Southwestern University

About the University

Located in Georgetown, Texas, Southwestern University is a private four-year liberal arts college serving approximately 1500 undergraduates. Its core purpose is “Fostering a liberal arts community whose values and actions encourage contributions toward the well-being of humanity.” Southwestern was the first institution of higher learning in Texas, chartered by the Republic of Texas in 1840 and founded by Methodist missionaries.

About Special Collections

Established in 1939, Special Collections creates physical and virtual spaces to experience the history of Southwestern University and Texas as well as the heritage of the printed and written word. Special Collections aims to use these spaces and collections to create meaningful experiences for anyone, regardless of purpose.

The largest special collection of schools its size, Special Collections holds over 13,000 rare books and over 1,400 linear feet of manuscripts that support undergraduate teaching and research, research by Southwestern faculty members, and research by the wider community of scholars. Their materials depict Southwestern University and associated individuals, Texana, and U.S. Senator John Tower.


Megan Firestone



Smith Library Center
P.O. Box 770
Southwestern University

At a Glance

Cite This Partner

Here is our suggested citation. Consult an appropriate style guide for conformance to specific guidelines.

Southwestern University, partner contributing to The Portal to Texas History. University of North Texas Libraries. accessed July 14, 2024.

Explore Holdings

Start browsing this partner's items in one of the following ways:

Back to Top of Screen