Northwest Texas Conference of the United Methodist Church

Beginning in 1866, the Northwest Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church South (now the United Methodist Church) served as the administrative unit covering a large part of West Texas. In 1910 the conference was divided and the boundaries since that time have remained unchanged; covering sixty-six counties in the Panhandle and South Plains of Texas. Currently, there are four districts which comprise the conference: Amarillo, Abilene, Big Spring, and Lubbock. The conference office is located in Lubbock.


Cindy Martin, Archivist



1401 Ave. M
Lubbock, TX 79401-3939

At a Glance

Cite This Partner

Here is our suggested citation. Consult an appropriate style guide for conformance to specific guidelines.

Northwest Texas Conference of the United Methodist Church, partner contributing to The Portal to Texas History. University of North Texas Libraries. accessed December 11, 2023.

Back to Top of Screen