HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A superb Lone Star athlete set a new standard of
- 2 excellence when Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M University was named
- 3 the winner of the 2012 Heisman Trophy, becoming the first freshman
- 4 ever to earn that prestigious award; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Manziel's recognition as the top college player
- 6 in the nation followed his exceptional debut season as the
- 7 quarterback of the Aggies; with his gutsy determination and
- 8 outstanding abilities as a playmaker, he earned the admiration of
- 9 everyone who witnessed his thrilling gridiron achievements, and he
- 10 soon became known by the nickname that sums up his no-nonsense
- 11 approach to the game: "Johnny Football"; and
- WHEREAS, The son of Paul and Michelle Manziel, Johnathan Paul
- 13 Manziel was raised in Kerrville, where he was a standout
- 14 quarterback at Tivy High School; he gained national recognition as
- 15 a senior and was voted Player of the Year in a national coaches
- 16 poll; though some believed that he lacked the size to succeed in
- 17 college competition, he received a scholarship from Texas A&M
- 18 University and won the starting quarterback job before the start of
- 19 the 2012 season; and
- WHEREAS, With his pinpoint throws and elusive running,
- 21 Mr. Manziel ignited the Aggie offense, and he was especially
- 22 effective at darting downfield for long gains, leaving defenders
- 23 scattered in his wake; his breakout performance came in his second
- 24 game, when he racked up six touchdowns to defeat Southern Methodist

- 1 University, and Texas A&M went on to tally a total of 217 points
- 2 while winning its next four contests; and
- WHEREAS, One of the biggest highlights for this phenomenal
- 4 freshman came in the showdown with undefeated and No. 1-ranked
- 5 Alabama on November 10; playing with cool composure in the national
- 6 spotlight, he directed his team to 20 first-quarter points, and the
- 7 Aggies knocked off the Crimson Tide by a score of 29-24; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Over the course of the 2012 campaign, Mr. Manziel
- 9 rewrote the record books; he is the first freshman and only the
- 10 fifth person in NCAA history to compile 3,000 passing yards and
- 11 1,000 rushing yards in a season; in addition, he holds the
- 12 Southeastern Conference game and season records for most total
- 13 yardage, and he set new Texas A&M marks for total yards, rushing
- 14 yards by a quarterback, and passing yards in a single game; along
- 15 the way, he led his team to 10 triumphs in the regular season and an
- 16 appearance in the Cotton Bowl; and
- 17 WHEREAS, In becoming the second Aggie to win the Heisman
- 18 Trophy, Johnny Manziel has joined the most elite fraternity in
- 19 college football, and his accomplishment is a source of great pride
- 20 and excitement to his countless fans in the Lone Star State; now,
- 21 therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 23 hereby congratulate Johnny Manziel on winning the 2012 Heisman
- 24 Trophy and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success;
- 25 and, be it further
- 26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 27 prepared for Mr. Manziel as an expression of high regard by the

H.C.R. No. 2

1 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Hilderbran Raney King of Zavala Crownover Larson Herrero

H.C.R. No. 2

Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr Alonzo Gooden Otto Alvarado Guerra Paddie Guillen Anchia Parker Anderson Gutierrez Patrick Harless Ashby Perez Perry Aycock Harper-Brown Phillips Bell Hernandez Luna **Bohac** Herrero Pickett Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price Branch Huberty Raney Burkett Hughes Ratliff Burnam Hunter Raymond Button Isaac Reynolds Callegari Johnson Riddle Canales Kacal Ritter Keffer Capriglione Rodriquez of Bexar King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis Carter Clardy King of Parker Rose King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Coleman Sanford Collier Schaefer Cook Sheets Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell Creighton Krause Simmons Crownover Kuempel Simpson Dale Larson Smith Darby Laubenberg Smithee Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland Deshotel Longoria Strama Dukes Taylor Lozano Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Eiland Marquez Elkins Martinez Toth Turner of Collin Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Harris McClendon Farias Turner of Tarrant Farney Menendez Villalba Miles Farrar Miller of Comal Villarreal Fletcher Miller of Fort Bend Vo Flynn Walle Frank Moody Morrison White Frullo Workman Geren Munoz, Jr. Wii Giddings Murphy Naishtat Zedler Goldman Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas

President of the Senate

H.C.R. No. 2

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 2 was adopted by the House on February 6, 2013, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 2 was adopted by the Senate on February 11, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.

> Secretary Senate

21 Feb'13

HERRY Gig'em

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

Secretary of State