Photograph of a veterans memorial located on the Comanche County Courthouse grounds. It is Sponsored by Amvets Post 43 and Ladies Auxiliary, and was dedicated May 28, 1989. It reads "Dedicated in memory of all veterans who served honorably in the Armed Forces of the United States of America."
Photograph of a Confederate Veterans Memorial, Comanche County located on the Courthouse grounds. It reads: "Confederate Veterans. Not for fame or reward, not for place or rank, not lured by ambition or goaded by necessity but in simple obedience to duty as they understood it, for four weary years these brave men suffered all, sacrificed all, dared all, and facing death carried the banners of the Confederacy. THese soldiers offered their lives on the altar of their country's liberty. Dedicated by the Sons of Confederate Veterans, 2nd Texas Frontier District, Camp 104, and patriotic citizens who generously contributed. A. D. 2002."
Old Cora Courthouse. Soon after the creation of Comanche County in 1856, the town of Cora (10 Mi. SE) was platted to serve as the county seat. The courthouse in Cora, typical of many early Texas Courthouses, was a 12'7" x 12'10", one room, squared log structure. It served the county until the seat of government was moved to Comanche in 1859. The "Old Cora" courthouse was incorporated into a house built about 1880 and has been moved several times over the years. It stands as a reminder of the now-extinct town of Cora and of early Texas Courthouse architecure.
Justice statue that formerly adorned the Comanche County Courthouse, but was taken down when Comanche County's 1891 courthouse was razed in 1939. A windstorm blew away her scales in the early 20th century. They were never found. The arm and hand that rested on her sword have been severely damaged and the sword is long gone. Most unusual: she is not blindfolded. Atop the Coryell County Courthouse is a twin representation of this figure.