HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Distinguished representatives of the Texas Tech
- 2 University System are gathering at the State Capitol on February
- 3 20, 2013, to celebrate the system's vital role in the Lone Star
- 4 State; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The TTU System, governed by a nine-member board of
- 6 regents and chancellor Kent Hance, consists of Texas Tech
- 7 University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, and
- 8 Angelo State University; the system currently educates more than
- 9 43,500 students, employs some 17,000 faculty and staff members, and
- 10 counts nearly 290,000 alumni; according to a 2012 report, the
- 11 system generated a statewide economic impact of more than \$7
- 12 billion in 2011; and
- WHEREAS, Looking to the future, the system has developed five
- 14 strategic priorities, including improving access to education and
- 15 promoting learning, strengthening the academic excellence of
- 16 member institutions, expanding knowledge through research, serving
- 17 its communities, and effectively managing its resources; and
- WHEREAS, Each component of the system provides innovative
- 19 educational opportunities; Texas Tech University is a major
- 20 comprehensive research university, led by interim president Dr.
- 21 Lawrence Schovanec; enrolling more than 32,000 students in 11
- 22 colleges and 2 schools, TTU offers more than 100 undergraduate
- 23 programs, over 100 master's programs, and nearly 60 doctoral
- 24 programs, and it is among a select group of institutions to shelter

- 1 a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa; and
- WHEREAS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center is
- 3 composed of the TTUHSC School of Medicine, the School of Allied
- 4 Health Sciences, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the
- 5 School of Nursing, the School of Pharmacy, the Paul L. Foster School
- 6 of Medicine in El Paso, and the new Gayle Greve Hunt School of
- 7 Nursing in El Paso, which admitted its first class in the fall of
- 8 2011; overseen by Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, TTUHSC enrolls more than
- 9 4,300 students and boasts more than 16,000 alumni; and
- WHEREAS, Founded in 1928, Angelo State University enrolls
- 11 nearly 6,900 students in five colleges and is directed by Dr. Brian
- 12 J. May; ASU was the first university in the state to offer a degree
- 13 in computer science, and the institution's physics department has
- 14 been designated by Physics Today as one of the top undergraduate
- 15 programs in the nation; and
- WHEREAS, The Texas Tech University System has provided
- 17 generations of students with an outstanding education and a strong
- 18 foundation for the future, and in so doing, it has contributed to
- 19 the remarkable achievements of the state as a whole; now,
- 20 therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas
- 22 hereby recognize February 20, 2013, as Texas Tech University System
- 23 Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to all those from
- 24 the TTU System who are visiting here today.

Hilderbran Darby Perry Frullo N. Gonzalez of El Paso

H.C.R. No. 49

Straus	M. Gonzalez of El Paso	Oliveira
Allen	N. Gonzalez of El Paso	Orr
Alonzo	Gooden	Otto
Alvarado	Guerra	Paddie
Anchia	Guillen	Parker
Anderson	Gutierrez	Patrick
Ashby	Harless	Perez
Aycock	Harper-Brown	Perry
Bell	Hernandez Luna	Phillips
Bohac	Herrero	Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria	Hilderbran	Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston	Howard	Price
Branch	Huberty	Raney
Burkett	Hughes	Ratliff
Burnam	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Callegari	Johnson	Riddle
Canales	Kacal	Ritter
Capriglione	Keffer	Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter	King of Hemphill	Rodriguez of Travis
		Rose
Clardy Coleman	King of Parker King of Taylor	Sanford
Collier		Schaefer
	King of Zavala	
Cook	Kleinschmidt Klick	Sheets Sheffield of Bell
Cortez Craddick	Kolkhorst	
		Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton	Krause	Simmons
Crownover	Kuempel	Simpson
Dale	Larson	Smith
Darby	Laubenberg	Smithee
Davis of Dallas	Lavender	Springer
J. Davis of Harris	Leach	Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris	Lewis	Stickland
Deshotel	Longoria	Strama
Dukes	Lozano	Taylor
Dutton	Lucio III	Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland	Marquez	Thompson of Harris
Elkins	Martinez	Toth
Fallon	Martinez Fischer	Turner of Collin
Farias	McClendon	Turner of Harris
Farney	Menendez	Turner of Tarrant
Farrar	Miles	Villalba
Fletcher	Miller of Comal	Villarreal
Flynn	Miller of Fort Bend	Vo
Frank	Moody	Walle
Frullo	Morrison	White
Geren	Munoz, Jr.	Workman
Giddings	Murphy	Wu
Goldman	Naishtat	Zedler
Gonzales	Nevarez	Zerwas

Marid Dewhursi

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 49 was adopted by the House on February 20, 2013, by a non-record vote

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 49 was adopted by the Senate on February 20, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED:

8 MAR'13

Date

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE
O'CLOCK

MAR 08 2013