Heritage, Volume 7, Number 4, Fall 1989 Page: 29
The following text was automatically extracted from the image on this page using optical character recognition software:
The George Ranch offers living history programs ranging from pioneer life of the 1820s to
experiences of Confederate troops in the 1860s, and ranch life of the 1880s to the present.
Richmond. This house is one of two on the
ranch today. In 1977 the house was moved
from Richmond in one piece.
The children of Judge and Susan Elizabeth,
were quite different. Thomas was a
world traveller who never married, while
Mamie came back from Baylor Female
College, now Mary Hardin Baylor, to
marry Albert P. George. Albert was a close
family friend and worked for the Judge at
Mamie, who was fond of the intricate
interior of her childhood home, had architect
Nicholas Clayton come to the ranch
in 1899 to build the George Ranch home
with some of the same details as the house
of her parents. Around 1911 a second story
was added to the George home. Albert and
Texian Market Days is a
festival of living history,
offering a unique handson
to all ages.
Mamie had a child to carry on the lineage
of the Joneses, but he died of cholera.
Albert struck it rich in both of Texas'
resources, cattle and "black gold." The
living museum attests to his first love,
ranching. The George Foundation was
created in 1945.
After Albert's death in 1955, Mamie
moved back to Richmond. She died there
in 1971. Beginning in 1986, Michael
Moore, director of the Fort Bend Museum
Association, and other members of the
board set out to assist the George Foundation
in opening the George Ranch as a
living museum. It opened in 1988. The results
have surpassed all expectations.
A visitor to the ranch can enjoy first
person accounts of the ranch and the
families who lived there. The Davis home
is filled with most of the original pieces
from the 1880s. The tour guides dress in the
attire of the day and add to the authenticity
of the experience.
Texian Market Days, which will be held
October 21 and 22 this year, is a festival of
living history, sponsored by the Fort Bend
Museum, offering a unique "hands on"
learning experience to all ages. Held at the
historic George Ranch Headquarters south
of Richmond, the program traces 130 years
of Texas culture.
The programs range from pioneer life in
the 1820s to the experiences of Confederate
troops in the 1860s, the work of cowboys
on the cattle drive of the 1880s, and
the 20th century ranching activities of
Albert George. The historic homes, outbuildings,
shop, barns, and food booths add
to the Texian Market Days activities. A
rural life section features the 1890s Oldenburg
The festival receives support from corporate
and individual sponsors plus the
more than 450 volunteers who greet,
demonstrate, and work to make the event
successful. Because of the widespread
community involvement, the event received
an award of merit from the Texas
Historical Commission in 1987.
M. Peter Soria is the Development Officer for
HERITAGE * FALL 1989 29
Here’s what’s next.
This issue can be searched. Note: Results may vary based on the legibility of text within the document.
Tools / Downloads
Get a copy of this page or view the extracted text.
Citing and Sharing
Basic information for referencing this web page. We also provide extended guidance on usage rights, references, copying or embedding.
Reference the current page of this Periodical.
Texas Historical Foundation. Heritage, Volume 7, Number 4, Fall 1989, periodical, Autumn 1989; Austin, Texas. (texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth45433/m1/29/: accessed July 23, 2017), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, texashistory.unt.edu; crediting Texas Historical Foundation.