HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 The observance of ALS Awareness Month in May 2 provides an opportunity to educate the public about Amyotrophic 3 Lateral Sclerosis, often known as Lou Gehrig's disease; and 4 WHEREAS, A fatal neurodegenerative disease, ALS was first identified by a French scientist in 1869, but international 5 6 attention came 70 years later, when the disease ended the career of beloved baseball player Lou Gehrig; ALS affects nerve cells in the 7

brain and spinal cord, and it causes the progressive degeneration of the motor neurons that reach from the brain to the spinal cord 9

and from the spinal cord to the muscles throughout the body; and

8

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

WHEREAS, The onset of ALS is insidious, with the affliction manifesting itself as muscle weakness or stiffness; progresses, the disease causes wasting and paralysis of the muscles of the limbs and trunk, as well as of the muscles that control vital functions such as speech, swallowing, and breathing; patients in the later stages of the disease may become completely paralyzed; and

WHEREAS, Approximately 5,600 people in the United States are 18 19 diagnosed with ALS each year; although life expectancy averages about two to five years from diagnosis, this disease is variable, 20 and some people survive longer while retaining quality of life; 21 according to the ALS Association, about 20 percent of individuals 22 with ALS live 5 years or more, and 5 percent will live for 20 years; 23 there are those in whom ALS has stopped progressing, and symptoms 24

H.C.R. No. 110

- 1 have reversed in a small number of patients; and
- WHEREAS, Congress recently increased funding for two crucial
- 3 projects, the ALS Research Program at the U.S. Department of
- 4 Defense and the National ALS Registry, administered by the federal
- 5 Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; the tireless efforts of
- 6 advocates have played a crucial role in expanding resources to
- 7 investigate potential causes of ALS and to search for a cure, giving
- 8 new hope to patients and their families; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the 84th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 10 hereby recognize May 2015 as Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Month
- 11 and urge all Texans to support efforts to find a cure for ALS.

Bonnen of Galveston

H.C.R. No. 110

González Otto Straus Allen Paddie Guerra Alonzo Guillen Parker Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Hernandez Phelan Anderson of McLennan Herrero Phillips Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Bernal Hunter Raymond Blanco Isaac Reynolds Israel Riddle Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Rodriguez of Bexar Kacal Keffer Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Burns Keough Romero, Jr. Burrows King of Hemphill Rose King of Parker King of Taylor Button Sanford Schaefer Canales King of Uvalde Capriglione Schofield Schubert Clardy Klick Coleman Shaheen Koop Collier Krause Sheets Cook Kuempel Sheffield Craddick Landgraf Simmons Crownover Larson Simpson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Dale Leach Smithee Darby Spitzer Longoria Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Stephenson Lucio III Deshotel Stickland Márquez Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Martinez Fischer Dutton Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal VanDeaver Farney Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Fletcher Minjarez Vo Walle Flynn Moody White of Bell Frank Morrison White of Tyler Muñoz, Jr. Frullo Galindo Workman Murphy Wray Geren Murr Naishtat Wu Giddings Goldman Nevárez Zedler

Oliveira

Gonzales

Zerwas

President of the Senate

H.C.R. No. 110

Than

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 110 was adopted by the House on May 5, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 110 was adopted by the Senate on May 21, 2015, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: 6-5-2015

Date

Governor

FILED IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

15 O'CLOCK

JUN 1 0 2015

Secretary of State