H.C.R. No. 19

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Austin Community College has served the educational
and career training needs of Central Texans for 40 years; and

3 WHEREAS, Established in 1972 by voters in the Austin 4 Independent School District, ACC opened its doors the following 5 year, with the Ridgeview campus welcoming some 1,700 students; 6 since that time, it has expanded to include eight campuses, with 7 another two in development, and it enrolls a collective 44,000 8 students across eight counties; and

9 WHEREAS, Today, more than half of local high school graduates 10 opt to pursue their higher education at ACC, which offers more than 11 235 associate's degrees and certificates in more than 100 diverse 12 areas of study and boasts one of the state's top transfer programs; committed to accommodating students with a variety of backgrounds 13 and goals, ACC provides technical training in various high-demand 14 fields and continuing education for professional development and 15 personal enrichment; and 16

Austin Community College benefits 17 WHEREAS, from the 18 leadership of current president Dr. Richard Rhodes, who is joined by 5,000 dedicated faculty and staff members in building on a 19 tradition of excellence that has spanned four decades; with its 20 high-quality education and workforce programs, ACC provides a 21 gateway to a bright and fulfilling future for myriad students, and 22 in so doing, it contributes to the prosperity of Texas communities 23 far and wide; now, therefore, be it 24

1

## H.C.R. No. 19

1 RESOLVED, That the 83rd Legislature of the State of Texas, 2 2nd Called Session, hereby commemorate the 40th anniversary of the 3 founding of Austin Community College and extend to its faculty, 4 staff, students, and alumni sincere best wishes for the future; 5 and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Austin Community College as an expression of high 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

> Naishtat Workman Dukes Howard Rodriguez of Travis

H.C.R. No. 19

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Ashby Aycock Bell Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Branch Burkett Burnam Button Callegari Canales Capriglione Carter Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Creighton Crownover Dale Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Eiland Elkins Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

M. Gonzalez of El Paso N. Gonzalez of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Harper-Brown Hernandez Luna Herrero Hilderbran Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Johnson Kacal Keffer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Klick Kolkhorst Krause Kuempel Larson Laubenberg Lavender Leach Lewis Longoria Lozano Lucio III Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Moody Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nevarez

Oliveira Orr Otto Paddie Parker Patrick Perez Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Raney Ratliff Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Rose Sanford Schaefer Sheets Sheffield of Bell Sheffield of Coryell Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Strama Taylor Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Toth Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant Villalba Villarreal Vo Walle White Workman Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.C.R. No. 19 aus

Speaker of the House

President of the Senate

I certify that H.C.R. No. 19 was adopted by the House on July 25, 2013, by a non-record vote.

0 Chief Clerk of the Hous

I certify that H.C.R. No. 19 was adopted by the Senate on July 25, 2013, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: 19 AU6'13

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE \_O'CLOCK AUG 19 201 Secretary of State