The National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum provide the Texas History Collection with a handwritten ledger containing a list of registered brands in Texas and surrounding states. It includes ear marks and branding symbols as well as the name and address of the holders.
Founded in 1955, the Museum is America's premier institution of Western history, art, and culture. They collect, preserve, and exhibit an internationally renowned collection of artifacts with the hope of providing a better understanding of the American West.Joined: July 2012.
The Abilene Library Consortium (ALC) is a regional nonprofit organization in Abilene, Texas, that provides support and resources to libraries, museums, and information organizations. The ALC collection features thousands of photos, print materials, maps, newspapers, and much more.Joined: July 2014.
The Abilene Philharmonic has been enriching the cultural life of the “Big Country” in West Central Texas since 1950. Today, Music Director and Conductor David Itkin leads the orchestra in world class performances that draw audiences from more than 50 Texas cities. Its concert seasons include guest artists from the ranks of Van Cliburn competition winners and incredible programming such as the premiere of “Ansel Adams: America” by Dave and Chris Brubeck. The orchestra provides a classroom curriculum that follows with live performances for school children, master classes, a young artist competition, and its TicketReach effort enables a broad section of the community to experience inspiring entertainment.Joined: August 2015.
The Abilene Public Library has partnered with us to provide access to The Community Bulletin, a local weekly publication that reported on church and community events, civil rights, political races, educational changes, and the job market. A regular feature highlights famous African Americans in history and includes excerpts of African American poetry.Joined: May 2009.
The Alexander Architectural Archive at the University of Texas at Austin is an architectural research center of national importance. As a unit of the University of Texas Libraries within the Architecture and Planning Library, the Archive supports research and education about the history of the built environment by acquiring and preserving research collections and by making them accessible.Joined: April 2015.
The Alvin Museum Society was chartered in 1978 as a result of action by the Alvin Bicentennial Commission. This charter authorized the creation of the Alvin Historical Museum to collect and record the history of the Alvin community. The museum's collection is housed in a remodeled former United States Post Office building owned by the City of Alvin. Twenty-one permanent exhibits explore the agricultural, industrial, educational, and social development of Alvin, Texas, from its beginning as a Santa Fe railroad loading site in 1879 through its development into a diverse Gulf Coast community.Joined: September 2015.
The Alvord Public Library contributes local history materials that include the Mayor's Criminal Docket, 1893-1924; Ledger of the Church of Christ at Alvord, 1904-1916; the Union Hill Baptist Church Record Books from 1877-1950; the "Yellowed Pages," a history of Audobon by Mary Steph; a 1920-21 city tax roll; and turn-of-the-century wholesale receipts from the J. R. Rhyne Hardware Store. Funding for this project was provided by the Tocker Foundation.Joined: May 2009.
The Amon Carter Museum of American Art collections include rare books that document early Fort Worth history for the grant "Where the West Begins: Capturing Fort Worth's Historic Treasures." Among the included publications are: Souvenir of Fort Worth, Texas: Photo-gravures, 1907; The Stock Manual by George B. Loving, 1881; and Texans and their State: a Newspaper Reference Work, 1918.Joined: May 2009.
The Anderson County Genealogical Society contributes archival issues of their publication "Tracings" dating 1983-2000. The publication contains genealogical information including generation charts, family histories, and lists of records (births, deaths, church records, etc.).Joined: July 2009.
The mission of the Archer Public Library is to enrich, entertain, and inform the citizens of Archer County with access to its collections, technologies, facilities, and services. The library is committed to encouraging the positive and exciting activity of reading. In furtherance of this mission, the Archer Public Library received a Tocker Foundation grant to make the Archer County Area Newspaper Collection available on The Portal to Texas History.Joined: August 2015.
The Archives of the Big Bend at Sul Ross State University contribute materials by W.D. Smithers, a photographer, map maker, news correspondent, author, and naturalist who came to the Big Bend area with the U.S. Army in 1915. Smither's illustrations richly document the border activities of the military from 1916-1935. Details featured include the cavalry, pack mules, horses, equipment, insignias, overland routes of the troops, and the border air patrol.Joined: May 2009.
Archives of the Central Texas Conference United Methodist Church provides materials for Where the West Begins: Capturing Fort Worth's Historic Treasures. Photographs and archival documents, from as early as 1912, include portraits of staff and church events at Glen Lake and Rainbow Camp.Joined: July 2009.
Arlington Historical Society presents photographs from its World War II collection as well as early images of Arlington's development including major construction projects for General Motors, Six Flags Mall, and Arlington Stadium.Joined: December 2013.
The photo collections of the Arlington Public Library document the development of Arlington, Texas as well as the history of the Arlington Police Department. The collections also include a selection of World War II era photographs and documents.Joined: October 2009.
Austin College partnered with us to provide access to their yearbooks from 1899 to 1950, The Chromascope. This valuable resource documents the history of their college, their students and faculty. Also included are several volumes from the "Telling our Stories" series.Joined: May 2009.
The Austin History Center is the local history division of the Austin Public Library. It provides the public with information about the history, events, and activities of Austin and Travis County. It collects and preserves information about local governments, businesses, residents, institutions, and neighborhoods so that generations to come will have access to our history. It presents here images from the Neal Douglass Photography Collection, the General Collection Photographs, the Bergstrom-Austin Community Council Records, the Chalberg Collection of Prints and Negatives, and the O. Henry Project.Joined: May 2009.
The Austin Seminary Archives is the institutional repository for the Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary in Austin, Texas. The archives also collect materials that document Presbyterianism in the Southwest including pastoral records, congregational histories, and organizational records. The archives was established in the early 1990s and contains over 140 processed collections measuring more than 300 linear feet.Joined: October 2011.
The Bandera Public Library serves Bandera County, providing library services to a population of just over 20,000. Situated in the county seat of Bandera, the library maintains membership as a Lone Star Digital Library to support digital downloads of reading materials for its patrons. The Bandera Public Library received a 2014 Tocker Foundation grant to digitize its community newspaper, the Bandera Bulletin, on The Portal to Texas History.Joined: November 2015.
Bartlett Activities Center and the Historical Society presents their local newspaper, The Bartlett Tribune, dating from 1902 to 1982. Bartlett, Texas is located on the border between Williamson and Bell counties. The town was founded when the Katy Railroad started their survey in 1881 and soon after became a major shipping point for cotton. By 1890 it was a thriving town and had two weekly newspapers.Joined: February 2011.
The Bastrop Public Library presents their local newspaper, the Bastrop Advertiser for the years 1854-1954. Bastrop is located 30 miles southwest of downtown Austin. Funding was provided by the Tocker Foundation for the digitization of the newspaper.Joined: February 2012.
Bell Whittington Public Library presents a collection of photographs from San Patricio and Nueces Counties, including images of the 1919 hurricane, portraits of early residents of the county, hunting photos and President Taft's visit to a local ranch in 1909.Joined: July 2010.
Through a collaboration between the Bellaire Historical Society and the Friends of the Bellaire Library, the Bellaire Area Newspaper collection has been made available on The Portal to Texas History. It is the purpose of the Bellaire Historical Society to preserve, maintain, restore and display designated historical landmarks, natural beauty, documents, artifacts, records of persons active in the history of the City of Bellaire and any other objects distinctive of this history.Joined: April 2014.
The Beth-El Congregation Archives collection includes photographs of confirmation classes dating from 1905 to the present, as well as social events from their community. The collection also includes handwritten notes from the first and second organizing meetings of Beth-El Congregation in 1902.Joined: March 2009.
The Bosque County Historical Commission contributes local history materials for the Rescuing Texas History project. Images include photos of early businesses and citizens, maps, and documents from Texas land agent and colonizer, Jacob De Cordova.Joined: May 2009.
The Botanical Research Institute of Texas, an international scientific research and learning center focused on conservation and knowledge sharing. BRIT shares knowledge about the plant world to enhance life for people and all living things. BRIT’s mission is to conserve our natural heritage by deepening our knowledge of the plant world and achieving public understanding of the value plants bring to life.Joined: October 2016.
The Bowie Public Library has existed since around 1920, started by the Thursday Club. The Thursday Club continued fund raising and volunteering into the 1960’s. By 1966, the first library board was organized and efforts to become state-accredited started.Joined: November 2015.
The National Scouting Museum features all its existing issues of Scouting magazine dating back to 1913. The magazine is written for Boy Scout leaders, officials, and others interested in the work of the Scouts. It includes articles about events and activities, updates from the national headquarters, topical columns and essays, and news from various chapters nationwide.Joined: December 2012.
The Boyce Ditto Public Library materials include local history from the A. F. Weaver Collection featuring resort souvenir guides and photos of Mineral Wells from its founding to the present. There is extensive coverage of the Hexagon House, the Baker Hotel, Camp/Fort Wolters and the many mineral wells that made the city a major resort in the first half of the 20th Century.Joined: May 2009.
The Breckenridge Library presents a number of historical newspapers including the Breckenridge Daily American (1922-1940), Breckenridge Weekly Democrat (1926-1933), the Stephens County Sun (1933-1940), and the junior and senior high school newspaper published by the journalism students, The Dynamo (1932-1939).Joined: January 2010.
The mission of the Brown County Museum of History is to preserve and protect the history of this region. Run by a volunteer board, it operates under the oversight of a state-mandated county Historical Commission.
By keeping the history of this area alive it tells its part of the American story – representing the history of the first Native American inhabitants, early pioneers, World War II and the 20th Century. Begun in 1982, the Museum has served as the main historical entity for preserving the county’s history.Joined: August 2015.
The Burleson Public Library opened its doors on January 17, 1971 in the historic Renfro-Clark House in Burleson. The home was purchased by a citizens group that had incorporated as Burleson Library, Inc. and the city agreed to be responsible for all library-related expenses while the corporation was responsible for refurbishing and maintenance of the historic property.Joined: July 2016.
The Butt-Holdsworth Memorial Library's mission is to provide the means by which people of all ages, interests, and circumstances may avail themselves of the recorded wisdom, experiences and ideas of others. The Kerr Regional History Center (KRHC) serves as a repository for historical and genealogical collections and as a research center for the residents of the City of Kerrville, Kerr County, the Texas Hill Country, and beyond.Joined: September 2016.
Yoakum's Library was organized in 1933 by the Philomathic Club with the help of Work Project Administration. J.W. Cook offered space in the back of his office to house the newly organized library. In 1955, the Library was moved to a building in another part of town, known as the “Beck Building,” where it remained until 1968, when it was relocated a building formerly utilized as City Hall.Joined: November 2015.
