[Postcard of Center Fire Station, Maiden, Mass.]

Description

Postcard of Center Fire Station in Maiden, Massachusetts, a two-story brick building with a belfry at its front and center. The base of the building features four garage doors. From left to right, the doors are labeled: Hook & Ladder, Hose, and Engine. Three horse-drawn vehicles are seen outside of these doors.

Physical Description

1 postcard : color ; 13 x 9 cm.

Creation Information

Redington, Dell A. January 11, 1911.

Context

This postcard is part of the collection entitled: Rescuing Texas History, 2015 and one other and was provided by Fire Museum of Texas to The Portal to Texas History, a digital repository hosted by the UNT Libraries. More information about this postcard can be viewed below.

Who

People and organizations associated with either the creation of this postcard or its content.

Attributed name

Publisher

Audiences

Check out our Resources for Educators Site! We've identified this postcard as a primary source within our collections. Researchers, educators, and students may find this postcard useful in their work.

Provided By

Fire Museum of Texas

Located in the Beaumont Fire Department's 1927 Central Fire Station, the museum opened in 1984 and became the official state fire museum in 1986. Today it provides access to fire service history and education for people across the state of Texas. This nonprofit organization is operated by Beaumont Fire-Rescue Services.

Contact Us

What

Descriptive information to help identify this postcard. Follow the links below to find similar items on the Portal.

Description

Postcard of Center Fire Station in Maiden, Massachusetts, a two-story brick building with a belfry at its front and center. The base of the building features four garage doors. From left to right, the doors are labeled: Hook & Ladder, Hose, and Engine. Three horse-drawn vehicles are seen outside of these doors.

Physical Description

1 postcard : color ; 13 x 9 cm.

Subjects

Keyword

Library of Congress Subject Headings

University of North Texas Libraries Browse Structure

Language

Item Type

Identifier

Unique identifying numbers for this postcard in the Portal or other systems.

Collections

This postcard is part of the following collections of related materials.

Rescuing Texas History, 2015

This compilation of newspapers, photographs, and other materials provides a glimpse into the diverse people and fascinating places that have contributed to the growth of Texas.

George Pendexter Postcard Collection

What responsibilities do I have when using this postcard?

When

Dates and time periods associated with this postcard.

Creation Date

  • January 11, 1911

Added to The The Portal to Texas History

  • March 18, 2016, 4:44 p.m.

Description Last Updated

  • July 14, 2016, 6:17 p.m.

Usage Statistics

When was this postcard last used?

Yesterday: 0
Past 30 days: 0
Total Uses: 5

Where

Geographical information about where this postcard originated or about its content.

Publication Place

Map Information

  • map marker Automatically generated Place Name coordinates.
  • map marker Automatically generated Publication Place coordinates.
  • Repositioning map may be required for optimal printing.

Help Map this Postcard

Tell us if you know the precise location of this item. In the lower-left corner of map below, select either the pin () or the box (). Use the cross-hair to drop a pin or drag to create a new rectangle. You can zoom in, expand to full screen, change the terrain type, or in some cases switch to street-view so that it's easy for you to determine the coordinates.

Mapped Locations

Interact With This Postcard

Here are some suggestions for what to do next.

Start Viewing

International Image Interoperability Framework

IIF Logo

We support the IIIF Presentation API

Redington, Dell A. [Postcard of Center Fire Station, Maiden, Mass.], postcard, January 11, 1911; Boston, Mass.. (https://texashistory.unt.edu/ark:/67531/metapth705957/: accessed October 16, 2019), University of North Texas Libraries, The Portal to Texas History, https://texashistory.unt.edu; crediting Fire Museum of Texas.