2nd Infantry Division,
Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington, Sergeant Hansen lost his life
in Khakrez, Afghanistan; and

8 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to this 9 nation's servicemen and servicewomen, who make immeasurable 10 sacrifices for their country and who risk their very lives in its 11 behalf; and

WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed forces, John E. Hansen inspired others with his fortitude, tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas 18 hereby pay tribute to the life of Sergeant John E. Hansen and extend 19 sincere sympathy to all those who mourn his passing; and, be it 20 further

1

H.C.R. No. 192

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 2 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 3 Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of 4 U.S. Army Sergeant John E. Hansen.

Menendez

H.C.R. No. 192

Oliveira

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

M. Gonzalez of El Paso

Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

varia Deuburst

President of the Senate

H.C.R. No. 192 Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 192 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 16, 2013.

and Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 192 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the Senate on May 21, 2013.

Secretary of the Senate



Date

RICK Peeey Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE 2 O'CLOCK íay 25 2013 coretary of State