Their Carrollton Public Library contributes their collection of the minutes of the Union Baptist Church, which was organized in 1846 and has the distinction of being the first Baptist church organized and chartered in Dallas County. The materials document church proceedings, the members' beliefs, and the congregation's influence on society during the 19th and 20th centuries.Joined: February 2012.
The Carson County library, which serves Groom, Panhandle, Skellytown, and White Deer, presents issues of its local newspapers the Panhandle Herald and White Deer News. Funding was provided by the Tocker Foundation for the digitization of the newspaper.Joined: December 2014.
The Cattle Raisers Association of Texas is the oldest and largest organization of its kind in the U.S., and the museum partnered with us to provide access to thousands of photographs that document the importance and significance of Texas and the Southwest's ranching heritage. The images include portraits of leading Texas ranches and ranchers.Joined: May 2009.
The Chambers County Library System presents issues of the Age Index, a monthly publication which reports the happenings throughout Chambers County. The articles within the publication are selected from old newspapers and also include transcriptions of oral history interviews. These materials were digitized as part of a Rescuing Texas History Grant.Joined: December 2014.
A state historical marker designates the Cherokeean Herald newspaper in Rusk as the state's oldest, continuously published weekly. The publication's rich roots were planted in 1850, when Texas had been a state for just four years. Its contribution to the Portal includes "Two Hundred and Fifty Years: History of Alto, Texas, 1686-1936", a compilation of research regarding the history of Alto, Texas and creative poetry about the town.Joined: February 2015.
The Childress County Heritage Museum partnered with us to provide access to historic photos from the 1880s to the 1950s. Images feature the local city streets and businesses; area ranches; the FW&D Railway Co; and the Childress Army Air Field during WWII. They have also contributed hundreds of items to the Rescuing Texas History, 2007 collection.Joined: May 2009.
The City of Clarendon contributes local history materials that include ledgers that document the minutes of City Commission meetings dating from 1901-2003; ledgers showing city ordinances from 1915-2007; and a ledger with the minutes of the meetings of the Chamber of Commerce from 1920-1921. Funding for this project was provided by the Tocker Foundation.Joined: May 2009.
The City of College Station features photographs from Texas' Historic Online Library Database (Project HOLD). Since 2002, the City of College Station has been collecting and preserving the documentary and photographic history of the City of College Station, Texas, as well as educating citizens concerning the history of the City.Joined: August 2013.
The Clay County Historical Society presents a rich collection of photographs that include early images of Henrietta and surrounding Clay County. Also featured are images of Native Americans taken by photographers Alice Snearly, Lon Kelley, and William E. Irwin. They have contributed to several collections, including Rescuing Texas History, University of North Texas Archives, and the German Immigration to Texas collection.Joined: May 2009.
The Cleng Peerson Research Library is part of the Bosque Museum located in Clifton, Texas in Bosque County.
The purpose of the library is to provide research opportunities for historians, scholars, and genealogists interested in Northern European immigration in Texas and the Southwest. The museum contains a large collection of early immigration archives and books from the 1800's which relate to early US immigration and the settlement of Bosque County, Texas.
Cleveland Historic Society features its collection of photographs, documents, personal letters and maps that catalog Cleveland's growth and culture. The Santa Fe and Southern Pacific railroads running just north of Cleveland along with logging and lumber mills were core to Cleveland's development.Joined: February 2011.
Established on January 26, 1885, the Coleman Public Library (CPL) was among the first publicly supported libraries in Texas. Since that time, the community’s involvement and financial support has enabled the library to experience continuous growth and positive change. Originally housed in a corner room at the county courthouse, the library now resides in a renovated Safeway grocery store that has seen major expansion and updating since 1982. CPL serves a county population of over 8,000 people, circulates more than 42,000 items a year, and offers programming for adults, teens, and children.
CPL’s mission is to serve as a community center by providing technology, educational resources, and reading materials for the enjoyment of its patrons. Its collections include print books, popular magazines, audiobooks, and videos. As a progressive library, CPL also offers computers with Internet accessibility, downloadable books, and TexShare databases (full-text articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, and many other sources).Joined: July 2015.
The Collin County Genealogical Society provides access to the Collin Chronicles, its annual publication. The issues run from 1981 and provide transcripts of historical materials, local cemetery information and general research resources. They have supported digitization of multiple newspaper titles in the Texas Digital Newspaper Program, including the McKinney Democrat-Gazette, the Frisco Journal, the Sachse Sentinel, the Wylie News, the Sachse News, and the Plano Star-Courier.Joined: May 2009.
The Collingsworth County Museum contributes their collection of photographs, dating from 1888 through 2010, that represent the culture and heritage of the people of eastern Panhandle Texas. Included are photographs of school children, school buildings, businesses, street scenes, downtown buildings, churches, agriculture, people, and families of the county.Joined: February 2012.
The Concordia University Texas Library presents images of the original campus in central Austin, which was then a boys’ high school called Lutheran Concordia College. These photographs feature early faculty and students as well as buildings including Kilian Hall, Texas Hall, Hirschi Library, Birkman Chapel, Behnker Hall, Studtmann Hall, Woltman Activities Center, and Kramer Hall. Also included in the University Records series is correspondence between the institution’s Board of Control and the national Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod leadership describing the campus development. Correspondence features discussion with architects and contractors regarding building construction and repairs. The Theodore Schmidt Collection includes 73 photographs taken by a student of the first Lutheran Concordia College class, admitted in 1926.Joined: May 2009.
Cooke County Library presents its collection of photographs, drawings and documents that document the founding of Cooke County Library which was the second system established as a Carnegie Foundation library. The items show the timeline and evolution of the library since 1899.Joined: February 2011.
The Corpus Christi Museum of Science and History contributed to the Rescuing Texas History 2007 collection with photos of the 1919 Hurricane; a category 4 storm that was one of the deadliest of the twentieth century with winds up to 110 mph, and waves cresting as high as 16 feet.Joined: May 2009.
Denton's Courthouse-on-the-Square Museum contributes local history photographs from the Harpool Farm Collections, and through the ongoing project From Plowshares to Diplomas: Digitizing Early Denton History, they will provide historic photographs of the communities in Denton County.Joined: May 2009.
The mission of the Cuero Public Library is to promote literacy, love of reading, and lifelong opportunities for patrons of all ages and cultural and economic backgrounds, through educational, informational and recreational resources, in a welcoming environment.Joined: March 2016.
The Czech Ex-Students Association Of Texas (Spolek Ceskych Ex-Studentu Statu Texas) was organized in 1909 to promote and perpetuate the Czech language and culture. Their contributions to the Portal include materials related to the late Olga Pazdral (1907-1965), teacher and folklorist of Czech culture in Texas.Joined: February 2015.
The Nellie Pederson Civic Library was established in 1952 by the Civic Improvement Society of Clifton, Texas. This group of ladies volunteered to work in the library until it grew larger and employees were necessary; however, the Civic Society paid for the employees and see to the needs of the library.Joined: September 2016.
The Dallas County Community College District (DCCCD) provides images of campus events and significant leaders who have shaped the development of the largest undergraduate institution in the state of Texas. DCCCD consists of seven colleges - Brookhaven, Cedar Valley, Eastfield, El Centro, Mountain View, North Lake and Richland - plus the R. Jan LeCroy Center for Educational Telecommunications. Since 1965, DCCCD has served more than 1.5 million people.Joined: May 2009.
The Dallas Historical Society provides images from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Collection. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Collection includes photographs of early lock and dam projects throughout Texas, dating from 1913 to the 1920s.Joined: May 2009.
Dallas Municipal Archives partnered with the Portal to provide access to several collections, one of which is the John F Kennedy, Dallas Police Department Collection. Oher collections include Dallas Park and Recreation Department Photographs; Dallas Water Utilities Records and Photographic Series, 1882-1990; Dallas Farmers Market - Henry Forschmidt Collection 1938-1986; Clyde Barrow Gang Collection; and the Love Field Album and Photographs Collection.Joined: October 2009.
The Dallas Museum of Art Archives was established to preserve and administer the Museum's permanent institutional records and special collections. The mission of the archives is to support the goals of the Dallas Museum of Art by identifying, collecting, preserving, and making available for staff the public records of enduring value created or received by the Museum and its employees.Joined: October 2011.
The Dallas Public Library contributes rare books from its Texas/Dallas History & Archives, including a 1910 history of the Dallas Police Department, an 1896 Official directory, taxpayers for Dallas County, Texas, and a Memorial and biographical history of Dallas County, Texas.Joined: May 2009.
The Danish Heritage Preservation Society provides over 1,000 items depicting the history of Danish people in Texas. The items include photographs, postcards, legal documents, and books that date from the 1860's to present day.Joined: July 2012.
The Deaf Smith County Library collections include the Bill and Marcella Bradly Collection, consisting of photographic negatives documenting the history, people, businesses, and ranches of Deaf Smith County. Also included are two local history books: Deaf Smith County: The Land and Its People and A History of Deaf Smith County, featuring Pioneer Families, as well as local souvenir guides. This project is supported in part by Humanities Texas, the state partner of the National Endowment for the Humanities.Joined: May 2009.
Denton Independent School District has served Denton students since 1884. Our collection provides historical documents, pamphlets, programs, yearbooks and other pertinent documents chronicling the history of the school district.Joined: January 2013.
The Denton Public Library partnered with UNT Libraries on a grant From Plowshares to Diplomas: Digitizing Early Denton History, which was completed in 2007. Materials include local history photographs, maps, city directories, and some books. Funding for this project was provided by the Forrest C. Lattner Foundation.Joined: May 2009.
The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History features a number of collections on the Portal: the Huth Papers, Lorenzo de Zavala writings and correspondence, the Moses and Stephen F. Austin Papers, the Winkelmann Photograph Collection and a vast store of early Texas newspapers.Joined: October 2009.
The Dublin Public Library is located about seventy miles southwest of Fort Worth, Texas. The library provides free services to all residents living in Erath County and the surrounding communities. This library has been a free public library to citizens of Dublin and Erath County since its beginning in 1952.Joined: November 2014.
East Texas Genealogical Society provides a Quarterly publication containing genealogical information about families in East Texas including fifth generation charts, family histories, and lists of records (births, deaths, etc.).Joined: July 2009.
The Eastland Centennial Memorial Library is a happening place. In 2014, the library applied for and received a Tocker Foundation grant to digitize its local newspapers on The Portal to Texas History, which will benefit area genealogists.Joined: October 2014.
