Lamar University presents editions of the school's student-run newspapers and the Larry Jene Fisher Photography Collection. The collections document and illustrate the history of the University as well as the surrounding counties in East Texas. The newspaper collection includes the Redbird, Lamar Tech Redbird, the Lamar Cardinal, Lamar University Press, and University Press. The papers span the university's history beginning with the Redbird which began publishing after the school changed its name from South Park Junior College to Lamar College in 1932 to the University Press, which was the name the newspaper began using after Lamar College gained university status in 1971. Fisher’s photographs are historically important as they illustrate the richness and diversity of life in Texas, particularly in the Big Thicket of East Texas.

Contact

Penny Clark

Penny.Clark@lamar.edu



At a Glance



Explore Holdings

Start browsing through the holdings of this collection in one of the following ways: