Singletary Memorial Library

The Library, located in Rusk, received a Tocker Foundation grant. Rusk was established by an act of the Texas legislature on April 11, 1846, which defined the boundaries of Cherokee County and called for the county seat to be named for Gen. Thomas Jefferson Rusk, one of the signers of the Texas Declaration of Independence.


Amy Derrington



Singletary Memorial Library
207 East 6th Street
Rusk, Texas 75785


At a Glance

Cite This Partner

Here is our suggested citation. Consult an appropriate style guide for conformance to specific guidelines.

Singletary Memorial Library, partner contributing to The Portal to Texas History. University of North Texas Libraries. accessed September 22, 2023.

Back to Top of Screen