H.C.R. No. 169

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot express the heartache felt at the loss
- 2 of U.S. Army First Sergeant Russell R. Bell of Tyler, who died while
- 3 bravely serving his country on August 2, 2012, at the age of 37; and
- WHEREAS, Assigned to the 1st Battalion, 508th Parachute
- 5 Infantry Regiment, 4th Brigade Combat Team, 82nd Airborne Division,
- 6 Fort Bragg, North Carolina, First Sergeant Bell lost his life in
- 7 Kandahar Province, Afghanistan; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to this
- 9 nation's servicemen and servicewomen, who make immeasurable
- 10 sacrifices for their country and who risk their very lives in its
- 11 behalf; and
- WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed
- 13 forces, Russell R. Bell inspired others with his fortitude,
- 14 tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives
- 15 of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic
- 16 Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 18 hereby pay tribute to the life of First Sergeant Russell R. Bell and
- 19 extend sincere sympathy to all those who mourn his passing; and, be
- 20 it further

H.C.R. No. 169

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 3 Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of
- 4 U.S. Army First Sergeant Russell R. Bell.

Menendez

H.C.R. No. 169

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Alonzo Gooden Otto Alvarado Guerra Paddie Anchia Guillen Parker Anderson Gutierrez Patrick Ashby Harless Perez Perry Aycock Harper-Brown Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips Bohac Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Burkett Hughes Ratliff Burnam Hunter Raymond Button Reynolds Isaac Callegari Johnson Riddle Canales Kacal Ritter Capriglione Rodriguez of Bexar Keffer Rodriguez of Travis Carter King of Hemphill Clardy King of Parker Rose Coleman King of Taylor Sanford Collier King of Zavala Schaefer Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Creighton Krause Simmons Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Larson Smith Darby Laubenberg Smithee Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Lozano Taylor Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria Eiland Thompson of Harris Marquez Elkins Martinez Toth Turner of Collin Fallon Martinez Fischer McClendon Turner of Harris Farias Turner of Tarrant Farney Menendez Farrar Miles Villalba Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Vo Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Moody Walle Frank Frullo White Morrison Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Wu Giddings Murphy Zedler Goldman Naishtat Zerwas Gonzales Nevarez

President of the Senate

H.C.R. No. 169

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 169 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 16, 2013

Chief Clerk of the Hous

I certify that H.C.R. No. 169 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the Senate on May 21, 2013.

> Secretary & Senate

APPROVED: 25 MAY '13

Date

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE 7pm o'clock

MAY 25 2013