Located in Beaumont, Texas, The Edison Museum is the only institution dedicated to the life and times of Thomas Edison west of the Mississippi. The museum’s mission is to educate the public over the inventions and life story of Thomas Edison. Located in the historic Travis Street substation the museum itself has served in supplying the city with electricity for nearly 100 years. During the 1980’s Gulf States Utilities decided to dedicate the building to education, and thus The Edison Museum was born. Among the various Edison artifacts visitors will also find items chronicling the history of electrical power in Southeast Texas and Louisiana. Photos from this period provide a glimpse into the past, and offer valuable information about how the world developed. In that spirit, The Edison Museum, believed that their collection of such materials would benefit in being made public in The Portal to Texas History/ UNT Digital Library. The Edison Museum remains a vital institution in the Beaumont area. The non-profit organization is made possible by generous grants from Entergy. Together these companies are able to reach a wide range of people, providing them with a look into America’s past. It is our hope that the photographs we have provided to the Portal to Texas History will help spread that message worldwide. In the words of Thomas Edison, “If our work has widened the horizon of man’s understanding and given even a little measure of happiness in this world, I am content.”Joined: October 2016.
The El Paso County Historical Society has provided the Portal to Texas History with directories of the city of El Paso, Texas and Cuidad Juarez, Mexico. The Society exists to study local El Paso and El Paso County history, to foster local research, to acquire and preserve historical documents and archives, to make collections available to the public for research and information, and to encourage historical writing and publication.Joined: May 2012.
The El Paso Public Library contributes photographs from the Otis Aultman Photograph Collection, which pertain to the Mexican Revolution, Pancho Villa's raid on Columbus, New Mexico, and the ensuing Punitive Expedition of 1916-1917.Joined: October 2009.
On April 21, 1981, the Port Aransas Library was opened to the public and in September, 1981, became a member of the South Texas Library System. By 1995, the Library had out-grown its space in the City Hall complex, was relocated, and was renamed The William R. "Bill" Ellis Memorial Library, in honor of the former mayor and civic leader. The doors opened in January of 1996.Joined: May 2014.
The Erath County Genealogical Society presents the Ralph and Dossie Rogers Historic Image Collection, photographs from the Cross Timbers area of Central Texas taken and preserved by Ralph and Dossie Gilbreath Rogers. The photographs were digitized via a Rescuing Texas History grant.Joined: December 2014.
The Fire Museum of Texas contributes its collection of uniform patches from city and volunteer fire departments from all over the state of Texas. The collection is one of the largest and most complete of its type that represent the history of the fire service in the state.Joined: December 2013.
The First Christian Church of Port Arthur contributes to the Rescuing Texas History, 2007 collection and materials from their collections include two history books of their congregation, as well as photos revealing the legacy of the church. Rock star Janis Joplin sang with the youth choir in the early 1950s, and photos from that time in her life are also included.Joined: May 2009.
Fort Bend County Libraries is a publicly supported, nonprofit institution serving the Fort Bend community as a resource center. The main library, George Memorial Library, is located at 1001 Golfview Dr., Richmond, Texas 77469. The building houses the Genealogy & Local History Department, which has many unique resources documenting Fort Bend County history.
The department’s resources also focus on the southeastern United States and include materials relating to the history of the South, federal censuses, genealogy, and the Civil War. The library strives to make these items easily accessible to as many as possible.
The mission of Fort Bend County Libraries is to bring people, information and ideas together to enrich lives, expand minds, and strengthen our diverse community.Joined: June 2015.
The Fort Bend Museum presents a rich variety of historical materials, including photographs of artifacts from the museum and local history photographs. Among these interesting materials are photographs of U.S. Congressman John M. Moore, prohibitionist Carrie A. Nation, and Jane Long, the "Mother of Texas."Joined: May 2009.
The Fort Worth Aviation Museum (formerly the Veterans Memorial Air Park) (FWAM) is a group of organizations dedicated to preserving and promoting the history of aviation in Fort Worth, the North Texas region, and around the world. Our aircraft collection consists of twenty-four warbirds, dating from 1943 to the present, in what we call our “Petting Zoo”. FWAM operates under the corporate charter of the OV-10 Bronco Association, Inc., a 501(c)(3) not-for- profit corporation. We are also home to the B-36 Peacemaker Museum, the Forward Air Controller’s Museum. Our motto is: “Preserve – Inspire – Educate” or as we call it, PIE.Joined: November 2015.
The Fort Worth Jewish Archives, a program of the Jewish Federation of Fort Worth and Tarrant County, presents its collection of archival materials that document the development of a strong ethnic immigrant community over several generations. It includes photographs and archival materials from a multitude of organizations including Men's Chevra Kadisha, Dan Danciger Jewish Community Center, Jewish War Veterans, National Council of Jewish Women, Hadassah, B'nai B'rith Women and Ahavath Sholom.Joined: March 2011.
Dedicated to lifelong learning and anchored by our rich collections, the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History engages our diverse community through creative, vibrant programs and exhibits interpreting science and the stories of Texas and the Southwest. The Archives of the museum houses collections not limited to photographs, documents, ephemera and memorabilia, posters, books, and audiovisual materials in support of this mission.Joined: February 2016.
The Fort Worth Public Library contributes materials from its local history collections for the grant "Where the West Begins: Capturing Fort Worth's Historic Treasures." The collection includes books and souvenir guides about early Fort Worth, and a photograph album by Lewis D. Fox featuring street scenes and parades. Images include the 1936 parade for President Roosevelt, the Armistice Day Parade of 1936, 1939, 1943, and the opening of Casa Manana.Joined: May 2009.
French Legation Museum collection documents the work of renowned preservation architect, Raiford Stripling. In the 1950s, Stripling was hired by the Daughters of the Republic of Texas to oversee the ongoing historic restoration of the Legation structure and planning for the historic site and its outbuildings. As the oldest existing home in Austin, the Legation and the Museum possess a unique and important history for Austin and Texas.Joined: October 2009.
Friench Simpson Memorial Library contributes its collection of photographs of Halletsville and Lavaca County, Texas, many of which were taken by Texas photographer Henry Jacob Braunig. Recognized as one of the premier photographers in Texas, Braunig established his permanent studio in Halletsville in 1887 and continued taking photographs until his death in 1945.Joined: February 2011.
The Frisco Public Library collections include The Frisco Enterprise newspapers from the late 1980s to current. Limited collection holdings include The Frisco Journal and The Frisco Rustler newspapers. Special local history collection items include "The History of Frisco" published in 1976 by the Frisco Bicentennial Society.Joined: September 2016.
Frontier Texas is a history museum, heritage center and visitor information center located in downtown Abilene. The facility, opened in 2004, showcases the history of the Texas frontier and promotes the historical attractions in the Texas Forts Trail region. The museum allows visitors to relive the Old West through of state-of-the-art technology and brings the frontier to life to let visitors meet people who played out their lives on the Texas frontier. Frontier Texas is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.Joined: May 2015.
Galveston Historical Foundation formed as the Galveston Historical Society in 1871 and reincorporated in 1954 as a n organization devoted to historic preservation in Galveston County in order to purchase, rehabilitate and stabilize properties and neighborhoods endangered from neglect and abandonment. GHF today embraces a broader vision of history and architecture that encompasses advancements in environmental and natural sciences and their intersection with historic buildings and coastal life, and conceives of history as an engaging story of individual lives and experiences on Galveston Island, Texas from the 19th century to the present day. www.galvestonhistory.org for more information.Joined: August 2016.
The Genevieve Miller Hitchcock Public Library partnered with us for the grant Rescuing Texas History through the Digitization of At-Risk Photographs and Maps. Selected materials include maps of Hitchcock and Galveston County, and photographs of local businesses, homes, and Camp Wallace.Joined: May 2009.
The George Everill Pierce Photograph collection consists of material selected for the 2015 Rescuing Texas History grant. The items include photographs taken by George Everill Pierce (2/2/1907 – 10/19/1942) during his days as a cadet in the flying schools at Randolph, Kelly, and Brooks Fields near San Antonio, Texas and during subsequent missions and postings in Texas and California. The photographs were taken between 1933 and 1942 and depict the work, play, and daily life of a young aviator during the early heyday of Texas military aviation.Joined: February 2016.
The Gillespie County Historical Society presents its photograph collection of life in Fredericksburg and Gillespie County. The images depict the life of German Settlers who immigrated to the Texas Hill Country in the 1840's as well as their descendants.Joined: November 2011.
The Gladys Johnson Ritchie Library supports the people of Jacksboro and Jack County, Texas, with a service population of just over 9,300. In 2015, the library was able to add the Jack County newspapers on The Portal to Texas History through the support of a Tocker Foundation grant.Joined: April 2015.
The City of Mercedes, long referred to as “The Queen City,” had an informal, small library established in 1911. By 1938, the Mercedes G-Women’s Literacy Club began planning for a free public library in Mercedes. In 1939, more civic groups took up the call and created a Library Council to further the plans for a public library, and by 1940, a small library opened with 500 books, which was the necessary number of books to hire a W.P.A.-sponsored librarian.Joined: March 2015.
Hardin-Simmons University collections include the Bronco yearbook from 1908-2007, and the university catalogs from 1892-2008. The Bronco includes photos and information about the school, student body, professors, and organizations. The Bronco is preserved as a complete collection for the years 1908-2007, with 1918 being the only year not available due to no publication for that year. The catalogs describe the governance, history, course offerings, and campus life of Hardin-Simmons University, 1892-2008. Hardin Simmons University was founded in 1891 as Abilene Baptist College and since 1941 has been associated with the General Baptist General Convention of Texas.Joined: March 2009.
The Harrie P. Woodson Library proudly presents its historical newspaper collection to the Texas Digital Newspaper Program. The Caldwell News-Chronicle, the Caldwell News, and Burleson County Ledger are weekly newspapers that document the development of Burleson County's farming and oil industries as well as events and people. The papers cover the years from 1897 to 1955.Joined: November 2011.
The Harris County Archives has partnered with the Portal to provide access to Inquest Records from the Justice of the Peace dating from 1889-1896. These records are great resources for researchers by providing a window into Houston society in the late nineteenth century by documenting responses to suspicious and tragic deaths.Joined: August 2012.
Haslet Public Library features photographs of farms, schools, and churches that track the development of Haslet, Texas. The area was settled around 1883, when the tracks of the Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway were extended through the area. The community was named for the Michigan hometown of the railroad's contractor. In 1896 the community had a school with twenty-one students and one teacher. During the 1920s Haslet had three grocery stores as well as a hardware store, dry goods store, and cotton gin.Joined: February 2011.
