Georgetown is the county seat of Williamson County and is known as the Red Poppy Capital of Texas. The Williamson County Courthouse Historic District contains 46 structures and is listed on the U.S. National Register of Historic Places. The city was named after George Washington Glasscock, who donated the land for the new town. The Georgetown Watchman was published by William K. Foster.

Digital access to the Georgetown Watchman was generously supported by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission by a TexTreasures grant.

At a Glance

Cite This Collection

Here is our suggested citation. Consult an appropriate style guide for conformance to specific guidelines.

Georgetown Watchman in The Portal to Texas History. University of North Texas Libraries. https://texashistory.unt.edu/explore/collections/GEOW/ accessed June 21, 2021.

Explore Holdings

Start browsing through the holdings of this collection in one of the following ways:

Back to Top of Screen