The Laws of Texas, 1822-1897 Volume 1 Page: 61

This book is part of the collection entitled: Gammel's Laws of Texas and was provided to The Portal to Texas History by the UNT Libraries.

View a full description of this book.

21 OF JANUARY, 1824
The Supreme Executive Power, provisionally appointed by the sovereign
Mexican Congress, to all to whom these presents shall come, greeting:
Enow ye, that the sovereign Constituent Congress has decreed as
The sovereign Constituent Mexican Congress has thought proper to
enact the following Constitutive Act of the Federation.
Formt of governmzent anzd Relzgion.
ART. 1. The Mexican nation is composed of the provinces formerly
known as the vice-royalty of New Spain, the captain-generalship of
Yucatan, and the internal provinces of the east and west.
ART. 2. The Mexican nation is for ever free and independent of Spain,
and of every other power, and it is not, nor can it ever become the patrimony
of any family or person.
ART. 3. The sovereign power resides wholly and exclusively in the
nation, which has consequently the exclusive power to adopt and to establish
by means of its representatives, the form of government and other
fundamental laws, which may appear to it best suited to its preservation
and prosperity, and to change and to modify such laws, whenever it may
think proper.
ART. 4. The religion of the Mexican nation is and shall perpetually
remain the Roman Catholic and Apostolic. The nation protects it by
just and wise laws, and prohibits the exercise of every other.
ART. 5. The nation adopts for the form of its government, a popular
representative and federal republic.
ART. 6. Its integral parts are free, sovereign and independent states,
in as far as regards exclusively its internal administration, according to
the rules laid down in this act, and in the general constitution.
ART. 7. The states, at present comprising the federation, are the following;
viz: Guanjuato; the internal state of the west composed of the
provinces of Sonora and Sinaloa; the internal state of the east comprising
the provinces of New Leon, Coahuila and Texas; the internal state of the
north containing the provinces of Chihuahua, Durango and New Mexico;
Mexico; Michoacan; Oajaca; Puebla de los Angeles; Queretaro; San Luis
( 61)

Upcoming Pages

Here’s what’s next.

upcoming item: 70 70 of 1,536
upcoming item: 71 71 of 1,536
upcoming item: 72 72 of 1,536
upcoming item: 73 73 of 1,536

Show all pages in this book.

This book can be searched. Note: Results may vary based on the legibility of text within the document.

Tools / Downloads

Get a copy of this page .

Citing and Sharing

Basic information for referencing this web page. We also provide extended guidance on usage rights, references, copying or embedding.

Reference the current page of this Book.

Gammel, Hans Peter Mareus Neilsen. The Laws of Texas, 1822-1897 Volume 1, book, 1898; Austin, Texas. ( accessed July 21, 2017), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History,; .