The Hemphill County Library partnered with us to provide access to the Hemphill County News from 1939-1951 and the Canadian Advertiser from 1938-1939. These two newspapers contain local, county, and national news in addition to local advertising.Joined: September 2009.
The Heritage House Museum partnered with us to provide access to historic materials from Orange County. Materials include photographs of early citizens, homes, churches, and schools; as well as business concerns such as shipping, farming, lumber mills, and oil exploration. Funds for this project were graciously provided by the Summerlee Foundation, the Stark Foundation, and private individuals.Joined: May 2009.
The Hispanic Heritage Center of San Antonio's collection encompasses the organizations mission to continually provide education, research, genealogy resources and public outreach to inform our community about their unknown heritage and legacy.Joined: November 2016.
Dedicated to the preservation of historical sites and artifacts relating to the City of Mesquite, Texas, Historic Mesquite, Inc. (HMI) and the Mesquite Public Library present their collection of photographs showing places, people, and early families of Mesquite and surrounding Dallas County.Joined: March 2015.
The History Center presents a selection of its rich collection of photographs and historical documents. Located deep in the heart of the beautiful East Texas piney woods in Diboll, Texas, The History Center's holdings include manuscripts, business and local government records, maps, newspapers, oral histories, books, and more than 250,000 photographs.Joined: June 2011.
The Houston Metropolitan Research Center (HMRC) features two of its extensive collections: The John J. Herrera Papers and The Mexican American Family and Photo Collection.Joined: July 2013.
The Walker Memorial Library at Howard Payne University collections include the Lasso yearbooks from 1912 - 2001, and the Swarm yearbooks from 2002 - 2007. The yearbooks feature school songs, yells, student writings and artwork, as well as photos of faculty, students, student groups, and athletic events. The catalogs and bulletins of Daniel Baker College span the years of 1908 to 1953. They describe the governance, history, admission, course offerings, and campus life of Daniel Baker College in Brownwood, Texas.Joined: May 2009.
In 2011, the Borger Branch of the Hutchinson County Library funded digitization and access to their historic newspaper collection of the Borger Daily Herald, which documents the town's economic boom from 1927-1941. Through the support of the Hutchinson County Library, over 7,800 pages of their historic newspaper are available on the Portal to Texas History.Joined: November 2011.
The Jackson County Memorial Library was organized and sponsored by the Eleanor Brackenridge Literary Club of Edna, Texas in the early 1900s.? The library had a very small beginning and grew slowly for a few years.? By 1939 it had 3,400 volumes and was considered one of the best county libraries in Texas in proportion to the population. It was located in the Jackson County Courthouse.Joined: July 2016.
The Jacob Fontaine Religious Museum provides materials that represent the history of African American churches in the Austin area and have contributed to the Rescuing Texas History, 2006 and Building the African-American Community collections. The museum is named for Jacob Fontaine, a slave preacher who founded thirteen Baptist churches in Travis County. Mainly consisting of photographs, the items date from 1898 to 2006.Joined: May 2009.
The Kemah Historical Society has contributed historical photographs depicting various aspects, places, and people of the city. The Society was founded to research and preserve the history and artifacts of Kemah and the surrounding Bay Area.Joined: March 2012.
The Kerr County Historical Commission (KCHC) was established in 1975, with nine members representing all areas of the county. It is a unit of the Texas Historical Commission and works under the guidance of the Kerr County Commissioners Court. Members are appointed by the Kerr County Commissioners Court.
The purpose of the KCHC is to protect and preserve Kerr County’s historic and cultural resources for the use, education, enjoyment and appreciation of present and future generations. These purposes are distinct from organizations or societies focused on genealogical or family history preservation. The KCHC was pleased to join the Portal to Texas History as a partner in 2014 as an avenue to carry out its purpose of preservation and sharing of historical resources.
Major projects of the KCHC include the preservation of landmark buildings (Old Tivy High School Original Building, the Union Church Restoration), and the designation of over 80 Historical Markers. The Oral History Committee, begun in 1998, has an archive of 85 personal histories of Kerr County pioneer and community individuals. The archives of the KCHC are housed at Schreiner University.
The KCHC gratefully acknowledges the continuing support of the Kerr County Commissioners Court, the visionary leadership of the Chairpersons of the KCHC throughout the years, and the contributions of the many KCHC members committed to preservation of Kerr County.Joined: July 2015.
Lamar State College - Orange contributes their collection of The Orange Leader, a newspaper in Southeast Texas that dates back to the late 1800's. Lamar-Orange opened in 1969 as an extension center of Lamar University in Beaumont and later earned independent accreditation in 1989 and received separate degree-granting authority two years later.Joined: March 2011.
Lamar University presents editions of the school's student-run newspapers and the Larry Jene Fisher Photography Collection. The collections document and illustrate the history of the University as well as the surrounding counties in East Texas.Joined: October 2014.
Lambshead, one of Texas' most historic cattle ranches, is still owned and operated by the direct descendants of Judge J.A. and Sallie Reynolds Matthews. The Reynolds and Matthews were pioneer ranchers and trail drivers who arrived in East Texas in the 1850's and at the Clear Fork of the Brazos River, in 1866. These photographs document ranching history, ranching practices and changes in the land.Joined: October 2009.
Twenty years ago in 1977, 17 "want-a-be" genealogists gathered at the Lancaster Veterans Memorial Library. It was their express aim to promote interest in genealogy and preserving family histories. They chose to call this group the Lancaster Genealogical Society. Now, the roster includes members from Cedar Hill, Dallas, DeSoto, Duncanville, Hutchins, Lancaster, Midlothian, Ovilla, Red Oak, Oklahoma, and Tennessee. Their contribution to the Portal includes issues of the weekly newspaper, the Lancaster Herald.Joined: February 2015.
The Laredo Public Library materials include local history materials selected for the grant Rescuing Texas History through the Digitization of At-Risk Photographs and Maps. Images include photographs of the border area, Fort McIntosh and maps of early Laredo.Joined: May 2009.
The LBJ Museum of San Marcos has partnered with us to contribute the Norman Dietel Photograph Collection, which contains photos of Lyndon B. Johnson and his family, press conferences, ceremonies, and other historic political events. Noteworth persons included in the photos include Sam Rayburn, John F. Kennedy, Billy Moyers, and Harry Truman.Joined: October 2009.
Helen Hall Library of League City features its photograph collection spanning more than a century. Included are the Joseph C. Kilgore Collection, the Caroline Atkinson D'Etchegoyen Collection and the Albert Kiecke Scrapbook Collection.Joined: February 2013.
The Lena Armstrong Public Library contributes a ledger that chronicles Confederate veterans who settled in Bell County, Texas, after the Civil War. The ledger lists members by the state they enlisted in, often includes notes on where particular people fought, and may note a date of death.Joined: May 2009.
The Livingston Municipal Library attempts, within its financial means, to collect, organize, to make accessible, and distribute library materials to meet the informational needs of individuals and groups, to facilitate informal self-instruction, to encourage positive recreation and constructive use of leisure time, and to act as a supplemental resource in the formal education of the children and young people in the community.Joined: March 2015.
Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company, Fort Worth, collaborated with us to provide access to photographs from their extensive image archives of the Mile Long Hangar, formerly operated by Consolidated Aircraft Corporation. The images focus on the thousands of hard-working women who contributed to the war effort by constructing over 3,000 B-24 Liberators.Joined: May 2009.
The Log Cabin Village collections feature 19th century photographs of the Tompkins, Parks, Howard, and Foster families, including tintypes and daguerreotypes. Two letter collections include correspondence between the Parks and Howard families dating from 1840 to 1940.Joined: March 2009.
In 1953-1954 the City of Rockdale Library was opened with 2,300 books donated by the citizens and the Texas State Library, and on October 17, 1954, the public was invited to an open house. In 1961, Dr. George Hill Patterson made a $12,500 donation in memory of his mother, Lucy Hill Patterson, who was born in Rockdale.Joined: February 2015.
The Marfa Public Library materials include photographs that document their local history. Images include photographs of many families, including the Crosson, Contrera, Cordova, Chavarria, Campos, Cline, Love, Vasquez, Porter, Jordan, and Rivera families. Also featured are photos of the ghost town of Shafter, and pictures of the set for the movie "Giant."Joined: May 2009.
The Marshall Public Library partners with us to provide access to local history photographs documenting their library and notable African-American citizens instrumental in Marshall's development. Many of the individuals pictured in the images were featured in the oral history project "The Black Citizen and American Democracy: Black Culture in Harrison County, Past, Present, and Future."Joined: May 2009.
The Maverick Region Porsche Club of America was formed in 1962, and now includes a membership of over 1400 people. Maverick serves the Dallas / Ft. Worth Metroplex and surrounding areas, providing its members with an opportunity to enjoy the company of other Porsche-lovers and their cars. The club’s publication, Slipstream, has been published monthly since its launch in 1965.Joined: July 2016.
The McAllen Public Library provides access to its collection of aerial photographs taken during the 1960's. The photographs document the extensive growth from a primarily agricultural area to an international industrial trade and manufacturing region.Joined: February 2011.
As authorized by the Texas Legislature, McCulloch County Historical Commission (MCHC) assists the Texas Historical Commission (THC) and the McCulloch County Commissioners Court in the preservation of county historic and cultural resources. It receives a small county appropriation and must supplement its income through donations and grant awards. Meeting monthly, or as needed, in Brady, the eleven commission members have specific roles to play on committees that follow THC guidelines. MCHC’s largest project is McCulloch County Early Days, an annual two-day living history event. The McCulloch County Swedish History Collection is the first contribution made by MCHC to any digital collection.Joined: June 2016.
The McFaddin-Ward House Museum has provided photographs, documents, and historic postcards from the family's collection. The mission of the McFaddin-Ward House Museum is to preserve and interpret the McFaddin-Ward House, its collections, and the history of the family associated with it.Joined: February 2015.
The Jay Rollins Library at McMurry University partnered with us to provide access to The Totem, the McMurry University yearbooks. The Totem yearbook, 1924-2006, for McMurry College in Abilene, Texas, is the University yearbook, presenting a record of student and campus life during the previous academic year. Included are photographs, formal and candid, of students, faculty, administrators, staff, student organizations, social clubs, athletic teams, Homecoming, and other special events.Joined: May 2009.
Meridian Public Library is a Public library that serves Meridian, TX in Bosque County. The library circulates 4893 items per year and serves a population of 1517 residents. Their collection consists of over 200 issues of the weekly newspaper The Meridian Tribune from the 1920's and 1930's.Joined: May 2014.
