Established in 1877, The Gilmer Mirror is Upshur County's oldest business institution and was originally founded as a weekly newspaper, The Upshur County Democrat. Early owners included W. C. Paul, the Rev. S. R. Chadick, and J. P. Hart, who re-titled the newspaper Texas Mirror in 1882, and later The Gilmer Mirror, in 1895. The Mirror has been owned since 1915 by the family of George Tucker, a veteran of journalism in New York and other cities. The Mirror has been added to The Portal to Texas History through the support of the Tocker Foundation.



At a Glance



Cite This Collection

Here is our suggested citation. Consult an appropriate style guide for conformance to specific guidelines.

The Gilmer Mirror in The Portal to Texas History. University of North Texas Libraries. https://texashistory.unt.edu/explore/collections/GILM/ accessed December 1, 2022.



Back to Top of Screen