The Mesquite Public Library partnered with us to provide access to historic photos that document the start of this Texas and Pacific Railway depot town from its beginnings in 1873 to the early 20th century. Images include businesses, families, school children, and weddings.Joined: June 2010.
Mexic-Arte Museum features its collection of photographs, catalogs and ephemera documenting the Museum's many activities since its opening in 1984. The Mexic-Arte Museum is well-known for its longest-running Day of the Dead Festival, showcasing Latino/Tejano artists, entertainment, and educational programs in the heart of downtown Austin.Joined: April 2013.
Midwestern State University is a leading public liberal arts university committed to providing students with rigorous undergraduate and graduate education in the liberal arts and the professions. The University was established in 1922 and is located in Wichita Falls, Texas, which is midway between Oklahoma City and the Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex.Joined: May 2014.
The Mineral Wells Heritage Association features a selection of items from its archives. The association is dedicated to preserving the history of Mineral Wells and the surrounding area. Its members are the caretakers of the Rock School Museum, located at 105 N.W. 5th Ave., Mineral Wells, TX.Joined: September 2013.
Montgomery County Memorial Library System began as a collection of 1200 volumes housed in a Conroe School Recreation Center and operated by a women’s group known as the HUB Club. In 1947, the HUB Club appealed to the County to make the library a tax-supported function of County government.Joined: January 2014.
The Truman G. Blocker, Jr. History of Medicine Collections in the Moody Medical Library at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston holds “one of the world’s great historical collections of books and manuscripts in the history of medicine.” Divided into three major areas of interest, the Blocker Collections holds: the Rare Book Collection which dates to the late 14th century; the University Archives which date to the opening of UTMB in 1891; and the Charles A. Berry, M.D. History of Space Medicine Collections which dates to the founding of the US space program.Joined: December 2013.
The Moore Memorial Public Library materials include local history materials selected for the grant Rescuing Texas History through the Digitization of At-Risk Photographs and Maps. Images include photographs of the 1st Aero Squadron in Texas City from 1913-15, and of the Texas City Disaster of 1947.Joined: May 2009.
The mission of Murphy Historical Society located in Collin County in north Texas is to preserve the past and present history of the community of Murphy, Texas. This collection includes photographs, postcards, and documents from 1880-1985. The collection was initiated by local historian, Donna Brumit Jenkins, in 2010 to document the early farming community which was quickly changing into a suburban bedroom community. The collection was continued by the Murphy Historical Society at its formation in 2011.
The images records and represents the memory and dedication of the men and women who turned the plow and tamed the Blackland Prairie of north Texas, specifically Murphy, Texas. The photographs, including homes, schools, farms, animals, and people typify the soul of the community and the intense sense of farm and family.Joined: August 2016.
The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston contributes photographs from the Robert Joy Collection. Joy, Houston's premiere portraitist, painted more than 350 portraits over a career that spanned more than forty years. Lawyers, politicians, and the socially elite of Houston were among those who sat for Joy. Photos in the collection, assembled over the course of his work, include those of Lillie Abercrombie, Robert E. Blaffer, Sarah Campbell Blaffer, Alfred C. Glassell Jr., William Clayton, Libbie Rice Farish, William Stamps Farish, Lamar Fleming, and Lyndon B. Johnson.Joined: May 2009.
The Museum of South Texas History (MOSTHistory) was founded in 1967 as the Hidalgo County Historical Museum. Located in Edinburg, Texas, the museum features exhibits on the history of the Rio Grande Valley between South Texas and Northeastern Mexico highlighting the rich heritage and blended culture of the region.Joined: February 2015.
The Museum of the American Railroad presents photographs from the Burt C. Blanton Collection, a stunning compilation of images of trains from the age of steam to the 1960s. View photographs of the "Louisiana Eagle," "Sam Houston Zephyr," "Southern Belle," "Bluebonnet," "Texas Eagle," "Texas Zephyr," "Texas Chief," and many others.Joined: May 2009.
Founded in 1926, the museum is a department of Sul Ross State University in Alpine, Texas and contains over 25,000 objects from prehistoric to contemporary times. They have contributed photographs and glass plate negatives to the Portal to Texas History, which depict the Van Uxen family, Schwable family, and European and Mexican ancestry.Joined: March 2012.
The Museum of the Gulf Coast provides over 450 photographs and postcards that depict the industry, activities, and life along the Coast. The museum combines conventional and unconventional methods to tell the exciting story of the Texas/ Louisiana Gulf Coast region.Joined: February 2012.
The National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum provide the Texas History Collection with a handwritten ledger containing a list of registered brands in Texas and surrounding states. It includes ear marks and branding symbols as well as the name and address of the holders.Joined: July 2012.
The Nesbitt Memorial Library provides items to the Portal to Texas History concerning Colorado County form the early 1800's through the late 1900's. The items focus on early Texas settlers, Civil War letters, Reconstruction after the Civil War, World War veterans and events concerning the development of Colorado County.Joined: February 2012.
The Newton County Historical Commission is situated in the easternmost county in Texas. The Commission received a Rescuing Texas History grant to digitize issues of the Newton County News that tell the story of the restoration of the Newton County Courthouse over the first decade of the 21st-century.Joined: November 2015.
The Nicholas P. Sims Library and Lyceum is committed to serving, supporting and educating our community by providing convenient and effective access to high quality library services, collections in a variety of formats, and information resources designed to meet the needs of our community.Joined: August 2010.
The Northeast Lakeview College collections feature photographs of the Lower Valley School (1877-1966), a rural two-room German schoolhouse that served the Cibolo and Schertz communities for 89 years. Images include class pictures, students, teachers, school plays and field trips.Joined: October 2009.
The Oklahoma Historical Society's materials include two collection of handwritten documents and treaties relating to the Cherokee and Caddo Indians and the letter collection of I.G. Vore, an Indian Agent in Oklahoma. Many of the letters in the Vore collection discuss the affairs of the Texas Cherokee Indians in his jurisdiction.Joined: May 2009.
The Old Jail Art Center (OJAC) opened in 1980 with four small galleries, in the first permanent jail built in Shackelford County. The mission of the Old Jail Art Center is to be the primary cultural resource for the region, providing visual art, performing art, and local history resources for residents and visitors alike, and fostering memorable experiences for all. Their collection consists of editions of the weekly newspapers The Albany News, The Albany Star, and The Albany Echo.Joined: May 2014.
The Old Settler's Association of Grayson County partners with us to provide access to their minutes from 1879-2005. The ledgers and minutes contain handwritten minutes, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and registers of members.Joined: May 2009.
Orange County Historical Society presents its quarterly publication Las Sabinas that provides extensive historical coverage of the southeastern Texas region along the Sabine River. The journal features essays, oral histories; newspaper articles; letters; records of births, marriages, and deaths; photographs; cemetery records; court proceedings and public records.Joined: June 2013.
The Bicentennial City County Library serves Cottle County from the county seat of Paducah, and it offers a variety of holdings to its patrons, including 14,300 books, 329 audio materials, 373 video materials, and 22 serial subscriptions. In 1909, the Quannah, Acme, and Pacific Railroad arrived on Christmas Day in Paducah, when the town population was around 1400 citizens.Joined: May 2016.
The Dr. Pound Historical Farmstead Museum, built in 1854, was the home of one of the founding families of Dripping Springs, TX. It was the first school house, church, and medical office. The Pound family occupied the house until 1983. The reconstructed home and its decorative artifacts represent life in Central Texas around the year 1910. Artifacts include books, photographs, correspondence, medical supplies, textiles, and furniture dating from 1854-1963.Joined: September 2016.
Twenty women organized the Palacios Library on June 15, 1910. At the end of the year the library had 104 members, 325 books, and $150 in the treasury. The library was originally housed in a narrow framed building, which was once the town box ball alley.Joined: May 2014.
The Palestine Public Library materials include local history photographs selected for the grant Rescuing Texas History through the digitization of at-Risk photographs and maps, as well as photos taken during a Historic Resources Study in 1991.Joined: May 2009.
The Panhandle-Plains Historical Museum opened in 1933 as a showcase for the artifacts, art, and archives that document the history and culture of the Texas Panhandle and surrounding plains regions. Its collections in the fields of paleontology, ethnology, natural history, pioneer history, and art cover the region from its prehistory through the modern era.Joined: March 2012.
Panola College has provided the Portal to Texas History with multiple collections, including "Black Gold," a serial written to help to instill leadership skills in African American students, and "The Pony Express" and "Panola Panorama," which encompass the college's student newspaper run. The M.P. Baker Library of Panola College is dedicated to offering resources and services, when and where they are needed, to enhancing the development of the whole student body, and to offering opportunities for students to become lifelong learners.Joined: March 2012.
The Pearce Museum is located on the campus of Navarro College in Corsicana, Texas. Through our mission to connect with the past by engaging today’s visitor through personal perspectives of the Civil War and the American West, we bring to life two important time periods in the history of our nation. By participating in the Portal to Texas History, the Pearce Museum highlights the involvement of Texas during the Civil War, and provides further access of its collection to the general public. For access to our entire collection, please visit us at www.pearcemuseum.com.Joined: July 2015.
Permian Basin Petroleum Museum, Library and Hall of Fame collections are diverse in content, covering life of the West Texas ranching heritage, life in the Permian Basin boom towns, and early oilfield camps. The images date from the 1890s to 1950s.Joined: October 2009.
The Pharr Memorial Library strives to promote the love of reading and serves as a gateway to knowledge for the Pharr community. With deep roots in Texas history, the city of Pharr was originally sited in a Spanish land grant made in 1767 to Juan José Hinojosa. The city became further developed when, in 1911, it was a stop on the St. Louis, Brownsville, and Mexico Railway, where it served as a crossroads for shipping and travel between the United States and Mexico.Joined: April 2016.
The Pioneer City County Museum, located in Sweetwater, Texas is dedicated to preserving the history of Nolan County and the City of Sweetwater as well as to educating our community. We are located at 610 E. Third Street in the historic Ragland House. The house itself is extremely unique in that it served as a working funeral home for 30 years as well as a home to three families. The Ragland House now contains some 500,000+ artifacts representing the history of our community and dating back to as far as 15,000 B.C.E.
As part of our commitment to community education the Pioneer Museum has partnered with several local organizations including The Woman’s Forum, Sweetwater High School’s AVID program, and Sweetwater Intermediate School. We have also joined forces with local families to increase our accessibility for families challenged with vision and hearing impairments, and autism spectrum disorder. We hope you enjoy this small part of our collection on the Portal to Texas History and visit us soon!Joined: June 2016.
The Post Public Library contributed its collection of catalogs for the annual OS Ranch Steer Roping and Art Exhibit that were published from 1976 to 1983. The three day event was a means to benefit the West Texas Boys Ranch. While the ropers performed in the arena before thousands of visitors, the artists' western paintings and sculptures were displayed and sold in the old ranch house.Joined: January 2015.
The Pottsboro Area Public Library was organized in May 1985. In April 1986 the library was officially opened in a donated mobile home. October 1989, the Library moved to a location in Preston Plaza, Pottsboro. In 1991, the Resource Savings Building on Highway 120 was purchased with grants, donations and fundraisers. The Pottsboro Area Public Library was accepted in the Northeast Texas Library System (NETLS). It was the only all-volunteer library in the area, including the librarian. In Jan. 1998, the Library received a Telecommunications Infrastructure Fund Grant to provide computers and equipment for patrons to access the Internet. Also in 1998, the International Rotarian District 5810 built and donated a 600 square foot addition to the Library.
The Pottsboro Area Public Library is a 501 (C) (3) organization chartered by the Office of the Secretary of State for the purposes of providing free public services. We have a current contract with the City of Pottsboro and Grayson County. It is operated by the Pottsboro City Operating Board, responsible for the daily function of the library. A separate organization, The Friends of the Library, holds fundraisers and secures grants and donations. We have one part-time salaried librarian, with volunteers serving in various staff positions.Joined: June 2015.
Prairie View A&M University features the Texas Standard, a publication of the State Teachers Association of Texas, 1933-1966. The Texas Standard documents the history of African American teachers in Texas before desegregation.Joined: December 2011.
The Price Johnson Family Collection provides statistic records, deeds, titles, photographs and newspaper articles relating to the history of an African American family started by Sam Price; a slave whose freedom was purchased by the slavemasters' daughter. The various unions between subsequent family members have given rise to land owners, educators, politicians, athletes, and civil rights leaders.Joined: March 2012.
The Private Collection of Bouncer Goin includes local history materials from Mr. Goin's hometown of Aubrey, Texas. Materials include a 1918 Aubrey High School Yearbook; family photos; images of local churches, businesses, and the tornado of April 1918.Joined: May 2009.
Private Collection of Caroline R. Scrivner Richards includes letters and photographs predominately from Paris, Texas. Materials include photographs of family members, the Paris fire of 1916, and family correspondence. Letters include correspondence between Judge David H. Scott of Paris and family friend, Cyrus I. Scofield, author of the Scofield Reference Bible.Joined: May 2009.
Born in 1927 in Wheelock, Texas, Estelle Mitchell Adams is the last surviving grandchild of Georgia slaves who came to Texas in 1895. This collection is meant to preserve and share her memories of the cultural and historical details of the the African-American citizens who helped to develop the town of Wheelock and the county of Robertson, TX.Joined: August 2015.
The Private Collection of Jim Bell features photographs of the Texas county courthouses and the surrounding buildings and streets. Photographer and commercial contractor Jim Bell traveled throughout Texas photographing county courthouses, significant historical buildings and landmarks. His photographs also include interior views, architectural details, and historical markers.Joined: February 2011.
The Judge Joseph A. Carroll Collection consists of 80 letters of approximately 129 pages written to and from Judge Carroll between 1856 through 1869. Joseph A. Carroll played a major role in the early development of North Texas. He was a founding father of Denton, Texas as well as a significant player before, during, and after the Civil War in shaping north Texas.Joined: January 2014.
The Private Collection of Judy Wood and Jim Atkinson contributed their book, Fort Worth's Huge Deal: Unwinding Westside's Twisted Legend. The book discusses Arlington Heights, a neighborhood in Fort Worth that was founded in the late 1880s.Joined: March 2015.
The Bahl, Wheatly, and Hessdoerfer families were residents of Waco, Texas from the 1850's. The items in this collection were found in the Elmer and Josephine (Bahl) Wheatly home after the death of Elmer and Josephine Wheatly in 2010.Joined: June 2016.
The Private Collection of Mary Newton Maxwell includes family photographs, letters, and documents along with journals and church registers. The collection spans many Texas counties and over 150 years of Texas history.Joined: January 2015.
The Private Collection of Melvin E. Brewer consists of 39 letters revealing the courtship of Emma Davis and John C. Brewer between 1876 and 1879. John C. Brewer was living in Rockwall County and Emma Davis was in Hopkins County at the time. The collection includes transcriptions of each letter.Joined: January 2013.
The Private Collection of Mike Cochran features photographic negatives of the African-American community of Waco, Texas. The collection consists of numerous studio portraits, marriage portraits, graduation and older family photos.Joined: February 2012.
The Private Collection of Rosa Walston Latimer consists of original, hand-written letters and other correspondence from former Texas Harvey Girls (and their families) who worked in Harvey Houses along the Santa Fe Railroad in Texas.Joined: March 2015.
The Private Collection of T. B. Willis consists of historical photographs of World War I Camp MacArthur, church photos, buildings across Texas, a collection of African-American photographs, and family photo albums, which include Willis family albums and extended relatives who settled in Waco, Texas in the 19th century.Joined: April 2013.
The Private Collection of the Ellis and Blanton Families includes photographs predominately from Fort Worth, Texas. Materials include photographs of family members, including weddings, and a photo of the Sunday school class from the First Methodist Church in 1906.Joined: May 2009.
The Private Collection of the Raymond B. Holbrook Family contributed Texas Week, the first weekly magazine devoted entirely to the State of Texas.Joined: February 2015.
The Sutherlin Family presents their collection of family letters to and from James Edgar Sutherlin, when he served in the U.S. Navy in WWII. He enlisted before he was 18 and served from 1943 - 1946. Official Navy documents, ship menus, Newsletters, and family photographs are included.Joined: February 2011.
The Galveston and Texas History Center at the Rosenberg Library in Galveston, Texas collects, preserves and organizes archival materials that document the history of Galveston and Texas, focusing on Galveston from the city’s incorporation in 1839 through the present and Texas from the Spanish period to the end of the Civil War. Manuscripts comprise the History Center's largest and most significant component. Other holdings in the History Center include a large photograph collection, maps, architectural drawings, genealogical materials, and reference books. The History Center contributes city directories from Galveston for the period 1859 – 1881.Joined: August 2015.
A center of agricultural and oil production, Reagan County is situated in West Texas on the northwestern edge of the Edwards Plateau. Documenting the community's history from the 1920s and onwards, The Big Lake Wildcat is available on The Portal to Texas History through the generous support of a Tocker Foundation grant.Joined: November 2015.
The Richard S. and Leah Morris Memorial Library was completed in 2012 with a gift donation from Mr. Richard S. Morris. Their addition of The Claude News to The Portal to Texas History has been generously supported by the Tocker Foundation.Joined: November 2013.
The mission of the Rio Grande City Public Library is to maintain and improve the quality of life for all citizens of our community by providing resources that enhance literacy, life-long learning and access to ideas. The Library serves as a hub for patrons to discover the joy of reading and the value of libraries. The Rio Grande City Public Library has over 5,000 library card holders and welcomes 1000 visitors a month. The Library Board of the City of Rio Grande City was created in 2008 and is charged with encouraging development of the public library and with recommending to City Council policies and programs for the advancement of the library.Joined: December 2011.
The Rose Marine Theater opened as a movie house in the 1920s, and was well-known for screening Spanish language films. The theater brought famous Mexican movie stars from the Golden Age of Cinema to Fort Worth to promote their films. These photographs include images of actors and performers such as Tito Guizar, Victor M. Cuevas, Lydia Mendoza, Carlos Lopez Moctezuma, Maria Luisa Zea, Juan Alvarado, Fernando Casanova, Sofia Alvarez, and others. The Rose Marine Theater is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.Joined: May 2009.
The Sam Rayburn House Museum has provided a collection of photographs and artwork from the Rayburn family's personal collection. The mission of the Sam Rayburn House Museum is to increase local, regional and national awareness of Sam Rayburn's life and career as a United States Congressman through the preservation and interpretation of the historic site.Joined: February 2012.
The San Antonio Conservation Society Foundation Library documents the history of San Antonio and South Central Texas with an emphasis on the built environment. Our contribution to the portal includes images from the Raba Collection, which consists of photographs of San Antonio street scenes and a few portraits, taken by professional photographer Ernst Raba between c. 1853 and c. 1939.Joined: October 2014.
The San Antonio Public Library changes lives through the transformative power of information, imagination and ideas. They have provided the Portal to Texas History with items from the San Antonio Development Agency documenting urban renewal of an area known as "Laredito" from the 1800's to the present day and funeral programs of the African American community.Joined: February 2012.
A half-century of innovation, inclusion and extraordinary growth mark the history of San Jacinto College. We’ve evolved from one location in urban Pasadena to three campuses and 12 extension centers serving the Greater Houston community. Today nearly 30,000 students discover their pathways at San Jacinto College.Joined: May 2016.
The San Jacinto Museum of History contributes select items for the Lorenzo de Zavala Online: Empresario, Statesman and Texas Revolutionary collection. See an oil painting of de Zavala or read Mary Jane Briscoe's biographical sketch about him. Her family lived at Buffalo Bayou near the de Zavalas when she was a child.Joined: May 2009.
Schreiner University Logan Library features a selection of materials from its archives. William M. Logan Library is the academic library at Schreiner University in Kerrville, Texas, in the heart of the Texas Hill Country. As part of the library’s mission to provide innovative information resources, Logan Library began digitizing special collections and archival items in 2006. By participating in the Portal to Texas History, Logan Library strives to preserve and improve access to collections of Texas Hill Country history to serve scholars and educators around the world.Joined: September 2013.
The Schulenburg Historical Museum offers exhibits that depict life in the early days of the rural German-Czech community. Their collection includes two books about the history of Schulenburg which have previously been unavailable to online researchers.Joined: January 2015.
Supporters of the Schulenburg Public Library have funded digitization and access to thirty years of the town's historic newspaper, the Schulenburg Sticker, on the Portal to Texas History. In the 1920's, charter members of the Schulenburg Literary Club began a library located in a local residence.Joined: November 2011.
Representing Shamrock, Texas, the Shamrock Public Library is a member of the Harrington Library Consortium in the Texas panhandle. Members of the Thursday Literary Club started The Shamrock Public Library in 1925, and it is still going strong today.Joined: November 2014.
Silsbee was first referred to as Mill Town when the site was first reached by the Gulf, Beaumont, and Kansas City Railway in 1894. The town was renamed in recognition of Nathaniel Silsbee, an investor from Boston, Massachusetts, who helped provide funds for the railway.Joined: May 2016.
Slovanska Podporujici Jednota Statu Texas (SPJST) members believe in the necessity of effective and regular communication between all parts of the organization. The SPJST publishes the Vestnik as its official publication, in support of this belief.Joined: November 2015.
The Smith County Historical Society, a non-profit organization, was founded in 1959 by individuals and business firms dedicated to discovering, collecting and preserving data, records and other items related to the history of Smith County, Texas.Joined: November 2015.
St. Mary’s University, founded in 1852 by Marianist brothers and priests, is the first institution of higher learning in San Antonio and the oldest Catholic university in Texas and the Southwest. The University began as St. Mary's College on the banks of the San Antonio River. In 1894, the present campus was acquired and a second Marianist school, St. Louis College, was established. This school became St. Mary's University of San Antonio in 1926. St. Mary’s currently offers more than 75 programs, including two doctoral and two law programs. While St. Mary's has always been and continues to be a Catholic and a Marianist University, it serves people of all faiths in San Antonio, South Texas, and other parts of the nation and the world. The mission of St. Mary’s University, as a Catholic Marianist University, is to foster the formation of people in faith and educate leaders for the common good through community, integrated liberal arts and professional education, and academic excellence.Joined: May 2015.
St. Philip's College has provided the Portal with items focused around the history of San Antonio's historically black college; including over 500 photographs. The College is dedicated to providing an educational environment which stimulates leadership, personal growth, and a lifelong appreciation for learning while focusing on socioeconomic diversity.Joined: February 2012.
The Star of the Republic Museum is located in Washington-on-the-Brazos State Historic Site, and its mission is to collect and preserve material culture of the Texas Republic. The Star of the Republic Museum's digital collections include books, letters, manuscripts, portraits, maps, photographs, and an impressive variety of artifacts that includes furniture, clothing, buttons, farm implements, china, trade tokens, arrowheads, and looms.Joined: May 2009.
Stella Hill Memorial Library contributes for digitization all extant issues of the local weekly newspaper, the Alto Herald. The newspapers from 1909-1966 provide an ongoing picture of life in and around this small town located on El Camino Real in southern Cherokee County. Alto is one of the oldest towns in East Texas, and the newspapers, with their feature stories, obituaries and advertisements chronicle the history and lifestyle of the era. The digitization was funded by a grant from the Tocker Foundation.Joined: February 2012.
The primary purpose of the East Texas Research Center (ETRC) is to collect, preserve, maintain and make available archival materials that support the educational and research goals of Stephen F. Austin State University (SFA) and the surrounding East Texas community.Joined: October 2015.
Stonewall County Library presents 89 volumes of yearbooks from the county's three schools: Aspermont, Old Glory and Peacock. This project was funded entirely by donations from interested parties and funds received from the Loan Star Libraries Grant, a direct state aid program for Texas Public Libraries to Stonewall County Library.Joined: August 2010.
The Sulphur Springs Public Library features images of Texans Katie and Buddy Sinclair during WWII. Images include foreign currency, WWII troops, and Camp Bowie. Buddy Sinclair served in the "Texas" 36th Infantry Division. These materials were scanned for the Rescuing Texas History project.Joined: May 2009.
The Sweetwater/Nolan County City-County Library contributes hundreds of issues of the Sweetwater Reporter; a daily newspaper from the city of Sweetwater, Texas. The papers are from 2010- 2012 and contain local, state, and national news, as well as advertising.Joined: July 2012.
The Swisher County Library presents the Tulia Herald from 1918-1962. The weekly newspaper contains, local, national and world news, stories, poetry, jokes, and advertisements. Funding for this project was provided by the Tocker Foundation.Joined: March 2009.
The Talkington/Clement Family Archives include 500 pages and 50 photographs that provide accounts of the Texas frontier before the Civil War, as well as a memoir of Perry Clement Talkington. The family archives also provide a genealogy of both the Talkington and Clement families.Joined: February 2012.
Tarleton State University contributes its collection of school newspapers and serials The Texas Miner and Texas Mining and Trade Journal, published by the Texas Pacific Coal Company, that recounts company life in Thurber, Texas.Joined: February 2011.
As part of its mission to collect, preserve, and offer for research documents which are a record of the history of Tarrant County, the Tarrant County Archives has partnered with us to provide access to the Woman's Wednesday Club minutes. The minutes are a record of 115 years of meetings and document club business, motions, events, and membership.Joined: December 2014.
Tarrant County College District Archives contributes digital copies of materials that document local and state history, including images of businesses, cemeteries, churches, courthouses, lawmen, monuments, outlaws, schools, Native Americans, and early pioneers of Tarrant County.Joined: May 2009.
The Taylor Public Library contributes hundreds of photographs to the Are We There Yet? Transportation in Central Texas collection. The photos date from 1883 to the 1960s and show buildings, automobiles, businesses, and various other aspects of the history of Taylor, Texas and outlying communities.Joined: February 2012.
The Texas Chapter of the American Fisheries Society collection contains photos, documents, and newsletters from the Chapter’s beginnings in 1975 to the present. TCAFS membership includes people from various state agencies, universities, and businesses. Its mission is to inspire the conservation, development, and wise utilization of recreational and commercial fisheries, promotion of all branches of fisheries science and practice, and the exchange and dissemination of knowledge about fish, fisheries, and related subjects.Joined: January 2013.
The Texas Coastal Bend Collection is located in Victoria Texas. The TCBC is a thirty five plus year documentation of the ranching culture in South Texas with the O'Connor ranches serving as the focal point. The Irish immigration in the early 1830s coincided with the Texas Revolution in 1836 and launched the land hungry Irish toward an immense accumulation of what was then considered worthless land. When the cattle industry boomed post Civil War the influx of freed slaves coupled with the established Mexican ranching traditions and the unique climate of the coastal bend created vast ranches that supported an unusually isolated lifestyle lasting into the 1960s. In many ways the earliest Irish colonists came to personify the Texas myth of empire, stoicism, and survival. Their ranches were almost exclusively populated with Black and Mexican cowhands and this tripartite culture's connection to the land is the source of a valuable wisdom that we seek to preserve and pass on through our future website.Joined: May 2016.
The Texas General Land Office contributes items from their Historic County Map Collection, ca. 1838-1939 ( 926 maps), Lorenzo de Zavala Online (13 items), and the O. Henry Collection (11 items). The historic county maps are cadastral (land ownership) maps, showing original surveys, usually made by virtue of a land grant, within a particular county in Texas. In Lorenzo de Zavala Online, see the Expediente of de Zavala's 1829 colonization contract, as well as correspondence to or from Jose Angel Navarro, Jose Domingo Ugartechea, Jose Maria Falcon, Martin Perfecto de Cos, Stephen F. Austin, Manuel de Mier y Teran, and Ramon Musquiz. As part of the O. Henry Collection, the General Land Office contributes maps drawn and signed by O. Henry, administrative records, newspaper clippings, a written account, and a land grant records.Joined: May 2009.
Texas Historical Commission (THC) contributes its quarterly publication The Medallion containing articles about historic sites, preservation issues, and heritage tourism opportunities in Texas. The Texas Historical Commission is the state agency for historic preservation. THC staff consults with citizens and organizations to preserve Texas' architectural, archeological, and cultural landmarks.Joined: September 2012.
The Texas Historical Foundation sponsored digitization of two projects. They partnered with us to provide access to their quarterly Heritage magazine, which publishes articles related to the preservation of historic artifacts and sites around Texas. The Texas Historical Foundation also funded the digitization of several volumes of the early session laws of the Republic of Texas.Joined: May 2009.
The Texas Parks & Wildlife Department (TPWD) manages and protects the state's parks and historical areas as well as its wildlife and habitats. The TPWD and the Battleship TEXAS State Historic Site present a photograph collection which documents the battleship from its beginning as a warship to its current status as a permanent memorial museum.Joined: January 2015.
The Texas State Genealogical Society partnered with us to provide access to their quarterly journal, Stirpes, from 1961 to 1990. Stirpes contains unpublished records and other materials whose purpose is to stimulate and support the research and teaching of genealogy.Joined: May 2009.
The Texas State Historical Association features its publications The Southwestern Historical Quarterly (1897-2004) and the Texas Almanac (1857-2004). Organized in Austin on March 2, 1897, the Texas State Historical Association is the oldest learned society in the state. Its mission is to "foster the appreciation, understanding, and teaching of the rich and unique history of Texas and, by example and through programs and activities, encourage and promote research, preservation, and publication of historical material affecting the state of Texas."Joined: July 2010.
The Texas State Library and Archives Commission contributes select items for the Lorenzo de Zavala Online: Empresario, Statesman and Texas Revolutionary collection. Three times de Zavala resigned as the interim Vice-President of the Republic of Texas, and all of those letters can be found here, along with correspondence to or from Enrique Rueg, J. Benito Camacho, David G. Burnet, J. Mariano Irala, Jorge Antonio Nixon, Joaquin Noriega, Archivaldo Hopkins, and Philip Dimmitt.Joined: May 2009.
The Texas State Preservation Board was established in 1983 to preserve, maintain, and restore the State Capitol and the General Land Office building. The Preservation Board contributed photographs of artifacts that were in use at the General Land Office when O Henry worked in the department.Joined: March 2015.
Texas State University was established by the 26th Legislature in 1899 as the Southwest Texas State Normal School; 313 pupils were enrolled in 1903-04, the first year classes were held. The school name changed to Southwest Texas State Normal College in 1918, to Southwest Texas State Teachers College in 1925, to Southwest Texas State College in 1959, to Southwest Texas State University in 1969, to Texas State University-San Marcos in 2003, and to Texas State University in 2013.Joined: October 2015.
Texas Wesleyan University, founded in 1890 in Fort Worth, is a United Methodist institution with a tradition in the liberal arts and sciences and a focus on professional and career preparation. Our mission at Texas Wesleyan University is to develop students to their full potential as individuals and as members of the world community. Texas Wesleyan has historically combined service to a residential population along with its strong commitment to a commuting and adult population.Joined: January 2012.
Texas Woman's University Woman's Collection partnered with us to provide images of their campus, yearbooks, photographs, and other memorabilia to the Rescuing Texas History, 2010 and From Plowshares to Diplomas: Digitizing Early Denton History collections.Joined: May 2010.
Concerned citizens of the Timpson area had on several occasions attempted to establish a library for the Timpson area. Through a series of state legislative decisions, the physical building of the library was funded. Soon, work began to establish the underpinnings of the library through diligent volunteers who used a donated computer to catalog donated books received from other libraries.Joined: May 2016.
Travis County contributes selected records from the office of the County Clerk, including probate, deed, and county court records and Commissioners Court minutes, dating from the 1840s to the early 1900s. The Travis County Clerk is the county recorder, clerk to the County Courts, and clerk to the Commissioners Court.Joined: September 2015.
The United States 12th Armored Division Memorial Museum contributes a selection of its photograph collection. Located in Abilene, Texas, the 12th Armored Division Memorial Museum serves as a display and teaching museum for the study of World War II and its impact on the American people.Joined: March 2014.
The Tyrrell Historical Library presents a selection of its local history archives that consist of personal papers, business, civic, fraternal, organizational, and city records. The collections capture a wide array of material including family letters, journals, diaries, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, business reports, minutes and correspondence, along with thousands of photographs. The Tyrrell Historical Library is a unique library in that it collects and preserves the history of the greater Beaumont area, which also includes the history of southeast Texas and southwest Louisiana. The library as a historical research repository was established in 1975.Joined: July 2014.
The University of Dallas Library provides copies of The University News, a weekly student newspaper of the University, to the Texas Digital Newspaper Program. The paper discusses news, sports, arts, entertainment, and other various events and organizations related to the campus and student life.Joined: February 2012.
The University of Houston Libraries' Special Collections presents a large collection of personal letters from Mary (Mrs. Anson) Jones, dated between 1866 to 1882, discussing local affairs, family and friends. After Anson Jones's death, there were issues relating to land claims and taxes on land owned by the family. The bulk of the letters are to Mary Jones's son, Cromwell Anson Jones.Joined: May 2009.
The University of Texas at Arlington Libraries contributes a large collection of maps, photographs, books, and letters to several collections, including German Immigration to Texas, Humanities Texas Grant, and Where the West Begins: Capturing Fort Worth's Historic Treasures. They also provide select items for the Lorenzo de Zavala Online: Empresario, Statesman and Texas Revolutionary collection.Joined: March 2009.
The Eugene McDermott Library's Special Collections and Archives Division at the University of Texas at Dallas presents a selection of The History of Aviation Collection. The Collection preserves the history and legacy of aviation, with a special emphasis on aviation and Texas, the Cold War, World War I, Lighter than Air flight, and the post war papers of General James Doolittle.Joined: December 2013.
The University of Texas at El Paso Library has contributed digital copies of books from the period of the Mexican Revolution and has participated in a project that digitized the El Paso Morning Times, also from the period of the Mexican Revolution, when the newspaper included news in Spanish.Joined: January 2012.
This collections features 1,000 images from the 1968 HemisFair, "The Confluence of Civilizations in the Americas." The photographs and slides document the fair, from the construction of buildings to visits by important people such as Lyndon B. Johnson, Lady Bird Johnson, John Connally, and Henry B. Gonzalez. From April to October of 1968, over 6 million people visited the fair which brought international attention to San Antonio and Texas.Joined: October 2009.
The Texas Folklife Festival is an annual event sponsored by the University of Texas at San Antonio's Institute of Texan Cultures that celebrates the many ethnicities represented in the state of Texas. Modeled after the Smithsonian’s Folklife Festival, the first event was held in 1972 on the on the grounds of the Institute in HemisFair Park. Thousands attend the three-day event each year, which features cultural foods, dances, and musical performances.Joined: November 2011.
The Libraries of the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio have contributed a selection of books from the P.I. Nixon Medical History Library and selected membership records from the Bexar County Medical Society Records housed in the University Archives. The books were collected by Dr. P. I. Nixon and other physicians in San Antonio and provide a snapshot of San Antonio culture, climate, and medical conditions in nineteenth and early twentieth-century Texas. Some of the books are autobiographies of pioneer Texas physicians. Membership records are limited to members born 1910 or earlier and contain photographs and information on family, training, and experience.Joined: February 2011.
The University of Texas-Pan American images include local history materials selected for the grant Rescuing Texas History through the Digitization of At-Risk Photographs and Maps. Images include panoramic photographs of the Southwestern Land Excursion Company and glass plate negatives documenting the history of Hidalgo County.Joined: May 2009.
The UNT Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism has been a major provider of professionals and academics for all forms of media, profit and non-profit communication organizations since 1945. Organized into two departments, the school offers both undergraduate and graduate degrees. Alumni of the School have achieved many awards--including a number of Pulitzer Prizes.Joined: May 2013.
Library facilities at the University of North Texas function as the nerve center for teaching and academic research. In addition to a major collection of electronic journals, books and databases, five campus facilities house just under six million cataloged holdings, including books, periodicals, maps, documents, microforms, audiovisual materials, music scores, full-text journals and books. A branch library is located at the University of North Texas Dallas Campus.Joined: March 2009.
Serving as both a federal and a state depository library, the UNT Libraries Government Documents Department maintains a collection of over 1 million items in a variety of formats including print, microform, audiovisual, maps, posters, musical scores, LPs, CD-ROMs, and Web documents. The department is a member of the FDLP Content Partnerships Program and an Affiliated Archive of the National Archives.Joined: December 2009.
The Special Collections department collects and preserves rare and unique materials including rare books, oral histories, university archives, historical manuscripts, maps, microfilm, photographs, art and artifacts. Students, faculty and the public are welcome to access collections and view special exhibits in the fourth floor Reading Room.Joined: December 2009.
The Media Library contains the UNT Libraries' nonprint, audiovisual collections. The mission of the UNT Media Library is to support the instructional and research needs of UNT faculty, staff, and students by collecting, maintaining, and providing access to media materials that represent all academic disciplines and all genres of film.Joined: December 2009.
Affiliated with the UNT Department of History, the Oral History Program records, transcribes, and archives oral history interviews in order to preserve the history of the North Texas region. The program also trains UNT students in the theory and methods of oral history, conducts workshops for members of the larger community, and maintains partnerships with a variety of related institutions and organizations.Joined: November 2011.
The University of North Texas Press was founded in 1987 and published its first book in 1989. Though it is the newest university press in North Texas, it has quickly become a leading press with the most titles in print (more than 300) and published (15 to 18 each year). The UNT Press is a fully accredited member of the Association of American University Presses. Its books are distributed and marketed nationally and internationally through the Texas A&M University Press Consortium.Joined: December 2009.
The HRC serves MD Anderson and the larger scholarly community by preserving, cataloging, and providing access to materials documenting the clinical, research, educational, and cancer prevention activities of MD Anderson's faculty, staff, and affiliated organizations. The "Making Cancer History Voices" collection documents the history of the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. Personal interviews with the men and women of M.D. Anderson who dedicated their work to eliminating cancer provide unique insights into a host of important social, medical, political, and scientific developments related to cancer.Joined: June 2011.
UT Southwestern Medical Center Library contributes a book for the Lorenzo de Zavala Online: Empresario, Statesman and Texas Revolutionary collection: Memorial to the legislature of the State of Texas, of Wm. H. Jones, Administrator of the estate of Lorenzo de Zavala, deceased, empresario of Zavala's Colony.Joined: May 2009.
Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria presents over 200 photographs belonging to J.D. Mitchell, a rancher in Calhoun County who would later serve as a Texas state representative. The photographs depict ranching practices, hunting and the topography of Calhoun and Victoria County.Joined: November 2009.
The Westbank Community Library District contributes select items from the Eanes History Collection detailing the growth of Westlake Hills and Rollingwood, TexasJoined: September 2016.
The Witte Museum contributes more than 200, The Witte Museum's more than 183,000 artifacts include diverse collections in anthropology, archives, arms and armor, art, history, military history, natural history, and textiles, and reflect the cultural mix of South Texas and illustrates how each is intertwined in the lives of South Texans of the past, present, and future.Joined: February 2012.
Founded by twelve women with just one shelf of books in 1965, the Walker County Genealogical Society celebrated its 50th anniversary in June of 2015. The Society currently has 150 members. The Society’s purpose is to further the knowledge of genealogical research, to assist others with the family lines, to exchange knowledge gleaned from experience in various areas of research, and to maintain a library of resource materials.Joined: February 2016.
The Weatherford College collections include early photographs from the College's founding, as well as images from the Jim Wright collection and Mary Martin collection. Jim Wright served 34 years in the U. S. House of Representatives, and two years as Speaker of the House, and this collection features images of politicians such as Ronald Reagan, George Bush and many others collected by Jim Wright over the years. The Mary Martin collection features images from her days as a Broadway star.Joined: May 2009.
The Weslaco Museum's collections feature photographs from Weslaco's annual "Birthday Party" fashion show. Organized by the Chamber of Commerce to highlight the fruit and vegetables grown in the Rio Grande Valley, area citizens created and modeled clothing made from local fruit, vegetables, and flowers.Joined: May 2009.
The West Public Library opened its current location in 1989 after the local community raised half of the costs through various fundraisers matching the other half of the costs provided by the City of West. The West Public Library presents the West Newspaper Collection. On June 11, 1892 West was officially organized into a town. It had become the center of commerce for the area.Joined: March 2015.
Western Texas College Library features a selection of archival materials that document the college's founding and correspondence with notable statesmen. Western Texas College, located in Snyder, Texas offers programs of study that qualify students for the Associate of Arts or Associate of Science Degree and programs that qualify students for the Associate of Applied Science Degree.Joined: June 2014.
Wiley College partnered with the Portal to provide access to a few of the earliest Wiley University (as it was known then) yearbooks. as well as a biography of College President Matthew W. Dogan. Wiley College was founded in 1873, and is one of the first predominately African-American Colleges west of the Mississippi River.Joined: May 2010.
The Williamson Museum contributes over one hundred photographs and contributes to the Are We There Yet? Transportation in Central Texas collection. Ranging from the 1860s to the 1970s, the photos depict historical transportation methods used in Texas.Joined: February 2012.
The Wolf Creek Heritage Museum partnered with us to provide access to materials that document the history of Lipscomb County. Materials include photographs of early citizens, tornado damage from the devastating storms of 1947 and 1949, and ranching. The collections also include two books: Lipscomb County Cemeteries and A History of Lipscomb County, Texas, 1876-1976.Joined: May 2009.
The Zula Bryant Wylie Public Library, formerly named the Cedar Hill Public Library, began in a small frame building in 1948. After several moves, its current building is located at 225 Cedar Street and was completed in 1987. The mission of the Zula B. Wylie Public Library is to be the community place that acts as the Door to Discovery that connects our culturally rich and diverse community to resources that promote lifelong literacy, the arts, and personal development.Joined: April 2014.